We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best happy hour on Antigua, and decent food too!”
Review of Mad Mongoose - CLOSED

Mad Mongoose
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Best happy hour on Antigua, and decent food too!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to happy hour nearly every day of our vacation for the fantastic specials (beer, wine, well drinks and rum punch for approximately US$2 apiece), served by cheerful bartenders to locals, tourists and expats. Our drink of choice was their very tasty dark-and-stormy (made with house-made ginger beer), but the rum punch and local beers were also worth trying. The bar snacks were pretty good, too, especially the french fries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“dive bar of goodness”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

From the outside of the place I didn't expect much, but was really surprised. I had the coconut shrimp, it could have used a touch more sauce but otherwise great. The rice was flavorful and worth every bite. I was wishing more shrimp would appear on my plate! My husband had the West Indian curry. Presented with a flatbread on top, he was impressed by the flavors of the curry but not very spicy. And this is a guy who digs spicy! We went ahead and had bread pudding for dessert made with Mount Gay Rum Sauce and it was to die for! We both were fighting over cleaning the plate! He says this is the bread pudding every other restaurant will get measured against for the rest of his life!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You have to go there!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are visiting English Harbour in the evening, you must go to this place - particularly at Happy Hour (4pm to 7pm). It is a really lively, fun, relaxed place. The staff are excellent - particularly "Junior" behind the bar. The bar snacks and restaurant food is all good. Everything is excellent value for money. We tend to go here most evenings, before sometimes going on elsewhere to eat. Great for meeting people and just chilling out. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MM1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good spot, bad night!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The overall vibe of the place is nice, with those familiar bar items like pool, darts, etc.

A huge an overwhelming negative memory of this place was that my phone was stolen. It would not have been that bad, but the owner (?) was very unsympathetic about the whole situation and even insinuated her staff were involved. It was taken in the mass exodus of closing time, so who knows what really happened, but the owner's reaction certainly did not make me feel good or safe at all.

In retrospect there were cameras in the bar, and if the owner really cared, she would have offered to help more.

So nice bar, but watch your stuff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great spot, great mudslides!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Mad Mongoose was a nice bar that we went to a few nights for some drinks. It is located at English Harbor close to many restaurants and pubs. The bar itself is set in with a Caribbean and low-key vibe and is very relaxed. Prices were about 8 EC dollars for a mixed drink. We tried out there mudslides which were excellent tasting but watch out they will hit you! They have a bit of a patio area with some circular seating as well as billiards area in that back with some tv that had sports being broadcasted.

When we went it was not overly busy but I hear it is a great place to be for a good party!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Mongoose also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing