We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History sustained!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelson's Dockyard

Nelson's Dockyard
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Round Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“History sustained!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a great idea. Nelson's former dockyard is sustained by getting relevant modern businesses to occupy those restored properties. A must-visit for anyone going to Antigua.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidSturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    527
    175
    41
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
638 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,112 helpful votes
“Not much to see, buildings put to modern usage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visited Nelson's Dockyard by rental car. It was described outside as containing many buildings restored to their original splendour. We paid our US$8 entry fee and in truth there was not much to see inside. The buildings described as 'Built in 1821' were mainly being used for modern purposes and you could not go inside many of them. We would have spent more time looking at the exhibits in the rather small museum if we had known that there was relatively little awaiting us further inside. We went to the bar in another restored building and had to pay EC$20 for two glasses of pineapple juice poured from a supermarket package. That's £5 in English money, much more than we had paid in St John's. In summary, we were disappointed to see so little to remind one of the historic times of Nelson.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A little piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Amazingly restored and/or preserved, the buildings are as original even the pillars for repairing the huge sails are intact, it only needs the Victory but she's not up to the journey any longer, see it, worth the trip

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuralRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friday - seafood bbq”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

On Friday nights by the dockyard there is an excellent bbq - fish and chips, steamed fish and all sorts of great seafood. Really cheap and a great atmosphere! Must do if you are staying near!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Locktravel1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I never knew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The history and beauty is wonderful. Our tour guide was very informative. Amazing how people could have survived during that time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Dockyard also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
 

Been to Nelson's Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing