We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem! We could have stayed forever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gem! We could have stayed forever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

We stayed at the Copper and Lumber Store Hotel for two weeks, to await the arrival of our son, who was rowing across the Atlantic on his own and then to recover once he'd arrived! Stress levels were high as we waited for him, but the hotel staff couldn't have been kinder. Gillian is a gem, and the other staff also very attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We were helped to organise everything we needed for Sam's arrival as well as anything else we needed for our own stay.
Our room was magnificent - a glorious view of the harbour from the sitting area and a view over the delightful inner courtyard from the sleeping area. It was a large, tastefully restored studio room with cooking facilities and we couldn't have been more comfortable. Full of history, character and atmosphere but with all the facilities we needed, and beautifully kept with daily cleaning.
The location is stunning with enough to see and do in the area for a short stay, and easy access to buses and taxis if you want to see more of the island. Nelsons Dockyard itself is fascinating and beautifully restored. Being a secure area very peaceful and protected as well. All the locals were incredibly helpful and friendly.
The hotel didn't offer evening meals, but we didn't mind as there are so many good restaurants to try locally. We had a good breakfast in the hotel every day. and on the occasions when we had lunch there, we were perfectly satisfied.
When our son arrived, after 75 days at sea, the hotel staff were as excited as we were, and couldn't do too much for us, even to the extent of finding a recipe for Apple Crumble on the internet and making it for Sam - he had requested it while at sea as he was craving the taste of fruit!
We had a perfect stay; the accommodation couldn't have been bettered, the hotel staff were magnificent and the local people couldn't have been more welcoming. The fact that we weren't very relaxed much of the time was down to the circumstances of our visit but we will definitely return for a proper holiday (and I suspect it will be more than once - I could have stayed there forever! I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone although it is perhaps a bit quite for children and teenagers.

  • Liked — Location, sympathetically restored historic building, great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BoxTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
60
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay at The Copper & Lumber Store Hotel. We were there February 26 - March 3, 2008. We had a wonderful time, and would recommend the hotel to anyone that likes history, boat harbor views and quiet charm. The hotel is located inside restored historic Nelson's Dockyard. We parked near the security entrance, and walked the short road to the hotel and harbor. It was very easy to find once we were inside the dockyard. We were warmly greeted by a very friendly young man at the front desk, and shown to the Africa Room, a Georgian suite facing the harbor. The rooms were simply but nicely appointed. The large bedroom was on an upper floor, and the bed was fine. I was worried when I first entered the suite, because it smelled quite musty. However, once the windows were opened, the sea breezes took care of that. We had no problems with it after that. The pluses of this hotel were many. We loved the feeling of staying in a building full of history. We enjoyed the harbor views, and the super convenience on being a few paces from a fantastic museum and restored working dockyard. The location was great. We took a few short hikes right from the hotel to an abandoned fort and Pigeon Beach. We were a short stroll from some great restaurants. Le Cap Horn (French) and abracadabra (Seafood and Italian) were our favorites. Since the streets are narrow and not well labeled, we were glad not to have drive at night. The rooms were well cleaned daily, and the desk staff was friendly. The negatives were few, but the furnishings were somewhat in need of refurbishing. The two wing chairs were badly stained, maybe due to moisture problems. There is no restaurant for dinner. I guess they are trying to find someone to run it. They did serve breakfast and lunch, but we would recommend against it. Our first day we tried a continental breakfast (not included with our room) and it was mediocre. The woman serving us was the worst waitress I have ever seen. She was unhelpful, slow, curt and called me "Your Highness" under her breath. After that we bought breakfast food, and very much enjoyed eating at a table in our sitting room overlooking the harbor. It worked out just fine. If you love history and the boating scene, this is a find.

  • Liked — Historical setting, harbor views, proximity to excellant restaurants
  • Disliked — Somewhat worn, bad waitress
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

We had the pleasure of spending the first night and last night of our two week trip to Antigua and BVI at the Copper and Lumber Store. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome and at home. We were fortunate enough to be there during the arrival of participants of the Atlantic Rowing Race and were quickly drawn into the excitement and celebration. Our rooms were a delightful combination of history and comfort. On our final night we stayed in a Georgian Suite which was stunning. Gillian and the all the staff made our time with them seem all too short and we look forward to returning on our next visit to Antigua.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting and historical significance of the building and location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMTravellersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

After an exhaustive search, viewing hotel websites, reading many Trip Advisor reviews & then a recommendation from a TripAdvisor local expert, I inquired directly about availability via the internet. The responses were prompt, polite & professional. Gillian was the primary contact but all the staff were helpful. After patiently answering all my questions, I booked 2 nights (5/11-5/12/07)
The hotel is within the historic Nelson's Dockyard / English Harbour. Upon arrival, you feel the history everywhere. The hotel has been constructed / restored to provide a perfect balance of history & modern convenience. The wonderful experience starts in the lobby where you are warmly greeted like a small B&B. The decorations & housekeeping were immaculate. The wooden floors gleamed as if still wet with varnish. I stayed in the Britannia Suite. It overlooked the harbour (E-SE) and was arranged with comfort as its main goal. It was quiet, clean, airconditioned plus fan, with a small kitchette (fridge, sink, coffee maker, etc), full sofa/seating area, small table for drinks/eating and a separate bedroom area. The wonderful wooden floors, exposed stone and proper historic touches were balanced with all the expected working stuff ie; lights, plumbing, etc. The bathroom was fun with a wood lined shower, brass fixtures and tile floors.
The bed was very comfortable and I had 2 very good nights of sleep. I also ate continental breakfast on consecutive mornings sitting outside in the restaurant patio. The breakfast included coffee/tea. juices/milk, yogurt, cereals, toast, etc. Filling and got me off to a good start. I was very busy so I did not linger in the hotel during the day. I did get a chance to enjoy the sights while enjoying a happy hour in the room on day 2 + sunrise laying in bed.
I can't say enough about the hospitality of the staff especially Gillian who answered every question, made sure everything went well, were friendly and professional throughout my stay.
The whole experience reminded me of the best B&Bs in the states with the exception of that full home cooked breakfast & sitting around the table with other guests.
It was a perfect introduction to Antigua and exceeded my expectation for a place to stay in the English Harbour area.
I would stay here again without hesitation plus recommend to others.

  • Liked — Design and presentation of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing really......maybe an internet area for guests
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Chuteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2003

This was a real no-frills, do-nothing escape. No phone, no interruptions, just sit back and relax! Lay around the open air lobby or take the water taxi to a secluded beach on the other side of the bay. The little pub was great, super place to mingle with the locals. Sits right next to the maritime history museum, so there is some interesting reading to be done.
The location is right smack dab in the middle of the harbor, so if you like to walk around sailboats and yachts from around the world and rub elbows with their crew, this is the spot! Heck, most of the time, no one answered the hotel phone...so it's a great place to escape the rat race and get away from the real world for a while!

Helpful?
11 Thank KIMOTOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
0.3 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
0.2 mi away
The Inn at English Harbour
The Inn at English Harbour
#1 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
South Point Antigua
South Point Antigua
#2 of 4 in English Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sugar Ridge
Sugar Ridge
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel

Property: The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel
Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Copper and Lumber Store Hotel is a beautiful intimate Antiguan Hotel where the laid back charm and rich culture of the Caribbean blends with the colonial history of Antigua to create a luxurious romantic Antigua hotel in a unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Copper And Lumber Store Hotel Antigua/English Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing