We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but poor communication”

Springhill Riding Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good but poor communication”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We pre booked this trip before we travelled to Antigua because I wanted to check that it would be suitable for my two young children. I had a few quick very friendly responses so I booked for the first Tuesday of our holiday. We arranged a taxi as it was 40 minutes away from our hotel. When we arrived I was told that my youngest was too young to go on the trek which I had pre booked. The lady I had emailed was not there. I was very Disappointed as that is why I had emailed in the first place. They did take us for a short ride. Down to the sea and the children had a little swim on horseback which was great. The children thought it was great. If I had known before hand that it would be only for such a short ride then I wouldn't have travelled 40 minutes each way, an expensive short ride.
I just wish I was told before we travelled that they were too young.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank JoanneB692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience!!! Take me back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Suzan and Kent for an amazing experience at the riding school. We were a bit nervous specially my wife but Suzan has deep knowledge of horses and knows what she is doing. She calmed all our nerves and assured us that everything will be fine. Horses are all well looked after. Suzan has just started to manage this riding school again as it was poorly managed before she took over. Swim in the sea with horses is one of the best adventures I have ever had. Hope this riding school is promoted rightly as it's a must do in Antigua.
Too good.....Best wishes
Sach and hetal

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sachin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OMG one of the best things I ever done!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I loved this activity and I am sure I am going to do this every time I go back to Antigua. I rode in a really good horse. My horse walked into the ocean and then once we were off the reef he swam quite a way out. I never had a problem with him trying to buck me off. It was such a good experience. we even saw a sting grey swimming right next to us. it was worth every penny. one of the best things I have ever done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mimi2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Lyn and Nicola made a great effort to fit us in for a ride on our last day in Antigua and we couldn't be happier. The horses, Gandalf and Joy, are part Clydesdales, sure-footed and gentle, and we rode through mango trees and palms on entertaining trails to a beach for a trot and a wade chest deep. It went so well that I think we will take some more riding lessons to prepare us for a longer ride to Rendezvous Bay next time. Many thanks to Springhill Stables for a great birthday present for my wife, despite the sore muscles the next day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome swim on horseback”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

It was lovely to see such well looked after horses and ride confidently into the sea for a swim. It was a dream come true.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springhill Riding Club also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Saint Paul Parish, Antigua
Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
 

Been to Springhill Riding Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing