We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chips! Chips! Get rid of the Chips.”
Review of Hamilton's Wine Bar and Bistro - CLOSED

Hamilton's Wine Bar and Bistro
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Http://www.antiguanice.com/v2/client.php?id=950&cat=79
Tahiti
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chips! Chips! Get rid of the Chips.”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very nice location, staff polite and timely and a short but varied wine list. The whole package, however, is a little let down by mediocre presentation, and soggy chips piled high everywhere. Please remove them from your menu. I don't think you'll lose custom if you do, as your menu was attractive, but there is nothing "Caribbean with Pacific Fusion" about the smell of soggy chips being carried past the table. The prices are high enough to warrant a little more care on the plate and a few less tired fries casting shadows over the main acts which have taken far more skill and time to produce.

Overall, not a bad meal at all, and a lovely evening was had, but you score C - try harder.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thorheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiguaEmma, Owner at Hamilton's Wine Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I am sorry that your experience at Hamilton's did not meet your expectations. We have worked hard since opening in November 2010 to establish a reputation for relaxed, casual dining & great service, something we are very proud of.

You have raised a couple of points which I feel are unfair & just a little confusing! Firstly you describe our wine list as 'short but varied'. We serve 38 wines from all over the world, 19 of which are available by the glass! We would describe our wine list as extensive & indeed is the longest & most varied in all the restaurants in English Harbour!

Secondly let me defend our 'hand-cut fries' which are as described, hand-cut and not the usual frozen skinny fries served elsewhere on-island. Since opening I can honestly say that we have not received a single complaint with regard to our fries. Soggy they certainly are not!! Also, it confuses me as to whether you actually ordered the fries or merely disliked other people ordering them, which I think you will agree, is somewhat beyond my control. Our lunch menu features a choice of 28 dishes of which 2 are offered with fries. Dinner main course options are all served with a choice of potato - gratin dauphinois/ sauteed potatoes or our 'hand-cut fries'.

It is a shame that you felt the need to give our restaurant an average review when it would have been somewhat more productive to chat to either myself or my great staff on the day of your visit, who are always available to listen to feedback, both positive & negative. We of course will never please everyone but as you can see from the vast majority of reviews on TripAdvisor, we seem to be doing a pretty good job overall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clackmannan
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food in a fantastic location”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We ate at Hamiltons on several occassions for lunch and dinner, what can we say that will do it justice. Style and location are great, relaxed wine bar bistro style with the fabulous outlook from the veranda over the harbour. The food is excellent, we had the tempura shrimp(prawns) several time they were so good, other starters equally great. I had a variety of fish and all dishes were excellent, other mains also all very good, the fish pie was exquisite, the dauphinoise potatoes and other vegetables fantastic. Wine list is really great. Good prices for cooking of this standard.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nayland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful food.”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had a visit around the dockyard and looked at all the yaughts and wondered if we won the lottery what we could afford to buy! We then enjoyed a most delicious evening with wonderful food and service. We started with Champagne and canapés in a lovely setting with the sun slowly going down. We were a large group but the staff had no problem in looking after us and we enjoyed a wonderful evening under the stars with an excellent choice of food. We would return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - would definitely recommend”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly, the menu is varied and branches out considerably more than most of the restaurants that we went to. The food was exponentially better than anywhere else as well. The views over the harbour are superb and we spent many a day whiling away the hours with a glass of wine just enjoying the scenery, music and company. Hamilton's is perfect for a lunch, dinner or drinks - smart or casual. Whatever you are in the mood for it will undoubtedly provide - I could not recommend any place higher.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycustomer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant in historic Nelsons Dockyard”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

A lovely venue right in the heart of Nelsons Dockyard. Unfortunately it rained rather heavy on the night we were there and our table on the verandah got rather wet although the staff where quick to arrange another one which was sheltered from the storm. Food and drink although a little bit pricey were excellent in quality. Recommended!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SussieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton's Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing