We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant in every way!”

Catherines Cafe Plage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just brilliant in every way!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Accompanied by my wife and 2 other couple we had a 'last day lunch' at Catherine's Cafe. We could not have chosen better. The setting looking out across English Harbour is as beautiful as it gets. The owners and staff are delightful. There is a slightly mischievous air about them which suited us and our mood absolutely. The food is just to die for. Especially recommended.... Beef Carpaccio, the best I have ever tasted - and I have experience of carpaccio! Croque Monsieur, also the best ever. Apparently, the Steak Tartare was outstanding and everything we had was either very good or better. Good wines too and when they ran out of the excellent Muscadet we had been drinking we were brought an alternative (more expensive) wine which was sold to us for the price of the Muscadet and which was perhaps even better........ the waitress Natasha is as mad as a brush but we loved her to bits and would jump some hoops to go back there and experience the sort of fun experince with great dining that she helped us to have. Congratulations to Claudine (and her husband who's name we did not get?) who have created something extraordinary.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    80
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quite Exceptional”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

One of the finest French restaurants I have been to..quite exceptional. Not, in my view, particularly expensive, either. This was my sixth visit. My only regret is that there are no French restaurants of this quality in London.....
Great view and friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had a lovely lunch at Catherine's Cafe. The menu is very french. I enjoyed my lobster risotto and my husband loved his caprese salad. The atmosphere, along with its views of the boats and harbor, gives one a taste of the yachtie lifestyle without the expense.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JPSWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roberto speaking! :-)”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Homely, romantic restaurant on the see! Really excellent food, friendly and nice staff! You can see that all people put passion and simpaty to give us the best service. Guillaume, the owner of the Catherines cafe, and his wife will welcome you familiarly.
Just book a table and try it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still remains one of the best on the island”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have been to this restaurant many many times over the years and it is still one of the best on the island. The location at the entrance to the harbour is perfect. The food is always excellent and the welcome from Guillaume and the staff is wonderful. Go and check it out but you will probably have to book.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing