We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent golf course and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent golf course and spa”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Really friendly and helpful. Spa area is lovely and spotlessly clean. Didn't use the gym but it looked good. Food was excellent. We enjoyed the golf course and will be visiting again. The only faults were noisy air-conditioning and a lack of a towl rail in the bathroom. We didn't actually manage to get a balcony room which was a shame as the views are magnificent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevnrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are just in the process of fitting new towel rails in all the rooms. 3/4 have been done. I am sorry that the AC was a problem. It has since been sorted. I hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    239
    148
    81
    71
See reviews for
181
307
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberbargoed
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Attended a wedding last weekend, once we got to there it was very well organised, staff were very, very nice and helpful. Drinks on arrival alcoholic and non alcoholic, which i thought was good as i don't drink. Food was first class, and service was spot on. There is a gym and spa which is also very good and clean, Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelton n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Our team are delighted with your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A very big thank you to all at Bryn Meadows. We were all very impressed with the service, food, golf and facilities. To accomodate 32 golfing visitors is not easy but you excelled.Our non golfers loved the spa and treatments. See you all, God willing, next year.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large with double aspect patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you all had a fantastic time. Please come to us directly next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontarddulais
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I went with a group of ladies primarily for the spa. We all had prebooked treatments, the girls were all lovely and extremely helpful. The hotel was full as there were 2 weddings that day but that did not detract from the service given etc. The evening meal was lovely as was the breakfast. The room was spacious and with a balcony overlooking the golf course. I will definately return, when I can get in!!

Room Tip: Beware of low flying balls on the curve in the balcony rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments about your stay with us. Fantastic that you enjoyed the Spa & Food. Come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this weekend break as a get away from it all trip! At first we found it a little tricky to find...could do with signage on the main road.
Reception: On arrival we were met by a most pleasant young lady who checked us both in very quickly and she was most informative. In the reception area we noticed a large number of smartly dressed wedding guests, the party was in full swing but this was well contained in an ajoining function room and actually enhanced our overall experience.
Bedroom: The room was bright clean and a very good size. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our Balcony was in touching distance of the golf course with some splendid open views. We were slightly disappointed at some of the lack of detail (ie: Mini bar/Fridge stocked up but not working, light bulbs not working over washing basin and at one side of the bed, a Rip in the carpet by the desk area)
Spa: We visited the Spa on arrival as this was one of our main reasons for booking the weekend break. Staff very helpful and most welcoming, they gave us a tour of the inclusive facilities but didn't attempt to sell or show us the spa treatment rooms or other pay for services. The Spa is clean but unfortunatly some of the pool equipment were not working throughout our whole stay (i.e.: Hydro Spa jets inoperative and the Aromatherapy Sauna faulty and not in use. When we highlighted this to the Spa attendant he (Ashley) was very apologetic. The Spa changing rooms are very small and felt cramped, the floor was constantly wet. Cleaning equipment was permantly left out and in the way. Towels were not always ready available and we waited on two separate occasions for fresh clean towels to be given out.
Restaurant: We booked a table for dinner in the main restaurant. The staff once again were very welcoming and efficient. The meal was served very quickly and the waiter was most knowledgable and attentive. We had an avarage meal which was not quite as special as we would of hoped for. We both ordered Steak and even though it was cooked well the meat wasn't as tender as we had expected. We did enjoy the wine and the views of the countryside are amazing.
Summary: The staff certainly make this hotel very inviting and everyone made us feel very welcome. Overall this is primarily a Golf Club with function rooms, spa and accommodation (In that order) added on for financial value as this was clearly indicated by having "Directors" and "Club Captain" marked parking spots directly in front of the main entrance. The entire atmosphere is professional and efficient with a good team of staff.

Room Tip: Best bedrooms are ground floor Junior Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank central2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. New road signage has just gone up. We are very much a Resort business. Hotel, Golf & Spa. All areas are equally important to us and indeed the reserved parking is a tradition that all golf clubs have. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have just returned from Bryn Meadows today from a weekend stay at the hotel for my husband and I first anniversary. I did have issues with the hotel as i have previously wrote on trip advisor on my first visit but was assured that the hotel was under new management. Oh My Word!! what a difference in a year. Our room was beautiful with two patios with gorgeous views of the golf course where my husband and I shared a bottle of very nice wine bought from the Blas restaurant at the hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food at the hotel restaurant was first class and efficiantly served even at a very busy peak time. My husband and I was sampled the room service- after two bottles of wine we were peckish lol. The idea of room service is that its expensive well we found that the food was excellant and well worth it.
We were surprised to see that the breakfast had changed from menu to self service on the cooked breakfast aspect - much to my husbands delight !!
I know that many people who dealt with the old managers of the hotel may be cautious of returning but take my advice and go back you wont regret it. My husband and I will definately return for anniversary number two and many more.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the ground floor with patios rather than balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your return visit. Even now that we are a new team, we still take responsibility for what our guests experianced before we took over. Hope to see you again soon! And Happy anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Similar to the previous reviewer, we visited through Golfbreaks...this seems to be a good package as in addition to the the normal bed & breakfast (and access to the pool/spa area) you also get to choose your evening meal from the restaurant menu. We have been several years running and the food is always to a high standard and the restaurant has a wonderful view. We had a warm welcome again at the golf shop but this year we noted that the main hotel staff were also much more friendly and we were allocated our preferred room looking over the 18th hole. The rooms are unchanged after several years but still have the most comfortable beds anywhere (they seem to have given up on the small tvs in the bathroom working again but now have standard freeview tvs in the room ). Will be back again next year to enjoy the hotel and to keep trying to improve on our scores.

Room Tip: Ask for room viewing the 18th hole as you will also get a wonderful view over the Welsh hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgjplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. It’s fantastic when people return year after year, and I am so please that you say we are getting even better. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maesycwmmer
8.0 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
11.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa

Property: Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Address: Maesycwmmer | Nr. Ystrad Mynach, Maesycwmmer CF82 7SN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Caerphilly County > Maesycwmmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique luxurious four star golf and spa resort set in over 100 acres of meadowland and hidden amongst the breath taking valleys of south east Wales. Bryn Meadows is one of the leading destinations for spa breaks and golf breaks in Wales, comprising of 42 contemporary, yet classically styled en-suite rooms most with balconies overlooking the beautiful surrounding countryside, extensive leisure & spa facilities and a championship parkland golf course.Only 10 minutes away from J32 of the M4 and just 25 minutes from Cardiff, one of Europe’s most lively and cosmopolitan cities, Bryn Meadows is perfectly located to all the major attractions of the city, yet is far enough away for those searching for a relaxing retreat. For those wishing to explore the local area, the town of Caerphilly is just 10 minutes away, steeped in history with its own impressive hilltop Castle. Just 30 minutes away, the incredible Brecon Beacons renowned for its beautiful and diverse landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel And Spa
Bryn Meadows Golf Hotel Maesycwmmer
Bryn Meadows Hotel
Bryn Meadows Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing