We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab place, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lime and the Coconut - CLOSED

The Lime and the Coconut
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: The Lime and the Coconut has been converted from a restaurant into a Live Music Lounge Bar. The name is still the same but people call it "the Lime" now. It has a great atmosphere that appeals to all sorts of people from everywhere, giving them a feeling of being a little more at home or some place they have been to before. We have bands playing all genres of music, from roots Reggae, to Jazz and Funk and then some good old Rock.
UK
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab place, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

One of the best places to eat around English Harbour with a varied and cosmopolitan menu, covering everything from Antiguan staples to curry to Sauerkraut and Red Cabbage.
Quality is always excellent along with a small but well crafted wine list catering for all tastes and budgets.
Lucas and Jackie are excellent hosts along with a great waitress in Kesia (not always the case in Anigua sadly!) - have been there a few times now and never been disappointed by either the food wine or the bonhomie and passion of the owners.
As an extra treat, order some of the home made bread and enjoy for breakfast the next day! We will be back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IainCarolineCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I hope you like breakfast food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We went around 1400 and all we could get was breakfast type foods, and not even good breakfast foods. Forget about it for lunch. Didn't bother to go back for dinner. Apparently dinner is serviced by another owner? Kinda strange, but I guess time sharing a restaurant is normal down there.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank davefromannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not quite what it seems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Having eaten here in the evening and daytime I can’t entirely agree with earlier reviews and yes this a personal opinion.

On the first evening visit we found the the host to be all over us and interested in you but don’t expect this the second time. Having to ask to have plates cleared and then be abruptly asked whether drinks had been ordered was not on par with the first visit.

There was a definite feeling of once you’ve been hooked then second class service prevails.

The menu is definitely based on the owner’s personal tastes and cooked well, although some of the European dishes can be a little bland. The bread is ok but not fantastic.

As to a relaxed atmosphere – Hmmm. You could be in the middle of a meal and you’re being interrupted to share your table. Now we don’t mind sharing but timing is everything in the restaurant industry

Daytime service is by a cheery, loud lady BUT this is simply European style coming to the fore. But do make sure that you get there before her boyfriend shows up as service slows up after that whilst cigarettes are smoked.

Those of you who have raved about the place may think this is harsh but I actually believe with a few tweaks, less self-indulgence by the owners and a menu review, this establishment really has the potential to fly. It’s up to them and I wish the owners well.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Artisancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent restaurant at good location in english harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

we had a wonderfull evening at this restaurant. great curries and excellent service. the owners, lucas and jackie, are really friendly and know how to run a good restaurant. we would recommend it to everyone visitig the town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephi_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Visited the Lime and the Coconut for a quick lunch. The food was delicious and fresh, and economically priced. Would definitely recommend. The only negative I can say is the location - they are located right on a busy corner and there was a lot of car/truck noise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thumper1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime and the Coconut also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing