We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat on the island jazz nights are fun.”

Catherines Cafe Plage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best place to eat on the island jazz nights are fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Food is terriffic. views are the best . Service first rate

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    79
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a place...setting, food, great wine, but the TEAM looking after you make it so special...!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Went here for my beloved's Special 40th Birthday lunch....right from the minute I booked our table of four people the feeling was 'special'...not flash, not overbearing 'special' is the best word..!!! Staff great, setting just stunning, food was fresh, beautifully seasoned, perfect portions, lovely variation and some of the best Cotes de Provence Rose I have ever had....the birthday girl had a magical time culminating in the WHOLE place clapping and singing Stevie Wonder 'Happy Birthday' would recommend this gem to all who take the time to head out of the 'All Inclusive' rut you can easily get stuck in...a trip here will absoloutely make your holiday and fill you with the emotions you crave from a great holiday...thank you to Catherine's for the memories 'Special'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyNickT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place is amazing, the Lobster Risotto has been mentioned in a number of reviews - for good reason. fantastic!!!!
Do make the effort to visit, it is an amazing place. The food is amazing, the owners and the staff make you feel very special and the location is one of the best on the island. Do book, I think it is only open in the evening on Wednesday & Friday, but do check. Worth returning to Antigua for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, amazing food, charming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Vital to book here, but so worth a visit, beautiful location right on the water, you can arrive by boat, really charming staff who are fun a friendly and make you feel relaxed and at home.

I had the lobster risotto which was really delicious, and the tarte tatin was the best I have ever had (and I have had a few!!!) The place just has a lovely feel and intoxicating after a glass of very good wine, it was full of people enjoying it as much as we were!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE BEST - A MUST DINING VISIT IN ANTIGUA!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went for lunch today and it was nothing short of spectacular. The service, lead by the frenetic owners and an amazing staff was incredible. We didn't have reservations which was a mistake but they got us in after a short 10 minute wait.

The meal was amazing. So fresh, wonderful flavoers, well done on all fronts. The view of the harbor and the sail boats is magical. YOU HAVE TO GO HERE.

We had a three course, 2 hour divine dining experience. Never rushed and with perfect timing on every course. We shared a phenomenal bottle of white, had 2 appetizers, 2 main course and 2 desserts for a total, with tip of $220. I know it is a little on the high end - but as a value - it was a steal!!

I mean it - if you come to Antigua and don't come here - you have not experienced one of the greatest gems on the island. I will have to come back to go here again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank docsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing