We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Point Antigua
Nearby Hotels
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$266
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Touloulou(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$132
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vine Cottages(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Ocean Inn(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nelson Court(English Harbour)
Booking.com
View Deal
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$108
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Bay Antigua(Saint Mary's)
$575
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
$970
$776
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
129
25
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
25
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall beachsushifalmouth harboursuper yachtsbreakfast servicepaddle boards and kayaksfully equipped kitchenon site restaurantwithin walking distancepigeon beachyacht clubawesome viewsclean beachbed penthouserooms are hugebeautiful hotellovely pool
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 162 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2015

I too am having difficulty writing about this place.

We booked at a rate of around $600 USD a night for a 2 bed penthouse at the end of May. Not too expensive but for the time of season - Falmouth is effectively closed from early May until November

There is no gym.

The rooms are all self catering with a kitchen of sorts but no laundry facility which we found odd. The quality of everything is superb whether in the kitchen or the bathroom, the owner has invested in the very best of everything.

Including the staff.

The housekeeping standard is possibly the highest I've ever experienced.

The pool area is excellent, the pool is the cleanest I have ever swam in.

Sadly the rest of my review isn't so positive.

Mosquitoes are a problem pretty well anywhere warm, I have travelled to dozens of mosquito hot zones and when staying in quality accommodation not suffered one single bite.

South Point has a problem with Mosquitoes. In fairness to them, they began dealing with the problem the day after I brought it to their attention and it improved slightly. But it won't be beaten unless they manage the problem daily - and that won't happen in a seasonal property (they close during our summer).

The restaurant opens for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was very good most of the time.

Lunch is Asian fusion sushi style - great if you like that, but every day?

So when we ventured beyond the hotel restaurant for something different, we found only one restaurant open - Sushi again.

The manager is a wonderful lady called Tess, she is very professional and fully understands the market she is aiming for. She took action on feedback from every guest and made us all feel like valuable customers.

It is only because of her professionalism that we will consider returning to Antigua - really. In fact it is only because she was so pro that we even stayed to the end of our booking - the mosquitoes nearly drove us home early (yes, home, not another hotel) but Tess rescued our trip and shone on behalf of South Point.

So will we return to South Point? we might when it is fully finished and fully open.

Would we recommend it? Yes, at the right price, and with your eyes wide open, and at the right time of year.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water, rooms furthest from reception will be the quieter rooms - but not by much
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point F, Manager at South Point Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2015

Dear Mike D,

Thank you for choosing South Point Antigua.

I am delighted that your trip for the most part was pleasant.

Our Housekeeping Manager was pleased to read your lovely comments about overall cleanliness.

We do recognize that the mosquitoes was an issue during your stay. I can confirm we have these under control and have seen great improvement since your departure. We personally spoke in great length about ways to keep them under control. I truly appreciated your feedback and comments and took them very seriously. Our maintenance team is now using a different spray to fogg the property.

As you mentioned, the gym is not yet completed but our goal is to have it done during closure. September - November 2015

Our restaurant is now open for dinner and the menu have changed since your departure. We now have pastas, sandwiches, burgers, soup and many more items along with as our sushi menu.

Once again thank you, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards,

Tess & The South Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015

I am in two minds on this review. The staff are so wonderful and I definitely don't want to take anything away from the amazing work they do. They are welcoming, friendly, and so warm and helpful. They are genuinely proud of the property they work for, and rightly so as it is beautifully appointed with some great features (the balcony, room facilities, view, and pool area). However, there are some issues that relate to aspects outside their control to be aware of before you consider booking.

(1) The location is central to English Harbor but this does mean it is often noisy.
(2) There are still building works continuing on this site through to mid-2015.
(3) The transparency about the status of these building works needs to be greatly improved, When we booked there were facilities that were shown as completed but they were still just a concrete shell.

More details on these three things.

(1) The location is noisy. Between the movements of boats in the harbor, building works (which will, granted, stop eventually), insects, and other guests, the rooms are not quiet. Add to this that many of the windows in the rooms do not contain glass as they are slated louvre blinds backed by mosquito netting. This is wonderful during the day with the sea breezes though not so good when you want a more peaceful time as they offer virtually no sound proofing.

(2) Building works are continuing on the site. These works have been delayed several times and will now continue until Summer 2015 (maybe longer given past delays). Specifically, the fitness centre and restaurant are incomplete and the due date for both of these has shifted. For example, the fitness centre was due for completion December, 2014 - now moved to sometime mid-2015. The restaurant was due for completion December, 2014 - it was delayed by almost a month though I believe it will be fully operational soon.

(3) There was a real lack of transparency on the status of the available facilities. At the time we booked the booking site showed that there was a fitness centre, restaurant (also offering in-room dining), and spa services on site. Meanwhile on their website, whilst the Fitness Centre stated it would be completed December, 2014 (it still does at last look - see screenshot from Jan 4th, 2015), the restaurant looked very much like it was open. The same for the spa services. We weren’t informed until one week before we arrived that the Fitness Centre wasn’t ready and told only one day before that the restaurant wouldn’t be completed either. Spa services were not available on site.

For full transparency we made these last two issues known to the management and they gave us a 5% discount on the rate and covered some, but not all, of our (very, very small) bar bill. They reasoned that they wouldn’t be able to provide further discount as the rate we'd received was already reduced. We paid U$595/night over the Christmas period, with the 5% discount this came out to U$565/night. Even at this rate, and even had all the facilities been available as shown I would not consider this good value for money for what you get. Perhaps this is a reflection of high prices on the island in general, either way, having now stayed here I’d consider it as over-priced (even at this discounted rate and even considering the time of year).

Clearly you can make your own choices but to summarise, the staff are wonderful, I feel bad for them that they have been let down by management decisions on how the status of building works is communicated. A much more transparent policy on this is needed which I hope they will rectified. The rooms are nice but it can be noisy - bear this in mind when booking.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the harbor are quieter though it is difficult to escape the noise even there. Views on ground floor rooms are partially obstructed by the plants and trees. Upper floors have much clearer and wider views.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point F, Manager at South Point Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2015

Dear Ben G

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at South Point Antigua.

Thank you also for the wonderful comments about the staff.

I can confirm we do not have any building work in progress.

We still have our fitness to complete when we close for the season from September 5th to October 29th. Other than the fitness all work is completed.

Our restaurant is now fully open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We do recognized that your review from January 2015.

Thank you for your honest feedback.

We do hope if your travel takes you back to Antigua you would consider staying us again.

Tess & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

South Point Falmouth was exactly how we wanted it to be...our perfect antiguan home for 3 weeks.

Our Seafront Suite was comfortable and large with all the amenities you need including a fully equipped kitchen and WiFi that worked perfectly.

The view from the suite was fantastic.

The reception staff were the most kind and helpful, They booked our excursions to Barbuda, Montserrat and around the island with no problems at all. They were simply fantastic.

Lots of restaurants and bars nearby within a walking distance.




.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leilaTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point F, Manager at South Point Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thanks for the lovely feedback LeilaT. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at South Point and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Peaceful spot in Falmouth Harbour. Very clean modern look and beautiful pool area.
A wonderful place to watch the boats while sipping some Aperol Prosecco.
Kitchen not fully opened yet but they served fabulous Hors D'Ovres and drinks.
A Special Place!

Room Tip: I would recommend room #203 . It's on the ground floor infront of the pool and great view from the terass.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point F, Manager at South Point Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thanks thinktall! We're glad you enjoyed our modern vibe and fabulous harbour views. The Lounge bar has just re-opened for the season -and we are well stocked with Aperol and Prosecco! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amazing views especially for the sailing enthusiasts, it is not quite finished, this didnt disrupt out stay, but when it is, it will be first class, the staff were both friendly and helpfull. Very central but peaceful too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 451Rosamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point F, Manager at South Point Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you 451 Rosamund. We've just re-opened for the Winter season and some spectacular yachts are already arriving for the annual Antigua Boat Show next week. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews