We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Albert W
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an awesome week at calypso villa in galleon beach. The view was spectacular. If your looking for a quiet and relaxing property this is the one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
So glad you all had such an awesome week at Calypso in paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean h
1 review
“Amazing views”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We had two weeks here, and I'm still feeling the vibes from this beautiful villa and location. Waking up to the view is just breathtaking, I had to remind everyone to take this all in.
Thank you June and Bruce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
So glad you all enjoyed your stay at Calypso and are still feeling the memories!! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyc51...
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is one of the best vacations I've had! The house and views were absolutely beautiful. The Calypso by far was the best house on Galleon Beach!

June and Mr. Charles and Mr. Bruce welcomed us with open arms, they were very helpful in making sure we were comfortable. June put us in touch with our would be taxi driver for our stay in Antigua, Mr. Shane and his wife Ms. Sandra. They were awesome! Mr. Shane was available when we needed him and then some. We had most of our meals with Ms. Sandra's restaurant, Island Fusion which was delicious! The banana bread and caramel toffee icecream is a must! Mr. Shane and Ms. Sandra looked out for us during our stay. We felt like family. This was a great experience from top to bottom. No complaints. We will definitely be back!!!

-A

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
So glad you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you home to Calypso soon! Thankyou June x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great villa, sorry its taken so long to review!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Prior to our stay at Calypso villa June was really helpful both via email and on the phone. I was looking for a villa to accommodate a large party made up of several couples including extended family so it was great to find Calypso with all of the private space it offers. In advance I spoke to June several times, she was very understanding especially when our dates changed – we were in Antigua to support a race competitor in the Atlantic rowing race.

The villa location was perfect, it looks out directly over English Harbour (beautiful sunsets) and importantly for us the race finish line, we were lucky enough to see a night arrival the night we arrived at the villa, it was great being able to watch the whole bay light up and hear the sounds of the finish from the comfort of the balcony.

Galleon Beach is a lovely beach and I would recommend a visit to the beach bar, sadly we only had time for this on our last day but we wished we had visited sooner. We enjoyed snorkelling on Galleon beach – you have to look hard for wildlife but we did find a stingray in the sand and a sea snake in the grass, there are also a couple of shallow wrecks to explore.

The villa location is great to access English Harbour, either 5 mins by boat or a little longer by car, it’s in a peaceful area surrounded by nature trails including a short hike to Shirley heights – the only time we heard noise was when Shirley heights had their Sunday night entertainment but it was actually quite nice to hear the bands play. We found it helpful having a car as it meant we didn’t have to rely on the water taxis and could explore more of the island.

While we were at the villa, June was again helpful, providing information about places we could find gluten free food, her helpful restaurant tips and advice on which supermarket to go to were great.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Calypso villa, if you are looking for a peaceful villa with lots of private outdoor space for a mixed group in a good location I think you would struggle to beat Calypso.

Prima del nostro soggiorno alla Villa Calypso, June e’ stata molto disponibile sia via e-mail che al telefono. Cercavo una villa che potesse ospitare numerose coppie e Calypso e’ stata la scelta ideale, con tantissimo spazio e molto privata. Prima del nostro arrivo ho parlato con June più volte al telefono ed e’ stata molto disponibile soprattutto quando le nostre date sono cambiate all’ultimo minuto: eravamo ad Antigua per l’arrivo di Sogno Atlantico, uno dei partecipanti alla Talisker Atlantic Challenge, una traversata a remi dell’oceano Atlantico. La posizione villa era perfetta, si affaccia direttamente su English Harbour (tramonti veramente unici) e per noi cosa ancora piu’ importante, l’arrivo della gara.

Galleon Beach è una spiaggia incantevole e consiglio una visita al bar della spiaggia. Consiglio anche lo snorkeling a Galleon beach dove ci sono anche un paio di relitti da esplorare.

La posizione villa è ideale per accedere English Harbour, 5 minuti in barca e poco più in auto. La villa e’ in una zona molto tranquilla e ci sono numerosi sentieri dove si possono fare rilassanti passeggiate ed e’ a pochi minuti da Shirley Heights - l'unica volta che abbiamo sentito del rumore è stato la domenica quando a Shirley Heights suona un gruppo live – ma non e’ stato un problema ed e’ stato bello ascoltare la musica guardando il panorama. Consiglio il noleggio di una macchina in modo da non dover fare affidamento sui taxi.

Durante il nostro soggiorno June ci ha anche dato molti consigli su ristoranti e supermercati.

Nel complesso abbiamo davvero apprezzato il nostro soggiorno alla Villa Calypso, se siete alla ricerca di una villa tranquilla, con un sacco di spazio esterno, in una buona posizione, Calypso e’ la soluzione perfetta.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
So pleased that everything went so well for you all especially the FIRST SOLO Atlantic Rower to cross the finish line and finally relax in paradise at Calypso. We felt it a privilege indeed to have you all to stay at Calypso and look forward to welcoming you home again soon for more memories to cherish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihobby59
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had the most unforgettable time while vacationing at Calypso Villa! We were immediately taken aback by the breathtaking views of English Harbour and Nelson's Dockyard upon entering the villa. The picture perfect view can be seen from every room in the villa, which is especially beautiful at sunset. The open concept floor plan made it simple to slip away to relax in a hammock or cabana all while still being able to stay involved with the rest of the family in other areas of the home. We travelled with small children and this detail was key, as we were able to keep an eye on them in the pool while not having to separate from the rest of the adults in the group. With Shirley Heights as well as Historic Nelson's Dockyard a short car ride or walk/hike away, we spent most of our time exploring and found little need to leave the area. As natives to the Island we can absolutely say that this location is one of the best! We are already planning our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2016
So happy your family had such a wonderful vacation altogether in paradise! We look forward to welcoming you home again soon, for more unforgettable memories at Calypso
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaWes...
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to stay in English Harbour with Phenomenal Views”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a joy to be back at Calypso! We've stayed in Galleon Beach for many years and we know a lovely house when we find it! Calypso has everything that one needs.

The whole house has been really carefully considered with each space being thoughtfully and well designed for comfort and easy living. Each beautiful bedroom has its own independent area with a fridge in most rooms- so lovely not to have to trail off to the kitchen for a cold juice or beer.

The house is particularly well adapted to families as the rooms are in different areas but close enough for contact with children. The pool is centrally placed and there are different areas around the house for sitting, sunbathing or watching the sun go down.

The view is phenomenal, especially at night. We could see the whole of the calm natural harbour of English Harbour as well as beyond it and into Falmouth Harbour. Days can be spent just watching boats arrive and sail off.

After many years of renting homes and staying in hotels, I would put Calypso in a very high spot on my favourites list.

June and Bruce are warm and welcoming owners whose knowledge of Antigua can help to make it a perfect stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The independence of the bedrooms, the spacious feel and the fantastic view
Liked least: The steep driveway - but then you wouldn't have the view without it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
It certainly was a joy to welcome you all back to Calypso! So pleased it's a favourite of yours and we look forward to welcoming you year after year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tineke G
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“your new favourite home away from home!”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I are avid travellers, so we have stayed in many villas and hotels over the years, however we have stayed at this particular villa twice, and both times have been without a doubt the most memorable, stress free, and relaxing holidays we have ever had. It feels like home straight away! The villa lacks nothing, it is everything you need for the perfect escape from "real life." When you arrive to calypso villa you do not wish to be anywhere else. That being said, there are restaurants and bars just a quick and free boat ride away, however the beauty and tranquility of this villa just pulls you in!
It is obvious that the owners take pride in their home as it is beautifully decorated and furnished.
If you are booking this villa for the first time, the only thing you will regret is not having done so all the years prior!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable beds, beautiful decor, everyone has private bathroom and spectacular view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you felt at home again and look forward to welcoming you both back to Calypso for your third visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing