We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trappas Bar & Restaurant

Trappas Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice food and they have good custoemr service and perfect cocktails. It is always busy there so I would recommend to reserve a table.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Freaks-1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    161
    38
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing make a Reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Dinner only, great food, good prices, easy location a must eat at. Locals and family’s pack this restaurant you won’t be disappointed. There are a few reviews about cockroaches, we saw one but it didn’t affect us at all. It’s a late night place and one might come in from the street since the place is open to air. Our meals were great and the place was clean so it just happens sometimes don’t let it stop you from eating here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brycearoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Don't take too much notice of negative reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Have been to,this restaurant several times now on this holiday. Have had the best food and the staff have been so friendly, would not go to any other. When you find such a gem as this why bother to try anything else. Have not gone through the complete menu yet but aim to try before we leave. What a find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dousman, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“2nd time not as good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went here twice, first time every thing was great, food, service, price and atmosphere. So a few days later on Valentines day we went here again, we did not have reservations and thought we would just see if they had any availability and they did so we got a table, service was slow, and at that time it was early and they were not that busy yet, they messed up our order and the food was even worse then we could have imagined after being their one other time. The food was even on the cold side. In fact if the visits were flip flopped we would never had gone back. First time rating would be a 5 second time rating would be a 2.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ricklori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, incredible service, and great experience. We will be coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just finished our second trip to Antigua. After hearing so many amazing things about this restaurant we just had to experience it ourselves. We happened to meet the owner with her kids at the beach last year on our last day. Since it was a Sunday and they're closed on Sunday we couldn't visit this amazing restaurant at that time. The restaurant came highly recommended by the owner of the place we rented. During our second stay in Antigua we ran into another couple who was heading to Trappas for dinner. I really hope they write a review. After their experience at Trappas we asked them how it was and their words were: " If they made food like this in Ontario, (Canada) they would have no competition" We have to mention that they were former restaurant owners of one of the best and most known restaurants / pubs in Tobermory, Ontario (very touristy spot) After running into the owner at the local beach again we saved the visit to Trappas for our last night. Are we ever glad we did. Trappas enhanced our experience of Antigua by ten fold. It will become our regular spot every time we visit Antigua. The food was simply amazing and mouth watering. In fact, my mouth is watering just thinking about their food. The service, staff and owners are phenomenal. It really is a must for places to visit while in Antigua. We can't wait to visit it next time. Our kids are very picky eaters and they devoured the kids fish and chips. We both had the dinner special of crab cakes as an appetizer (simply amazing) and the grouper dinner along with the thai chicken curry. Both incredible. The place was completely packed. Being a former server I'm very hard to please when it comes to service and restaurant standards, but this restaurant was nothing short of high standards of some of the best restaurants in Canada. The staff and owners were very attentive, the food arrived quickly with great presentation. They have a fantastic menu with set prices (all appetizers are the same price, all dinners are the same price). The servers bring the big chalk board menu right to the table (great touch). I have to say that any negative reviews must be written by people who just go out to look for negativity. As we left this place was the only restaurant that was completely full on the strip of all the restaurants (there is a lot of restaurants in the area) while all of them were empty. Trust us. You should go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Sylvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trappas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Trappas Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing