We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening”

Catherines Cafe Plage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We used to love Catherine's Cafe in the previous location. In its new location the food, welcome and service did not disappoint. Our hosts and the lovely staff were wonderful. The food was magnificent. Lobster risotto to die for. Chocolate volcano a sin you have to commit too!!! The only tiny reservation I would have is that on the jazz evening we could not hear the music very well (which is brilliant by the way) and that is a shame. Also, there were many tables for large groups and all the couples seemed to have been pushed around the edge whereas in the previous location all the tables were mixed up. Its definitely a place I would go back to in a large crowd rather than a deux. But don't get me wrong, its a wonderful, wonderful restaurant in every possible way and so welcoming.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    79
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent, above 5 star, though different.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Still a gem, now shining in its new beach location. The same attention to detail as before, with
quite the best food that I have ever enjoyed in Antigua. I can recommend eggs and asparagus, then lobster risotto,followed by one of their stunning puddings; though one of our party missed the tasty Cornish hen which used to be on the menu, at their previous location.
The attention to detail is superb, and the same characterful and charming staff are there to guide
you to your choice of dishes.
A memorable (birthday for one of our party) lunch, washed down with fine wine, and a swim beforehand on the beach! The food is totally seductive. Go there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFrost793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Block Island, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Be certain to make a reservation as this charming French restaurant on the beach fills quickly and they do not turn over tables by rushing your meal. From the moment we stepped into Catherine's we were greeted by smiles. Our table for two was lovely right at the edge of the restaurant, toes practically in the sand. The food is described by the waitstaff who clearly know how each dish is prepared and have an excellent knowledge of the ingredients. When your selections arrive, the presentation is a work of art. The mussels are the best I've ever had! I could go on and on. Just go there and see for yourself. They are open for lunch and dinner but not everyday, so call or stop by to check.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good lobster cakes, steak tartare was ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Finally! find a restaurant in Antigua where they can actually cook! on our trip this was our favorite restaurant

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue; wonderful cuisine; wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a fantastic place to enjoy excellent food near a delightful beach! I cannot speak highly enough about it. Clams gratinee, lobster risotto, passion fruit brûlée ....heaven can wait!
Reservations are necessary.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank a1emslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing