We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous villa, breathtaking view”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IVWLondon
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa, breathtaking view”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Returned to Calypso in March 2018, having stayed some years ago. The views from the terrace and chill out zone are breathtakingly beautiful; a perfect spot to watch the boats going by in the day and the sun setting in the evening. The villa is ideal for a large family gathering; all of the bedrooms are well-appointed and with air conditioning. The villa’s location is ideal: it’s only a short stroll down the hill to Galleon beach to swim with the turtles, a short drive into English harbour or Falmouth for cafes, restaurants and other amenities, and the national park walking trails are right on your doorstep. June was super helpful in advance in recommending restaurant options that would suit our needs. We are already counting down the days to our return next year...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
So thrilled that you returned with your family to Calypso to make even more special memories together & we look forward to welcoming you home again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy301
Maumee, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The view.......”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed at Calypso this past February. The view from this house is amazing. You look over Nelson's Dockyard and English Harbour. Its quite entertaining watching the boats come and go. The house is nice. A little smaller than I thought it would be but layed out nicely. Everyone had there own space to hang out in.

Its a pretty steep hill from the beach to the house. Quite doable but my 89 year old mom found it difficult. The beach below the house is nice. Not my favorite . There were so many sail boats anchored off the beach that it really wasn't good for snorkeling. The ferry to Nelson's Dockyard was not working and hasn't been since the hurricane. It would have been nice to be able to use it.

The close proximitry to restaurants and attractions is wonderful. You would need a car though Nothing walkable. The rooms were nice enough. Everyone had their own bathroom and beds were comfortable.

The owners were easy to get a hold of and were very helpful with things to see and where to eat.

Their was no coffee maker and I thought my family was going to have a panic attack but they have these wonderful little French presses we used. My sister in law liked it soo much better that she was going to buy one for home for herself.

All in all it was a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
So pleased you enjoyed staying at Calypso with it’s world famous view and we look forward to welcoming you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina B
1 review
“What a location, what a property, what a holiday!”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

That iconic view of English Harbour was ours for two weeks and in Calypso Villa which is, to say the least, spacious and generously appointed accommodation - a real home from home.

From our initial enquiries right through to the end of our stay the owners, June and Bruce, with their local knowledge and contacts were able to give us all the information we needed on restaurants, attractions, supermarkets, practicalities etc.

Calypso Villa is secluded and private yet just 200 metres from the beautiful Galleon Beach and a short drive (and an even shorter water taxi ride) away from all of the amenities at English Harbour and historic Nelson's Dockyard. That said you could spend the whole of your time at Calypso enjoying THAT VIEW from the comfortably furnished shaded terrace or even whilst chilling in the terrace swimming pool - a great feature in itself. We did eventually drag ourselves away to experience some of the island's many other attractions (including a variety of beautiful beaches, obviously) but each day we had the bonus of returning to Calypso, the property, the relaxed atmosphere, and THAT VIEW.

Now after a few months back here in the UK we are planning to return as soon as possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
So happy that Calypso and Antigua has such great memories for you both and it does indeed have a way of gravitating you back again and again. We look forward to welcoming you home soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert W
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an awesome week at calypso villa in galleon beach. The view was spectacular. If your looking for a quiet and relaxing property this is the one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
So glad you all had such an awesome week at Calypso in paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean h
1 review
“Amazing views”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We had two weeks here, and I'm still feeling the vibes from this beautiful villa and location. Waking up to the view is just breathtaking, I had to remind everyone to take this all in.
Thank you June and Bruce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
So glad you all enjoyed your stay at Calypso and are still feeling the memories!! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyc51...
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is one of the best vacations I've had! The house and views were absolutely beautiful. The Calypso by far was the best house on Galleon Beach!

June and Mr. Charles and Mr. Bruce welcomed us with open arms, they were very helpful in making sure we were comfortable. June put us in touch with our would be taxi driver for our stay in Antigua, Mr. Shane and his wife Ms. Sandra. They were awesome! Mr. Shane was available when we needed him and then some. We had most of our meals with Ms. Sandra's restaurant, Island Fusion which was delicious! The banana bread and caramel toffee icecream is a must! Mr. Shane and Ms. Sandra looked out for us during our stay. We felt like family. This was a great experience from top to bottom. No complaints. We will definitely be back!!!

-A

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
So glad you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you home to Calypso soon! Thankyou June x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great villa, sorry its taken so long to review!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Prior to our stay at Calypso villa June was really helpful both via email and on the phone. I was looking for a villa to accommodate a large party made up of several couples including extended family so it was great to find Calypso with all of the private space it offers. In advance I spoke to June several times, she was very understanding especially when our dates changed – we were in Antigua to support a race competitor in the Atlantic rowing race.

The villa location was perfect, it looks out directly over English Harbour (beautiful sunsets) and importantly for us the race finish line, we were lucky enough to see a night arrival the night we arrived at the villa, it was great being able to watch the whole bay light up and hear the sounds of the finish from the comfort of the balcony.

Galleon Beach is a lovely beach and I would recommend a visit to the beach bar, sadly we only had time for this on our last day but we wished we had visited sooner. We enjoyed snorkelling on Galleon beach – you have to look hard for wildlife but we did find a stingray in the sand and a sea snake in the grass, there are also a couple of shallow wrecks to explore.

The villa location is great to access English Harbour, either 5 mins by boat or a little longer by car, it’s in a peaceful area surrounded by nature trails including a short hike to Shirley heights – the only time we heard noise was when Shirley heights had their Sunday night entertainment but it was actually quite nice to hear the bands play. We found it helpful having a car as it meant we didn’t have to rely on the water taxis and could explore more of the island.

While we were at the villa, June was again helpful, providing information about places we could find gluten free food, her helpful restaurant tips and advice on which supermarket to go to were great.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Calypso villa, if you are looking for a peaceful villa with lots of private outdoor space for a mixed group in a good location I think you would struggle to beat Calypso.

Prima del nostro soggiorno alla Villa Calypso, June e’ stata molto disponibile sia via e-mail che al telefono. Cercavo una villa che potesse ospitare numerose coppie e Calypso e’ stata la scelta ideale, con tantissimo spazio e molto privata. Prima del nostro arrivo ho parlato con June più volte al telefono ed e’ stata molto disponibile soprattutto quando le nostre date sono cambiate all’ultimo minuto: eravamo ad Antigua per l’arrivo di Sogno Atlantico, uno dei partecipanti alla Talisker Atlantic Challenge, una traversata a remi dell’oceano Atlantico. La posizione villa era perfetta, si affaccia direttamente su English Harbour (tramonti veramente unici) e per noi cosa ancora piu’ importante, l’arrivo della gara.

Galleon Beach è una spiaggia incantevole e consiglio una visita al bar della spiaggia. Consiglio anche lo snorkeling a Galleon beach dove ci sono anche un paio di relitti da esplorare.

La posizione villa è ideale per accedere English Harbour, 5 minuti in barca e poco più in auto. La villa e’ in una zona molto tranquilla e ci sono numerosi sentieri dove si possono fare rilassanti passeggiate ed e’ a pochi minuti da Shirley Heights - l'unica volta che abbiamo sentito del rumore è stato la domenica quando a Shirley Heights suona un gruppo live – ma non e’ stato un problema ed e’ stato bello ascoltare la musica guardando il panorama. Consiglio il noleggio di una macchina in modo da non dover fare affidamento sui taxi.

Durante il nostro soggiorno June ci ha anche dato molti consigli su ristoranti e supermercati.

Nel complesso abbiamo davvero apprezzato il nostro soggiorno alla Villa Calypso, se siete alla ricerca di una villa tranquilla, con un sacco di spazio esterno, in una buona posizione, Calypso e’ la soluzione perfetta.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
So pleased that everything went so well for you all especially the FIRST SOLO Atlantic Rower to cross the finish line and finally relax in paradise at Calypso. We felt it a privilege indeed to have you all to stay at Calypso and look forward to welcoming you home again soon for more memories to cherish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing