We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Pops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I visited this wonderful hotel, very close to Nelson's dockyard.

It was a first class experience, the rooms were lovely and immaculately
clean, the restaurant in the main building had amazing panoramic views
over the sea.

The breakfast and lunch restaurant is on the beach with
the water lapping up in front of you, the food, service and staff were
excellent.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrederickCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 410 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came back a little later (mid April) than our stay last year in March. The staff are still very good indeed and the setting can be reasonably described as superb. Our beach cabana room was just as nice as the previous visit although more convenient for the breakfast and lunch restaurant. The boatman will still ferry you quickly around into the historic dockyard or to lunch at Catherine's French Restuarant. The beach is long, clean and great for swimming or paddling. Last year the evening meals in the main dining room were a gourmet delight but something has changed because the food is still very good but not quite up to the mark we expected. What has happened to the wonderful Swiss chef we met last year? He was not at the managers drinks party this year and could his absence have something to do with the fall in standard of cuisine? The internet access needs some work too (and the team know this). Access is not great except at reception but this is a minor quibble. So maybe the kitchen staff are tired at the end of high season but this apart it remains one of our favourite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: If you like to step out onto the beach go for the beach cabana rooms but book early they are the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a short honeymoon trip to The Inn and we had the best time! It was relaxing and immaculate. The staff was super nice and always helpful. Christina gave great suggestions on where to go out for dinner and Wesley made our first night's dinner very special with champagne. The food at the restaurants was delicious and as we're the drinks. The pool/beach are was a little quiet but we liked that. There are some fun bars/restaurants close by if you want some time that's a bit more lively as well. We highly recommend and hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe ocean suite - spacious and very nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melanie457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just spent 10 days at the Inn. One of the best all round hotels we have stayed in. Unusually, for us, would definitely consider a return. Excellent room, excellent staff, beautiful beach, pretty good food. Lovely weather. No children. What more can one say.

Room Tip: Any would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went for a romantic getaway and chose this property based on a T&L package I found in addition to the reviews I read online. Everything was as advertised. Our room was beautifully furnished with an oversized balcony looking out towards the ocean. All of the furnishings were perfect for the environment and very comfortable. The breakfast and lunches were good and the dinners were terrific. The level of service and attentiveness of the staff was exceptional. While I would not come here with my kids, if you are looking for the perfect quite getaway for some adults you will have a very difficult time finding a better fit.

The Spa/Gym could use some help but we managed to get a great workout in anyway. After that, we pretty much talked ourselves out of anything other than enjoying the beach, the food and alot of R&R.

I was very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend the property.

Room Tip: We had room 31, a Junior Sweet. It has a spacious balcony that looked directly towards the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MYancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my first trip to the Caribbean and I wasn't sure what to expect but I absolutely fell in love with The Inn at English Harbour. The hotel is beautifully decorated with really spacious bedrooms (biggest hotel bedrooms I've ever seen) which are simply and tastefully furnished with dark wooden furniture and crisp white sheets - simple and sophisticated. The bedrooms come with a large outdoor terrace and balcony, a really peaceful place to sit out in the evening while you look over the gardens which are extensive!!

The hotel itself is so tranquil you can't help but relax. There's just 28 bedrooms so it never feels crowded and there's always space by the pool or beach (which is beautiful - comfy loungers and people on hand with water whenever you need it). The hotel has lots of land so the reception and Terrace restaurant are high up with incredible views over the bay, and you can walk or take a one minute shuttle down to the bedrooms. This added to the overall feel of lots of space at the hotel!

The restaurants of the hotel are lovely - the upstairs Terrace restaurant is more formal and good for couples, and the Reef restaurant where you have breakfast and/or lunch has incredible food - the tuna nicoise salad is delicious and the breakfast incredible. The staff here are brilliant, so friendly and naturally interested - nothing is too big an ask for them.

The best thing about the hotel I think is that you don't feel 'trapped' in a hotel in the Caribbean - as it's on English Harbour its a really good location from which to explore, whether its boat spotting or getting the free shuttle across the bay. I think it's a great option for those who want a stunning place to relax but are keen to see what the incredible island has on offer. The concierge, Cristina is so kind and helpful and on hand to help you decide what you should do with your time while on island. The General Manager and Marketing Manager are so enthusiastic and will do anything they can to make your stay as wonderful as possible. All during our stay other guests were commenting on how wonderful the hotel was - they really couldn't fault it!

The only bad thing about the Inn at English Harbour is that you'll feel incredibly sad when you leave!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannah87London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited the Inn in March and had a fabulous time. Perfectly situated for visits to English Harbour and surrounding areas,it is a top quality hotel and with no children its blissfully peaceful. Rooms are large and food is good. The current drought means the gardens are not at their best but they are still beautiful. The beach gets a build up of stones and shingle at the waters edge which is cleared occasionally but is still good to look at and walk on with large stretches of well maintained sand. A great pool and plenty of sun loungers plus all day drinks service make for really relaxing and enjoyable days. The staff are superb and make sure you have a good time. I would particularly like to thank Glenda and Tamara in the beach restaurant, Orchidea and Rocio at the beach,Shelly in the terrace restaurant, Christina who helped us with every little query, Wesley for his charm at meal times and of course Neil who is the coolest dude and the best barman ever. Finally thanks to Fabio for keeping it all running so well. If you are looking for a high quality, small and peaceful hotel in a perfect setting this is for you. We stayed in room 28 which is a deluxe room with a huge deck and a perfect panoramic view of the whole beach and gardens down to the sea.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are huge with sun loungers on the large terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
238 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
482 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,037 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Address: Freeman's Bay, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range: $494 - $945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel
The Inn At English Harbour Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing