We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You pay for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went as a couple for a special dinner in October but didn't stay in the hotal. The restaurant and whole of Nelson's Dockyard was dead at that time of year. We paid about $170 US for 2 course each and a bottle wine. The food was pleasant but didn't quite match the price tag. What you pay for is the view

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    52
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
116
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Admrals Inn is a beautiful historic Inn in Nelsons Dockyard. The rooms were beautiful, elegant, clean and the historical setting very attractive. The restaurant food was really good, dinner was very tasty and my wife who is particularily fussy (hopefully she wont read this review!) about food had one of the best burgers she has ever had at the restaurant. However, in our opinion the best thing about hotel is the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff, including the manager Paul. The moment you arrive you feel relaxed and the staff are there to help you. For example, the hotel lays on a shuttle boat and Cecil takes you surrounding beaches and picks you up when you are ready, no fuss. If you are looking for a charming and relaxing hotel with a good restaurant and friendly staff you should definately consider the Admirals Inn. If you are looking for a large resort with loud music, free cocktails and Jet Ski's then this is not for you!

Room Tip: Room one-Very Good Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandClairefromPhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had the most relaxed stay at this hotel. From the moment i arrived, the atmosphere was so relaxing i had a great sleep. The area of which the hotel is situated, is very much breath taking. I had a great 3 nights stay here. The furniture in the rooms reminds me of older Britain, if you are a person interesting in the arts and architecture, especially the more older art, this hotel is the place to be. It if designs with old architecture and a mixed of modern art. The beds are wooden but very comfortable, the windows are wooden. The rooms are air conditioned and have a ceiling fan. It reminds me of growing up in the country, but a touch of the modern Caribbean. If you believe that you need a vacation that is not hassle and bustle, and all you need to do is put your feet up relax and listen to the birds flap their winds and the calming winds flows through your hair, this is the best hotel to be at. Also the owner is very down to earth and friendly, the staff are very friendly and helpful, they made my stay worth while. Most times when i visit a different country my most concern is Safety, however at the Admiral Inn, my safety was met 100%, i remember i wanted to go out for a late night relax at a different place and the Owner arranged for one of the guys to take me, with no extra cost. I want to return here and bring all of my friends when i am coming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you are expecting mod cons then the old part of this hotel is not for you. We love the main building because it is rustic and authentic. We normally prefer all mod cons but we make an exception for this hotel. We love staying here and will continue to stay here for Antigua week and other sailing holidays! Perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARA401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pros: Great location and character hotel. Surprisingly good food. Friendly staff.

Cons: Rooms perhaps a little tired (depending on your view could add to the character!)

For a mid-price Carribean hotel this offers a great location in an absolutely charming character building in the heart of Nelsons Dockyard.

The rooms are what you would expect for the price. The food in the restaurant (we were one of 2 couples dining at end of season) was actually really nice - they created a menu for us and did a great job of drumming up some lovely food from what was left in the stores I think!

Staff very friendly.

If you want a convenient location, character building in the heart of Nelsons Dockyard for a mid-range price I don't think it could be beat.

Room Tip: Some look out over the harbour (rather than the road) so I'd request a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Admiral’s Inn was a warm and welcoming place as soon as I arrived to the premises. From the Security staff at the front gate to the guest check-in everything is very organized but in a laid back sense. Typically that would mean inefficiency any lengthy processes but not here; it was chill, efficient and pleasant. The entrance of the site has a “market” that is selling T-shirts and knick-knacks and the check-in counter is located in the restaurant/bar area. That is a wonderful place to hang out, grab a drink and socialize.

The rooms I booked was a wonderful spacious loft which had a common sitting area and mini-kitchen (fridge, kettle and sink). The room was very nice, had high ceilings, bug net over the bed and a beautiful washroom. The hotel also has free wifi, which is always great for us travelers that want to connect our cellphone and laptops. The docks on the compound are also full of sailing yachts and you get a real sense and connected flavor of the people who are here. A very welcoming group!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had 2 nights at the end of our holiday in Antigua and stayed at the 260 years old Inn,For something so old the bedrooms were comfortable but basic,The Staff were very friendly and couldn`t do enough.The restaurant was excellent and worth a visit even if you are not staying there.Great position in the historic Nelsons dockyard with wonderful boats and surrounded by good restaurants.The hotel is always looking to improve,its not flash but very nice

Room Tip: room 1 a corner room with good views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffreyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
6.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Point Antigua
South Point Antigua
#1 of 4 in English Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Harbour
The Inn at English Harbour
#2 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel
The Copper and Lumber Store Hote...
#4 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Property: Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique hotel set in a secluded section of 18th century Nelson's Dockyard, offering casual elegance and friendly, personal service, provides the perfect backdrop for relaxation, romance, special events and being active if you choose.The 23 rooms and suites are housed in 4 historic buildings on the waterfront and a headland 100 yards across the bay. The hotel offers a small non-swimming beach, spectacular infinity edged pool, a spa and two excellent open-air restaurants, Pillars and Boom. There is a complimentary boat shuttle to the swimming beach in Freeman's Bay and kayaks to explore the harbour. The perfect hotel for relaxing in peace and quiet or for finding plenty of activities (sailing, scuba diving, hiking, snorkeling, yoga) and fun (several restaurants and nightlife) only 5 - 10 minutes away. A great spot for honeymoons and weddings for 2 to 200. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites Antigua/English Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing