We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
161
71
13
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
71
13
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolthe main hotelpillars restaurantgun powdernelson's dockyardgarden roomsteeped in historyart gallerypigeon beachbar restaurantgalleon beachmain parthistoric hoteloverlooking the harbourstayed here for two nightsboat ridebars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 265 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017

This is luxury and some. The location, the food, cocktails, staff team and then there is the accommodation...... we absolutely would recommend a stay here. We were greeted with a cocktail before being driven across the water to our Gunpowder suite and driven back in time for dinner. The best lobster Thermidor I have ever tasted.
It was end of season so we missed the art gallery ... must return to this peaceful beautiful haven. I couldn't recommend it more to anyone. Wow factor ❤️

Room Tip: Gunpowder suites ...worth the extra
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittywhowearsahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Perfect room/suite in the southern part of Antigua in the English Harbour. The staff is super attentive and all amenities with a delicious menu served at the restaurant all day, even in the off-season (I was there in July 2017). Elderly Mother was on the trip with us, so as we headed out to more adventurous activities, she was well taken care of by the folks at this UNESCO heritage hotel all day.
The property is expertly landscaped on both sides of the bay.
Have to come back!

This area is the most picturesque of Antigua, 15 minutes from the rain forest and 30 minutes from some of the best beaches on the Caribbean side.
Note: this hotel consists of the Admiral's Inn and the gunpowder suites a short (1 min. boat ride) across the bay. That is where the infinity pool is.Yet, no worries, there is always someone able to transfer you (Cecil seems to be a fixture there either via quick boat or van). Or a walk of about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Stay in the Gunpowder Suites which has a lovely balcony. Best room is the "Blue Peter".
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ICUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

Stayed in a new Gunpowder suite for a few nights. Friendly check-in and a fun transfer from main hotel to Gunpowder suite via boat (1 min). Luggage arrived via car. Loved the spacious room, four poster bed, large bathroom and view of the water and boats. Very comfortable night's sleep. WiFi worked well. Hotel located in UNESCO World Heritage site with lots of history and charm. Took the free boat to the beach, found some nice trails for hiking and then enjoyed Boom and Pillars restaurants for drinks and lunch/dinner. Amazing view of Nelson's Dockyard from Boom over infinity pool. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Gunpowder Suites are top notch.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank piersds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

We stayed in the deluxe suite in the boathouse, with a large view of the bay. We enjoyed walking around Nelson,s dockyard and taking in the history. We hiked from fort Berkley to Pigeons beach, lovely views and a good workout! Tip: Bring bug spray!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We spent two nights in the Deluxe Loft Suite, then we ran away (to the much much better South Point). Here the sad story. The bed sheets and pillows were dirty of another guest and were not changed for the next night. The sofas were dirty. From the shower came only few water making the experience a fatigue. The bathroom was small and without air change... no the air change it was inside the room, since the wall had no top therefore any smell from the toilet would go in the room. In the big living area with nice view there was no table but two absolutely useless sofas (in fact they were dirty and we had no intention to sit on these...). When you exit the room you have to shut down A/C and if you don't do it, they'll do it for you when they make the room. The locker was closed so I couldn't put the code in and use it. There was no stand to put our bags, so we had to put them on the floor. The food at the restaurant was nothing special and they were not able to solve our problem of curtains taken on our table because of the wind. Breakfast is not included and you have to pay it extra. Nothing is complimentary, not even basic water inside the room. Last but not least inside English Harbour there is the biggest community of mosquitos we have met in Antigua. I could go on with other negative notes, but the facts that in our "suite" we had not enough water to make a decent shower and everything was dirty from the bed sheets to every other surface with cloth on it it's enough to say that this place shall be avoided. Go the South Point where we are now and you'll find another world: everything clean, new, great staff, complimentary breakfast, complimentary cell phone, complimentary water, welcome fruit, great restaurant, and much much more.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Massimiliano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admirals I, Manager at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest’s stay with us enjoyable and, as a boutique property, we go out of our way to please our guests. We were extremely surprised and saddened by your review as you talked to several members of staff including Lynda when you had dinner, the owner Paul on both mornings and Kemlin at the front desk several times and you never mentioned any issues with the room or your stay to any of them. You stayed for the 2 nights initially booked. If the experience was as negative as you indicate in your review we would think you might have asked to leave early or at a minimum mentioned to someone that you were dissatisfied. We find your complaint about the dirty sheets and bed cover very odd and totally out of keeping with our standards and other guest experiences. We get very strong ratings for cleanliness – 9.3 - and have never had a similar complaint. We cannot understand why anyone would take photos of dirty bedsheets and then sleep in them? We never received a request from you to change the sheets which strikes us as extremely odd. Regarding the water pressure there were no complaints from other guests in the same building but again, if you thought the waterflow insufficient, we would have done our utmost to rectify it if you had let us know. Far from complaining to staff you told Lynda how much you enjoyed your dinner and you left a generous tip which would hardly lead us to believe that you were dissatisfied. You mention the curtains bothering you during your meal and Lynda did offer to move you to another waterfront table but you chose to stay in the waterfront gazebo which is a beautiful, private dining setting. Regarding your other points we do provide complimentary water in a Brita filter in your room because we are focused on being ecologically sensitive and we do not want to contribute to the accumulation of plastic bottles littering the oceans. We also provide complimentary tea and coffee in the Loft Suite as well as complimentary kayaks, snorkeling gear and boat ride to the reef and beach. The housekeepers do turn off the AC if you are out of the room as the AC is very efficient and cools the rooms down very fast when you return and we do not think it is great to contribute to global warming by running the AC all day when you are not in your room. However, if you had mentioned to us that you would like it to be left on we would have done so. We are here to make your stay enjoyable and our staff receive very strong reviews for doing just that but it makes our job much harder if you tell us everything is fine when you don’t think it is. We would have gladly rectified all your concerns if you had given us a chance. We are sure we could have made your stay a great one like the vast majority of our guests if you had given us the opportunity. We are truly saddened that we were not able to do so as we love making our guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews