We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booking on line: easy, updates to booking confirmations received with no issue.

Arrival: offered drink and though booking update was not received by reception they were able to accommodate me and did so with no problem.

Food: Took just over 50 mins to get breakfast on the first day of my holiday, this did put me in a bad mood. The restaurant was not full for breakfast & though staff were polite and apologetic just thought this was too long for a omelette. As I was only there for a short time I did not eat in the restaurant esp. as there was no local food on the menu.

Bar: Good range of drinks and very knowledgeable barman (Thanks for my special Rum Punch Reggie!) who was doing everything from mixing cocktails to making Irish Coffees to advising on particular drinks and could mix anything you wanted if he had it. There should be some bar snacks to compliment the cocktails, wines & spirits. Would come back just to sit at this bar.

Room: Clean, tidy with air conditioning as well as fan, bathroom was spotless and towels clean. This room was as expected and enough space to store cases etc. whilst I had no view it was peaceful, clean with fresh ice every day. The pictures of local areas were very pretty and added to the room. The corridor and staircase gave a lovely feel of the previous use of the building and being able to sit and look out into the old dock yard from the first floor is a nice touch. Do note that due to the floors being wooden you can hear people talking from the above rooms though this is not intrusive or distracting.

Misc: Wifi is strongest in the reception area, it is a bit hit and miss on the 1st floor. Staff are so helpful and put you at ease, have to say Cecil & Reggie really made my stay would go back just to say Hi to them both! Any question I had, I posed to reception and they were able to help or advise. As a single traveller this was important for me & I felt safe in and around the hotel and its grounds.

Thought not a sailing person was so good to look over the history of the Dockyard and the Inn is perfectly placed to do so - you do not have to pay the entrance fee into the conservation area if you are staying at the Admiral's Inn. The calm and beautiful view from the restaurant is something to savour. The lovely little near by beach (Pigeon Beach) is great for sunsets and calm water the be prepared for the walk up and down hill, it will get you ready for a swim.

Overall I would stay here again, the receptionist did mention that they were in the process of adding more to the customer experience so for my first visit to Antigua I would recommend this hotel as its a good base to getting any place on the island, by boat or by road. The staff make this place work, plus it is very pretty.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room with a view of the harbour rather than back of the building. Ask Reggie w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SeeingItA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

From booking, canceling and rebooking my room the service at Admirals Inn was helpful and friendly. Not a complaint re food, the bar service was jolly and service at breakfast was calm and relaxed. The boat shuttle was ultra efficient and cheerful and the food and swimming pool area are great. I would probably have chosen the new rooms with hindsight but it is so nice to just walk out from the loft rooms to Nelson's Dock yard.. So depends on what you want the shower rooms are nicer across the water. Look forward to another visit. Thank you

Room Tip: On balance the new rooms would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I visited the Admiral's Inn 35 years ago and it was wonderful to see it again - it has changed a lot and now it is owned and run by the Deeth family, their enthusiasm and flare will make it a huge success. We spent a day by the fabulous new pool across the water from the Inn. We had an excellent lunch and an extremely pleasant relaxing time. The umbrellas were not very sturdy and we would have liked an extra towel! The rooms in the converted Powder store are fabulous - tastefully decorated - a touch of class. We were staying elsewhere on the island but did return for dinner one evening - very enjoyable with a great trio playing in the background. Very friendly staff would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is one of the more expensive hotel and restaurant options in Nelson's dock Yard and the Falmouth and English harbour area's of Antigua. Service was slow, in particular we waited over an hour and a half for a club sandwich despite reminding several staff that we were waiting. When another guest asked to speak to the duty manager and asked in front of several tables if the restaurant would give us all a free drink for the long wait the duty manger replied, " we got your food, didn't we". when it came time to pay the bill there was multiple itemswe had not ordered or had, once the list of items on the bill was correct both tax and service was added to the advertised prices, when we challenged the service charge we were told it was compulsory. All in all, the policy and attitude of multiple staff at this restaurant spoiled our afternoon out. This restaurant was the only one we visited in our two week holiday where we did not add a discretionary tip. The attitude of the staff absolutely shocked me, I am glad we did not actually stay there as it had been on our short list, save your money, pay less elsewhere and get a far better service elsewhere.

Meanwhile the infinity pool had too low a water level and the wireless was sketchy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was great to see an old Admiral's Inn in such great shape from my last visit 30 years ago. The new suites in the Powder Magazine building and the new pool and bar/dining area really put it in a new category for a wonderful stay in Antigua. The pool and Powder suites are a skipping stones throw across the harbor on a boat always ready for guests. Food service was just about to begin at the pool when we were there. The food in the main restaurant was excellent. A really great place to explore Antigua from.

Room Tip: The new suites are pricy but the views from private decks over the pool and English Harbor are hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce-Kathy_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our second visit in this beautiful, historic hotel. The lobby is the best characteristic of the hotel. It is very nice, comfortable and a good place to relax and enjoy the view.

The rooms are adequate and not much more. Be sure to get a room that has window screens or air conditioning. If you fail to do this you will have a swarm of bitting flies in your room! The air conditioning in our room was marginal. There is quite a bit of noise coming from the upper floor.

Again, it is a historic hotel with charm. It is worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank claytonj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Arrived at Admirals Inn after a long journey a warm welcome greeted us and a rum punch to ease the fatigue. The main hotel is full of history and offers wonderful views across the harbour, comfortable seating to enjoy the view, attentive staff and outstanding food make this a wonderful place to stay. We were lucky enough to be the first guests the stay in one of four magnificent rooms opposite the hotel in what was the gun powder rooms. The rooms have private balconies overlooking an infinity pool and bar area serving delicious food . Everything about this hotel is excellent we are sad to leave and have promised ourselves a return visit.

Room Tip: Choose the gun powder new rooms and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,943 reviews
6.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sugar Ridge Resort
Sugar Ridge Resort
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
1,137 reviews
8 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,901 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range: $223 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique hotel set in a secluded section of 18th century Nelson's Dockyard, offering casual elegance and friendly, personal service, provides the perfect backdrop for relaxation, romance, special events and being active if you choose.The 23 rooms and suites are housed in 4 historic buildings on the waterfront and a headland 100 yards across the bay. The hotel offers a small non-swimming beach, spectacular infinity edged pool, a spa and two excellent open-air restaurants, Pillars and Boom. There is a complimentary boat shuttle to the swimming beach in Freeman's Bay and kayaks to explore the harbour. The perfect hotel for relaxing in peace and quiet or for finding plenty of activities (sailing, scuba diving, hiking, snorkeling, yoga) and fun (several restaurants and nightlife) only 5 - 10 minutes away. A great spot for honeymoons and weddings for 2 to 200. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites Antigua/English Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing