We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular 360 view!”
Review of Shirley Heights

Shirley Heights
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Round Island Tour
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Shirley Heights Lookout
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hills overlooking the Dockyard on the east, named after the governor who built the fortifications.
Queens, New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Spectacular 360 view!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely drive up to the lookout leads to a fabulous view of Antigua and the surrounding islands. Stop for a drink at the Lookout bar and take in the history of Antigua and it's independence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RangerGirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    564
    225
    60
    29
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Have Patience”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

What a miserable lot the nine groups that reported the experience at Shirley Heights as Terrible and Poor, all you need is a bit of patience and the crowd dies down the spaces are created and the fantastic steel and reggae bands take off.
Granted when we first arrived it was chaos and we thought that we had made a mistake but we stuck at it and the crowds thinned allowing sitting, space at the bar and food serving outlets.
We had arranged for the taxi to pick us up again at 9pm and would loved to have stayed until the bands finish at 10pmish.
The steel band that played for some three hours solid was outstanding followed by a very versatile reggae band that got the whole crowd going, our family group ranged from 25 years to 60 years old and we all loved the whole experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank allen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A beautiful view”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A beautiful attraction, well worth the journey. We went on a Thursday at the beginning of the season, so there was nothing open, but the view is spectacular and well worth it. You can get a cab to take you to Nelsons dock, then upto the look out, then on to Shirley heights. Make you feel like a true pirate! This cost us about $80.
Go on a clear evening so you can see the green flash

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyTurtle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Trust me if you have not checked this place out yet please do it. The views are stunning and the bands are excellent. Trust me go and find out for yourself. A word of advice though be wary of the bbq chicken!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SO much FUN!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

loved to the relaxed atmosphere, fantastic band, Itchy Feet - and the great BBQ food. Danced the night away - songs old and new - so MUCH fun!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RaewynVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley Heights also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Saint Philip Parish, Antigua
Saint Philip Parish, Antigua
 

Been to Shirley Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing