We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too overdone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelson's Dockyard

Nelson's Dockyard
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Round Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stamford UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not too overdone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to the Dockyard, feeling that it was not too commercialised.
The information given in the Museum was well laid out - I think we both learned a lot of both the English Navy and Antiguan history that day!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    531
    175
    41
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A historical retail outlet!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's fairly interesting to look around, but all the old shops have been turned into shops and cafes and you need to run the gauntlet of getting through the market to get in. The only bit I liked was looking at the boats in the harbour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fascinating historical attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited here in November 2013 for the first time evn though it was our third time in Antigua. There was loads of information dotted around the place and it was nice to wander around without a guide and just look at what we wanted to. The museum is interesting and contains the bed that Nelson slept in when he was stationed here. The restoration is very sympathetic and you get a real sense of life in the colonies at the sharp end. The local people are mentioned a lot in the chronology of the area and it was nice to be able to see how the island developed after the Royal Navy left the island. There is also a marina of luxury yachts to look at and a nice picnic area for sunny days. We unfortunately had a heavy rain storm to contend with but it didn't spoil our fun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historical Nelson's Dockyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nelson' Dockyard is of historical interest. I believe guided tours are available but it is possible to wander around on your own, after paying Admission Fee ( they will take USA Dollars). There is a maritime museum with nautical artefacts. The walking is easy at it is mainly flat. There is a marina with luxury craft moored there, well worth a look. From the jetty you can walk behind the wall up onto the headland ,where Monserratt is visible, smoking still. Beware of cacti when walking especially if wearing open toed footwear.
From the port of St John turn right and walk to the bus station. Take a bus to English Harbour US dollars accepted. It is an interesting ride. The locals get on and off at various villages. Everybody is friendley and helpful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sight seeing in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nelson, started the downfall of Antiqua with his strict interpretation of the trade laws. But the area tells a great story and is restored well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank peggyjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Dockyard also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
 

Been to Nelson's Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing