We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach | Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour 71800, Antigua
12684605050
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
English harbour
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very French great position an asset to antigua . Everything is fresh . charming fun waitresses . Consistent better than anything I have been to in Barbados

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Water Side lunches/dining at Catherines on Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited Catherine's many times during our stay- for the stunning waterfront location on English Harbour, the best lobster risotto we've ever tasted (all the food we tried was superb), an excellent french rose and the warmest of welcomes from Catherine, Guillaume and the girls. It is exceptional in every way- a must if you are on Antigua.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jools b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We always make a point of having lunch here on regular visits to Antigua and it never disappoints. The food and service is excellent, and the location exceptional - though the addition of bar next door does distract. Main surprise for a waterfront restaurant is that there are more meat dishes than fish on the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank galliardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryanblaw
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, pretty good food, INCREDIBLY slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Definitely worth a visit just for the location. The food itself was pretty good, but not overly memorable. We had 2 appetizers, 4 main dishes, and 2 desserts and nothing was either amazing or bad. The lunch did take about 3 hours though. While in part due to us relaxing, our waitress would disappear for long stretches of time (we noticed other tables looking around for their servers, as well). Should give it a try. We went for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bryanblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I visited Antigua for most of October and November last year, and this was my favourite restaurant.
There was no reason in particular for this. It was a lovely combination of the very personal service, fantastic food, and gorgeous scenery that made it such a special experience every time I dined there.
Guillaume, Claudine and Natasha remembered me from my voice when I called asking for directions, and every time after when I called to make reservations. They were always very friendly and attentive with the service, without being overbearing.
The food... everything I had was lovely. The fish of the day was always excellent, and don't get me started on the passion fruit creme brulee.... Divine!
The place is not cheap, but it is worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShivBroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing