We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful and Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at English Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Garrison, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Inn, the beach, the pool, the spa, and the food were simply magnificent. But most of all ... the ambience sets this Inn apart from anyplace else. It is a tranquil and quiet retreat where gentle waves and beautiful views combine for the perfect atmosphere. The second floor suite we occupied was comfortable beyond belief. Our son joined us for our stay and he booked a Beach Cabana. It too was beautiful with a breathtaking view of English Harbor and fronting right on the bay. The dinners were sumptuously prepared. They prepared special dishes for my wife who is a strict vegan ... all were delicious and unique. Be sure to spend a few minutes to find the organic garden off the road behind the tennis courts and speak to Kentee, the head gardener. He is a wealth of knowledge about the garden and about the beneficial properties of the island herbs that are grown there. Much of the Inn's vegetables, salad ingredients and herbs come straight from this organic garden each day --- fresh from the Inn's garden can't be beat! Stunning vistas are everywhere on the property -- between the guest room buildings, near the pool, at the Terrace Restaurant, and even along the road down the hill between the Terrace Restaurant and the guestroom buildings. Go to the Inn at English Harbor ... you will enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kudutld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    54
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
238
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a lovely hotel this is. We flew in last week from the UK to spend 4 nights here. From the minute you arrive at the hotel to the minute you leave, the staff are so attentive, efficient and friendly. Our room, food, location all excellent. Thanks to Fabio and Christina for making us feel so welcome. Next time we fly back to Antigua we will look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie572005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived on the 10 th of May and stayed for 7 nights. The upstairs suite room was spacious and had everything we needed. The view out to sea was perfect from the large balcony/deck.
Breakfast was taken at the Reef beach bar and was good but could have had a better selection of fruit/fresh juices.( very erratic, some days mangos on display, bananas etc some days just melon. One of the waiters brought us some mangos from his home)
Lunch was at the same place and was,again,good but menu could have changed a bit daily to vary things.
The bed was quite small compared to what we are used to in 5 star accommodation.

The above are the reasons for the 4 star not 5

None of the above were deal breakers and none of these minor gripes would stop us from revisiting this wonderful resort.

The situation is perfect (5 min taxi/ferry to English Harbour) the beach/sea are fabulous, the staff were so friendly and attentive and the Terrace restaurant was perfect for a romantic,quality,meal for those nights when you didn't want to go out.

All in all a fabulous experience, we would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank challenger317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just had a fantastic 8 days at The Inn. We have stayed in many resorts around the world and The Inn is right up there with the best. Stunning location and beach. Wonderfully friendly staff - special thanks to Neil, Sherilyn, Josephine, Sheena, Vere and their colleagues for making it a special stay. This place is a real jewel and we will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emyr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is our first TripAdvisor review, but seeing as how TripAdvisor tipped us off to this hotel, we'd feel remiss if we didn't tell about our stay. We celebrated the second week of our honeymoon at The Inn during the first week of April, having come from a larger, 5*, name brand hotel on another nearby island. Upon arrival, we quickly realized that The Inn had everything we were hoping for--an amazing staff, phenomenal food, outstanding drinks, and genuine, warm hospitality. We stayed in a beautifully decorated upstairs room which was known as the 'Price Albert suite.' The room was enormous and had dark hardwood floors and a wrap around porch which we used each morning for our coffee. Being an adults only hotel, it felt like our own little slice of paradise; there was hardly any noise, people on the beach, or any annoyances. When I think of paradise, The Inn is what I imagine.

A special thank you to Fabio and Christian, all the upstairs restaurant staff, and everyone working on the beach. You made our honeymoon truly unforgettable, and we cannot wait to visit again (hopefully for our first anniversary)!

Brian and Lindsay
Los Angeles, Calif.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel, and you can't go wrong with any of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHarbour, General Manager at The Inn at English Harbour, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Brian and Lindsay,
Thank you for your kind compliments. A honeymoon is a very important vacation in everyone’s life, with great expectations and excitement. We are very happy to learn that you had a great time with us and I am sure memories of this trip will stay with you forever. Your room was a special one as it is used by the Prince and Princess of Monaco when staying with us, hopefully you felt a bit likes a royalty while sipping your tea from the large terrace.
Thank you again from all of us.

Fabio Giorgi
General Manager
The Inn at English Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Simply stunning !
The rooms are perfect, the setting perfect and the staff amazing.
If you want to get away and relax as I did, this us the place to do it.
I will definitely be going back next time I visit Antigua !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathewandmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/Orange County
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location close to Nelson's Dockyard and Shirley Heights. Would definitely recommend to others.

Positives:
-Water taxi will take you to Nelson's Harbour for lunch
-Spacious and comfortable rooms with outside daybeds
-Plenty of sun loungers next to the pool and at beach
-A la carte breakfast menu in addition to
-Excellent views of the harbor from the Terrace restaurant
-Great bay for swimming/kayaking/relaxing
-Small hotel so very intimate feeling and private beach
-beautiful setting and well maintained grounds

Negatives:
-Staff was inconsistent. A couple real gems and a few that seemed to resent working.
-loved watching the sailboats going in and out of the harbor.

Advice:
Ask for Oris for taxi services. He was awesome.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGal415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
9.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
10.2 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
5.4 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Property: The Inn at English Harbour
Address: Freeman's Bay, English Harbour, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, West Indies and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel
The Inn At English Harbour Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing