We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Aruba
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Renaissance Island
from $807.50
More Info
from $807.50
More Info
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
763
165
55
16
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
763
165
55
16
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flamingo beach day pass pink flamingos adult beach nature trail bring quarters boat ride private cabana family beach the marina hotel non hotel guests hermit crabs both sides plenty of chairs lounge chairs snorkel gear fish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful spot! We stayed at the Marriott Renaissance so we were lucky enough to visit for free. The boat ride over was part of the fun! Very nice beach areas on both sides... the adults side was actually smaller than the family side; and the bar and food area was also bigger on the family side. The flamingoes and iguanas were so fun to watch. We also walked the nature trail... very cool! Hermit crabs and other types of little lizards. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank MassachusettsMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The week I was there, it was not crowded. The first boat left at 7 am from the Marina Hotel, then picked up guests next at Ocean Suites. The kiosk for towels and getting water sports items opened at 8 am. People arriving on the island after 11 am could find beach chairs, but not always in shade. The palm trees had been cut back, reducing the amount of shade. Arrive earlier if you want shade. The snorkeling in the swimming lagoon out by the rocks was good for a couple of days, but then high waves stirred up sand and reduced visibility. Still, the enclosed areas make for excellent swimming and floating. Many people used mats for floating. The water is very clean. Entry into the water is shallower and sandier toward the bar at the Flamingo Beach entrance, while the bottom of the lagoon has more rocks toward the cabanas. The beaches are sheltered from the stronger winds, but a nice cooling breeze is always present.

The flamingos were treated well by beachgoers. At times, some of the flamingos were even parking themselves in front of people in beach chairs and dozing off. A nice little pond has been built for them next to the beach entrance. The Iguana Beach lagoon is larger but shallower. More cabanas have been built on both beaches, and over half of them were occupied each day. A new, more permanent concrete block hut was being built to replace the wooden bar on Flamingo Beach. The workmen were doing a good job. The beaches, walkways, restrooms, and restaurant were all kept very clean.

The beach goers were from many different places, with a variety of languages heard. Everyone was respectful of others. No rude or rowdy behavior at all. Very polite people on the island. Swimwear ranged from my g-string to a few thongs to many cheeky bikinis. Rare topless. Wear what you want and enjoy the beaches. The island is a very relaxing way to spend the day.

The boats to and from the island run frequently so there was never a long wait. Restaurant and bar service is readily available with good selection of food and drinks. There’s WiFi, though sometimes slow. Some electrical outlets are present on the beach for recharging. All of the employees on the island were friendly and were aiming to please.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank FT313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed every aspect of this island. Besides being the epitome of paradise, the service was exceptional!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 786kathryne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

This is a must do if you can get a day pass or afford to stay at the Renaissance Resort. We got the pass. They're only available for a few non resort guest's and you have to get them online the day before. I set my alarm for 6:55am and snagged two @ $125 each. Well worth it...the price covers the ride over & back, lunch with a drink (Sugar was a great server), cushioned lounge chairs, an awesome private beach with one side allowing kids and the other adult only. The AO side is where you'll find the FLAMINGOS! We'd definitely go back!

Date of experience: December 2019
6  Thank TheTravelLover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

I just got back from vacationing in Aruba for the first time and my group of friends Rented two of the cabanas at the adult beach on flamingo island. I snorkeled for the first time (water shoes recommended) and saw lots of iguanas, pelicans, and hermit crabs on the island. The Flamingos were amazing and very friendly. Beautiful views of the ocean and even Venezuelan coastal mountains.
Donovan provided us with EXCELLENT service while in the cabanas. He was friendly, sweet, and on top of his game. We never had to wait for food or drinks. Service was over the top! Highly recommend Renaissance Island!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Jakobjared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews