We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Post Card Views”
Review of Shirley Heights

Shirley Heights
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Round Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hills overlooking the Dockyard on the east, named after the governor who built the fortifications.
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
212 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Post Card Views”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a must see on the Antigua visitor list. Check for the Lime (word for party) take your camera! the view is spectacular. It's the same one you see in the all the ads and you can take your own photo or ask someone to shoot a picture of you with your camera.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cybdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    537
    213
    58
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
451 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Nice View...”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You get a very nice view of the harbour from up there, but the Shirley Heights party was full of tourists a couple vendors, a barbecue, and a small band. I was expecting a bit more local flavor but it was quite disappointing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

if you only do 1 thing in antigua,then take a trip to shirley heights on a sunday evening.the views are spectacular and as the sun sets it is absolotely breath taking.you can dance to the steel band and then party to a reggae band afterwards,there is a barbecue on site and all the food is freshly cooked,however i found it expensive.there is also a bar that serves local and international alchol and soft drinks and this is reasonably priced.however we didnt go for that we went for the pure and astounding views and the beautiful sunset.unfortnately we didnt get tosee the green flash.look that up online and you will know what i mean.you have got to go to this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank markfretwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
697 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Good views”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely views but we didn't go on Sunday night when apparently it is a wonderful atmosphere. Food and music very good apparently on a Sunday. We only had quiet views

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Night!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were not sure whether to go to Shirley Heights or not but are so glad we did!
Our hotel did a shuttle on Sunday evenings leaving at 4 and returning for 8.30. We paid about $30 for the shuttle & $8 per person for the entry. A couple of other people from our hotel went along & we all became friendly which was great :-)

There were lots of people when we arrived, locals & holiday makers. There was steel drums playing until about 8pm. There was a barbecue & bar so plenty of food & drinks to buy - prices were good!
There were also stalls selling jewellery & gifts etc.
The atmosphere was very good, everyone was enjoying themselves!
When the steel drums stopped playing about 8pm a DJ came on & played a mixture of music which was really good - lots of people were dancing!
It goes on until about 10pm so some people stayed on instead if getting the hotel shuttle & just got a taxi back.

We would definitely recommend Shirley Heights for a fun Sunday evening whole you are in Antigua!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayAndZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley Heights also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
 

Been to Shirley Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing