We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Shirley Heights
from $57.00
More Info
from $76.00
More Info
from $76.00
More Info
from $190.00
More Info
Reviews (2,469)
Filter reviews
2,469 results
Traveler rating
1,337
740
276
74
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,337
740
276
74
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steel band sunday night live band watch the sunset beautiful sunset great view great music great party rum punch great night chicken party atmosphere sunset party sunday bbq food and drinks ribs burger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 2,469 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2019

This is one of the best scenic views in all Antigua! It took our breath away. A must see when you take a tour of the island.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank sunscrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

This place is a lovely spot to go to see the sunset and to take in the history of the site. The story of the signal station is brought alive by the buildings and the remnants of the quarters, hospital and cemetry.

We walked down the lookout trail to Galleon Beach to get away from the crowds (c.30 mins and pretty easy, my wife was in flip flops). Look out for the 18th century anchor on the beach and whilst you are there have a beer from the shack on the lovely beach.

Now for the bad bit, the Sunday night event. If you do not mind sharing the site with up to 500 people, eating food that has been prepared 2-3 hrs earlier (I'm an EHO!) and trying to get out safely afterwards with masses of minibuses frantically exiting the site then carry on. I felt so sorry for the steel band who were actually very good.

This is definitely NOT a caribbean street party; if you want that go to Gros Islet (St Lucia) on a Friday night. Shirely Heights is nothing like this and it does the Antiguan culture a complete dis-service. SO AVOID

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank RootinTootin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

We did not go on Sunday after visiting this location on another tour. I cannot image how crowded this place is on Sundays as it is a relatively small area. We went during the week and the views are amazing. There were vendors selling local goods and there is a restaurant on site. We did not eat here so cannot speak to the food.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank wabrn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

We went on a Sunday night. It is very busy but worth it. Food is great. They have Bands and it is tons of fun.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

We took the tour from Sandals Grande Antigua. Total cost was 90 US and then another 10 to get into the final party site. There were preliminary stops at various British army fort ruins that overlook the harbor. It would have been great to have had a tour of those ruins with a trained guide to gain some historical perspective. But it was all about getting us to the final party site where we could spend more money on touristy gifts and some great but pricy bbq. Don’t get me wrong, we are glad we did it, as the view and sunset did not disappoint, but it was crowded and seating to be able to eat was extremely limited. I’d probably hire a local taxi driver next time and get a more personal experience.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Reno53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews