We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spa Break”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I took a one night stay spa break at the Bryn Meadows hotel, the room was not the biggest but had a massive super king bed, with balcony overlooking the golf course, lovely bathroom with short bath, excellent shower with a tileTV. The spa facilities were very clean, lovely pool sauna and steam room, excellent massage (thank you Lauren) which was included in the the price of the stay. Very good value break bed and breakfast and treatment for £99. Minus points the bar area is quite small when there is a large party using the function room and the furniture in the bedroom was a little dated and showing signs of wear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am glad that Lauren was so helpful and she was certainly pleased when I informed of your review. We hope that we can look after you again in the near future. Thank you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    238
    148
    81
    71
See reviews for
181
306
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
blackwood
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Chose Leek and Potato soup, I think they forgot the potatoes, watery and greasy. Turkey with stuffing and toast potatoes, carrots and beans. Needed to ask for more turkey as I had just half a slice, this did arrive just in time to finish the main course, stuffing was rock hard, same gravy as guests who had beef. But the bread and butter pudding beggared belief, Not sure what it was, seemed to me to be slices of stale pastry as it didn't look or taste like bread with a chunk or two of apple and custard poured over it, it may have been left over apple pie, definitely not bread and butter pudding. The waitress was apologetic. I think the person preparing the meals needs a basic recipe book or two! If Gavyn reads this he needs to give the management a good talking to (sadly they have a reputation of not giving a damn) and bring the standard up to that of his previous restaurant where the Sunday lunch was one of the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladygabalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. This is certainly not indicative of our normal great comments on standards of food. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team as a matter of priority. I would also welcome a call from yourself to discuss you coming back as my guest. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The celebration of a 60th birthday party was spoilt by such appalling food. I have to say it was by far the worst Sunday lunch I can remember having. The roast potatoes were obviously cooked the day before and heated up and probably could've been used to play golf in the resort itself. At £18.95 ahead, how that they think serving this standard of food is acceptable is beyond me and really should come with a full apology to the 25 people who attended the lunch. Obviously, they don't have a proper chef employed there. The service was also shoddy and I will not under any circumstances recommend anybody to go there - I could go on and on about this...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank philrich176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was somewhat shocked and disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Please be assured your comments were discussed and addressed with my Management team as soon as this review was made. Having taken the time to fully investigate your comments it does seem as though your table was checked on several times throughout the meal and not once was any issue raised during or at the end of the meal by any of your party.
We always strive for excellence although on the small occasions we do make a mistake, we simply ask you tell us at the time, so we can rectify accordingly.
We hope that we will have the opportunity of another visit. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have to use at least 200 words so here goes.
Without doubt the worst Sunday lunch I have had anywhere ever!
Poor service and terrible food and at £18.95 a head poor value. Will not be going back and I speak for the 25 other family members who were also there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank originalbartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was somewhat shocked and disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Please be assured your comments were discussed and addressed with my Management team as soon as this review was made. Having taken the time to fully investigate your comments it does seem as though your table was checked on several times throughout the meal and not once was any issue raised during or at the end of the meal by any of your party.
We always strive for excellence although on the small occasions we do make a mistake, we simply ask you tell us at the time, so we can rectify accordingly.
We hope that we will have the opportunity of another visit. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The good bits

Friendly staff.
Breakfast wasn't too bad although busy at times and very fiddly to get hot food!
Lovely view from breakfast table.

The bad bits

Very poor view from room in fact we was staring at a brick wall. Unclean bathroom with serious updates needed e.g grout, bigger bath - to be very honest a child would struggle to relax!
Tv in bathroom didn't work.
Twin beds pushed together with terrible ridge in the middle - partner has back problems asked at reception to just basically be told all the same get on with it. Really really disappointed and spoilt a special anniversary. Won't be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am extremely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your visit. All our rooms differ in size and view and can only apologise that your view was not as grand as some of the others. I understand that a anniversary is a very special occasion and may I offer my sincere apologies for letting you down. I would welcome a call from you if you wish to discuss matters further. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent the day here with a friend on a day spa,1 hours massage included. I know this place was updated a few years ago but its in need of a freshen up, just being fussy but things like paint flaking off the men's changing room door, grime gathering around the hot tub that could easily be removed with a good scrub, just seems lazy. The steam room was also not working. I have been here before and there's always something not working. The pool area was really busy so not enough loungers. I suppose as long as the business keeps coming in why would they change anything?

Ill be going to the Celtic next time, much nicer ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahound29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments with regards to the standard of cleanliness and maintenance during your stay. We have a friendly and helpful team that would have been more than happy to help if only you had given us the opportunity with the issues you have raised. We hope that we will have the opportunity of another visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I did actually email the hotel direct this very review but they seem unable to answet emails
I am writing to let you know i was really quite unhappy with our experience on saturday evening at your hotel. I live local and my mother had booked a junior suite as a treat as we got married that day. It was not such a problem my room was not ready when i went to check in but the lady on reception took our bag and assured me our bag would be in our room on our arrival late that evening. 
When we arrived the night porter was unsure what room we were to have and we stood around for quite some time till he found our room and our bag.
The air con in our room was deafening so had to be turned off in order for me to sleep.The bath was so small even myself being just over 5 ft tall i found relaxing very difficult in it and if i wanted to watch the tv in there i couldnt as there was no way to controll it.
After my bath i did go out on the balcony to take in the view only to stand on loose broken brickwork right by the door and lost my footing. This could be dangerous for a younger or older guest.Breakfast setting was lovely and selection was good but the cooked part was not the best set up it felt rather like a works canteen rather than a nice hotel and spa. We were also sat under a fan which sounded quite unhealthy squeeking and swaying quite badly.It is a shame really as the climax to my wonderful day turned out to be quite an anti climax.
Shame as i have a big bithday in november and had discussed with some friends booking a spa break but i will now be booking elsewhere.We were staying in room 217 and i must say i have stayed in much nicer rooms at a lot lower price in fact 6 rooms were booked in a local premier inn at £52 a night for family and they were so much nicer ... dont waste your money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songbirdy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I was most disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team as a matter of priority and I would welcome a call from as I have had no email to date with the issues detailed above.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maesycwmmer
8.0 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
11.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa

Property: Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Address: Maesycwmmer | Nr. Ystrad Mynach, Maesycwmmer CF82 7SN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Caerphilly County > Maesycwmmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique luxurious four star golf and spa resort set in over 100 acres of meadowland and hidden amongst the breath taking valleys of south east Wales. Bryn Meadows is one of the leading destinations for spa breaks and golf breaks in Wales, comprising of 42 contemporary, yet classically styled en-suite rooms most with balconies overlooking the beautiful surrounding countryside, extensive leisure & spa facilities and a championship parkland golf course.Only 10 minutes away from J32 of the M4 and just 25 minutes from Cardiff, one of Europe’s most lively and cosmopolitan cities, Bryn Meadows is perfectly located to all the major attractions of the city, yet is far enough away for those searching for a relaxing retreat. For those wishing to explore the local area, the town of Caerphilly is just 10 minutes away, steeped in history with its own impressive hilltop Castle. Just 30 minutes away, the incredible Brecon Beacons renowned for its beautiful and diverse landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel And Spa
Bryn Meadows Golf Hotel Maesycwmmer
Bryn Meadows Hotel
Bryn Meadows Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing