We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE FOUND ROOM AT THE INN ON CHRISTMAS EVE.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

As we were unable to continue our stay at a nearby hotel we were subsequently very fortunate to find room at the Admirals Inn on Christmas Eve for two nights.
This historic building is set in the heart of Nelsons dockyard, off English Harbour in a protected area designated as a national park. The hotel incorporates several of the historic dockyard buildings. My wife and I stayed in the Joiners Loft at the Woodstore and my mother-in-law stayed in one of the more traditional rooms within the Inn.
Both rooms oozed character ie, window shutters, exposed roof trusses and wood plank floors.The Joiners Loft is situated at the waters edge and boasts a large open sided apex providing outstanding vistas over the harbour.
There is a private boat to ferry guests to the Inn's private pool and beach.
Their intimate restaurant serves fine food and I have reviewed this separately under restaurants.
I must say that I would recommend The Admirals Inn , it is reasonably priced and well placed for all the local attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 244 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

I cannot recommend the Admirals Inn enough. The food was inspiring and the wine list is very well chosen. Chilean Chef Juan has the skills and the ingredients to ensure your evening is complete.Dining on the historic terrace under a full moon beneath the waving palm trees, - truly memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hn_C718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Charming place, full of character. Very nice staff indeed who made every effort to ensure the stay was a success, which it was. Beds very comfortable indeed, however tiny bathroom, and noisy fan.
They would do well to move the 'natural alarm-clock' at 0500hrs that pecks about the taxi rank outside but made OK by a great Full English and freshly squeezed OJ.
I would certainly come back on any return to Antigua but relatively speaking for what you get overall, not that cheap.

Room Tip: Try not to get the loft rooms 7-10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YeShangTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I arrived to Antigua few days before the Charter Show start. I was all alone but the staff has always been so pleasant and charming that I never had the feeling to be alone. Always ready to suggest where to go for swimming or having dinner or for a night club. The rooms are very nice, even if I had one on the hill view and the taxi drivers, those who park their cabs close to the hotel, were used to chat loudly at 6.00 a.m.!
The house keepers are nice and the rooms are always very clean.
A special thanks to Kemlin, Alison, Reggie, Cecil, Sasha (who welcomed at my arrival) and Amira.
Thanks Paul, nice hotel and a great staff!

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CristinaSLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The staff really make this place. There's an easy charm to Cecil, Kemlin and Paul (the owner), it's not too intrusive but rather engaging. Yes the restaurant is perhaps over priced and a bit of a work in progress but it will get there. The setting is relaxing and encourages you to switch off. It's clear Paul is slowly putting his stamp on the place but I hope it maintains it's intimacy as he does so. The all inclusive resorts are comparable to large Cruise Ships but the Admirals Inn is more of a cool sailing boat that allows you to have some input as to what course you take in Antigua.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Caveat Viator C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent 6 days in Antigua, first 2 at Admirals inn, last part in st Johns. Admirals inn was fantastic hotel! They even upgraded our room for free since they were not fully booked at the time. Throughout our stay the staff was friendly and were great to have a conversation with. They have a little boat service too that will take you over to the best beach we saw (or have probably ever seen) a 5 minute ride. He drops you off and you just tell him when you want him to come back, and this is a free service (i would definitely tip the guy though). Lastly the whole area is steeped in history, British naval ruins from the 1700s everywhere you go. The bars and restaraunts are fantastic down there, and a little less touristy than the resorts. you feel like you are actually in another country instead of sandals disneyland. A++++

Room Tip: some rooms do not have AC, so make sure you get one. This could make for a miserable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went as a couple for a special dinner in October but didn't stay in the hotal. The restaurant and whole of Nelson's Dockyard was dead at that time of year. We paid about $170 US for 2 course each and a bottle wine. The food was pleasant but didn't quite match the price tag. What you pay for is the view

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
6.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sugar Ridge Resort
Sugar Ridge Resort
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
1,129 reviews
8 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,873 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range: $222 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique hotel set in a secluded section of 18th century Nelson's Dockyard, offering casual elegance and friendly, personal service, provides the perfect backdrop for relaxation, romance, special events and being active if you choose.The 23 rooms and suites are housed in 4 historic buildings on the waterfront and a headland 100 yards across the bay. The hotel offers a small non-swimming beach, spectacular infinity edged pool, a spa and two excellent open-air restaurants, Pillars and Boom. There is a complimentary boat shuttle to the swimming beach in Freeman's Bay and kayaks to explore the harbour. The perfect hotel for relaxing in peace and quiet or for finding plenty of activities (sailing, scuba diving, hiking, snorkeling, yoga) and fun (several restaurants and nightlife) only 5 - 10 minutes away. A great spot for honeymoons and weddings for 2 to 200. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites Antigua/English Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing