We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Cafe Napoleon

Cafe Napoleon
Ranked #21 of 104 Restaurants in St. John's
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautifully nestled in the heart of Historic Redcliffe Quay in St. John's, Cafe Napoleon was formerly an old sugar warehouse by a busy dockside. Sympathetically renovated, the restaurant serves a cosmopolitan menu using the finest fresh, local fish, meat, vegetables & fruits. The homemade desserts are just mouthwatering! Dont want to eat, then just chill with a Cocktail in the new Lounge Bar looking out at the beuatiful gardens and watersedge. You can be certain of the warmest of welcomes and excellent customer service from owner, Lisa and her team.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Tucked away in what I suspect are old warehouses down by the port, this is a lovely little cafe/bistro we came across while wandering the streets of St John's. It is in a lovely quiet position and the lady who owns it was wonderfully friendly and chatty. The coffee was pretty good too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeBaronRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    52
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Service, Charming Place”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent spot for breakfast or lunch. The sandwiches are delicious and the hamburgers are to die for. My daughter loves the fish and chips or the chicken bites with chips. The salads are fantastic.
They are very good with kids and very accommodating to changes on their dishes (always good when travelling with kids).
Staff is very friendly and attentive. The drinks alcoholic or not are great and refreshing.
The location is great: a little nook under palm trees. Very relaxing.
Totally worth stoping by at least once when in Antigua.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good drinks, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had some fresh smoothies, which were very good. Then my fish and chips were pretty bad- really greasy, to the point of being almost inedible. My husband had a burger, which he enjoyed. The waitress was very sweet and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcast79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had our first lunch in Antigua at Cafe Napoleon. The outdoor seating was pleasant and the food was good. The conch fritters were excellent and I really enjoyed the Antiguan Plate (a mix of a few local dishes). Australian Ice Cream is right next door and makes for a nice refreshing desert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cafe Napoleon is Dee-lish”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I came down to the cafe and found it hidden in the trees behind a historic part of the St. John's Antigua in an area called Redcliffe Quay. The food i ordered was the calimari and the crispy chicken. Really well spiced (but not too hot spicy). Lots of flavour. The cocktails were cold, tasty (and with a kick). The location is really cozy under the tall palms. Loved it. Found this photo of the same food I had. Thumbs UP.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbyB3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Napoleon also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Cafe Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing