We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner”

Matthew's Beachside Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casual and chic, Matthew's is renowned as one of the best covered open-air beachfront restaurants in Aruba. Upscale Caribbean, International and seafood dishes are prepared using the freshest ingredients.Besides breakfast, lunch, dinner, we offer all you can eat spareribs on Tuesday's, Karaoke night after dinner party on Wednesdays, Italian night on Thursdays and of course our daily happy hours with live music at the bar on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. If you are a sports fan, you'll be happy to know that there are 3 flat screens at the bar that are always showing your favorite sport.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This casual restaurant offers beachside dining with really good quality food and service. We were staying about a mile away, but the convenient bus service made this an easy stop for us. Dinner was very good both the meat and the fish exceeded our expectations. After having such a good dinner we returned again for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RKC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    519
    175
    61
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
columbus
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for lunch”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My husband, son, and I needed to kill some time before heading to the airport for our 4:30 flight home from Aruba. We happened by Matthew's at the Casa del Mar beach resort for lunch totally on a whim. It made for a nice ending to our weeklong vacation. The setting is gorgeous and beachfront. We had the nicest waiter who told us about their lunchtime happy hour special (2 for 1 drinks) and then needed no prompting to get us our second drinks. We told him he was the best waiter we had had all week long in Aruba. Our food -- all sandwiches --- was terrific. We will go back there for dinner when we return to Aruba next year.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hockeybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eh-well not so good”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We went and sat right next to the beach and were completely ignored along with another couple and their 2 small children. As soon as we moved cloer to the waitstaff we were waited on. So weird! It was not that good for breakfast and I didnt have any interest in returning back here. The setting is very beautiful I will say

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NY28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and A Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

During our recent trip to Aruba we had dinner at Matthew's as we do each year. We watched a lovely sunset and walked there on the beach from our timeshare at Costa Linda. We had some friends come to Aruba as our guests and wanted a restaurant close by. We were greeted and seated at a beautiful table overlooking the beach. All six of us had excellent dinners ranging from Argentinian steak to various fish dishes, the service was attentive, the drinks were good and most importantly we were not rushed at all. We lingered and enjoyed desert too! I would highly recommend Matthew's, you will not be disappointed. It is in a perfect location in the low rise area, furnished beautifully and their chef is incredible. Our guests loved it so much we went back and had lunch before our flight back home !!! A beautiful way to say goodbye to Aruba, until next year.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyArubaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would not return!”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We ate at Matthews on our recent trip to Aruba and were disappointed! We went on rib night, and the ribs were ok, nothing to write home about. The sides were less than average. I ordered the grouper. The sauce it came with was very spicy, when I told the waiter that the spice was too spicy for me, and why it didn't mention that it was spicy in the description, he said it did mention it. I couldn't believe I missed that when I looked at the menu, because I always avoid spicy food. I checked the menu, and "spicy" was NOT mentioned in the description. I mentioned this to the host, and he said "sorry." Most places would have been more accomodating than this, and done something to correct it. There are many more wonderful places than Matthews, we will NOT go back to Matthews on our next trip.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank missmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Beachside Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Matthew's Beachside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing