We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel with awesome service. Great value on a expensive island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel with awesome service. Great value on a expensive island!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I just spent five days / four nights at the Admiral's Inn. It was a GREAT experience and we cannot wait to return. Here are all the pros and cons of the entire experience: PROs: (1) the Admiral's Inn is perfectly located on the water in English Harbor. It's a quaint old building which feels more like a B&B than all of the mega resorts on the island. Tons of charm. Not at all cookie cutter. (2) the service was FANTASTIC. The entire staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Anything we needed was promptly attended to (reservations, arranging water taxis and excursions, directions, coffee, etc). Kemlin (one of the women who mans the front desk) was particularly helpful. (3) at ~$200/night, our room (room 1) was a fantastic value relative to the mega-resorts which cost +$1,000/night. (4) they're constructing a pool nearby which will be a great addition overlooking the harbor when complete. CONs: (1) there aren't any windows, only screened-in shutters. This did not bother us at all (AC still worked great) although light sleepers won't like the noise on a Saturday nights when some of the neighboring restaurants play music later in the evening (2) the beds and the bathrooms could be upgraded, but then they'd probably charge a lot more (3) you can get to two very nice nearby beaches easily enough, but you'll probably want a rental car to get around the island.

Overall, we would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRN1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
22
149
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for a week The hotel was beautiful, steeped in history and the rooms had beautiful views over the marina. The room was very clean, comfortable beds and cleaned everyday. I had breakfast everyday on the terrace whilst picking up my emails with the free wifi. The biggest surprise was the food served in the evening, which was fantastic...fresh local produce with a oriental twist. Reggie, the resident bartender, his cocktails are legendary! Cyril runs the free water taxi over to the Galley beach and if your lucky he shows you the local turtle that swims up to see him each day! Gina and the girls on reception were so helpful and lovely. The hotel is a short walk away from local restaurants, they are typical Caribbean buildings, they do look a bit worse for ware during the day but the food in every one was amazing, really good quality at night and so much prettier with all the lights. If you need to be close to English Harbour or Falmouth this is the only place to stay and if you are visiting Antigua just for a holiday I would highly recommend the Admiral's Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a romantic place to be, lovely georgian building steeped in history.Its a must see when visiting Antigua. we found during the day everything we needed was in walking distance. The bars and restaurants are all between Falmouth Harbour and English harbour.There is a boat to connect to the restaurants across the water near galley bay ,the french one is superb fine dining and the other two are superb value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Everyone got bread except us... The wine was lovely but I didn't enjoy the food. Duck in noodles.... No it was chewy cardboard in rice. Shame... Food let the place down. The staff were friendly and the surroundings stunning. I would go back for a drink but not a meal.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PippaKHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gina p, Manager at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to make this review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the food and we take this seriously. This gives us an opportunity to take steps to ensure that we have our fresh homemade bread ready earlier and make some changes in the kitchen preparation especially for this particular duck dish. You certainly deserve to have an enjoyable meal in a beautiful setting. We invite you to contact us directly via phone or email. Perhaps you can visit again and have a better dining experience. Reviews like yours help us to keep working on our product and with the aim to constantly improve. Please continue to let us know how we are progressing.
warm regards,
the Admirals Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of a sailing trip to Antigua and we loved it. The room was spacious, had A/C and a ceiling fan, plenty of room for baggage and clothes, functional en suite bathroom.
The location is great, right in the Nelson Dockyard, and a short walk to the beach or to the "other marina" (Falmouth). Lots of quaint little bars and restaurants near by. Try out the "Caribbean Taste" just around the corner for a wonderful dining experience. Try "The Blues Shack" when you've had enough of reggae music or steel band :-)
We tried the restaurant of the hotel one evening and we were pleasantly surprised with the quality! Had the catch of the day and it was delicious! Also the desserts were awesome.
Be prepared to relax - this is the Caribbean... AND the service was very friendly and professional (they helped us out very quickly when we needed to book a flight.)

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 - and it worked very well - even if it is right over the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frodefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Located in English Harbour the Admirals Inn restaurant is a must if you visit Antigua.
Set in a spectacular national park,the hotel is a wonderful eighteenth century building.
The dining is by the water,en terrace open but protected from the sun and rain.
We had a rum punch at the bar before sitting down for dinner.
The food and service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I made the mistake of renting a Standard room in the main building. Because of the open-air layout of the building, this means mosquitoes can and did get into my room. I found I had difficulty falling asleep due to mosquitoes buzzing around my head. Every morning when I woke up I found I had a few new mosquito bites that weren’t there the night before. Bottom line: Make sure you go for the Moderate or Superior room instead!

Room Tip: To avoid mosquitoes, make sure you choose a Moderate or Superior room. Do NOT choose a Standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingIsVeryFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
12.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Point Antigua
South Point Antigua
#2 of 4 in English Harbour
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
580 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,297 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Property: Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique hotel set in a secluded section of 18th century Nelson's Dockyard, offering casual elegance and friendly, personal service, provides the perfect backdrop for relaxation, romance, special events and being active if you choose.The 23 rooms and suites are housed in 4 historic buildings on the waterfront and a headland 100 yards across the bay. The hotel offers a small non-swimming beach, spectacular infinity edged pool, a spa and two excellent open-air restaurants, Pillars and Boom. There is a complimentary boat shuttle to the swimming beach in Freeman's Bay and kayaks to explore the harbour. The perfect hotel for relaxing in peace and quiet or for finding plenty of activities (sailing, scuba diving, hiking, snorkeling, yoga) and fun (several restaurants and nightlife) only 5 - 10 minutes away. A great spot for honeymoons and weddings for 2 to 200. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites Antigua/English Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing