We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
parkton Md
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 16, 2008

My wife and I took a big bite out of lovely Antigua, traveling every day to a different destination and beach. The dining was excellent and we even cooked in 2 nights on the grill after a long day in the sun. The beautiful setting and accommodations of the perfect Yepton Estate cottage made this one of our best of many island experiences. Gabby and Douglas helped so much with directions and making dining and excursion reservations. It was fun sharing the many experiences with them. The cottage provided us a roomy home away from home, from which to base our travels. This is a beautiful place and we will be back.

  • Liked — Independence to cook in or go out and basically do what we wanted.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
291
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2008

If you want a swim-up bar, karaoke night, and a beach outside your door packed with plastic lounge chairs, then Yepton is not for you. If your preferred nightlife is barbecuing on your porch to the sound of crickets and faint rolling surf in the distance, you're in the right place.

My husband and I spent a week at Yepton to celebrate our tenth anniversary. Gabi and Douglas were as helpful, sweet and accommodating as described in the multitude of 5-star reviews here. My husband plays cricket, and Douglas even found him a spot on the local cricket team to play a match against England for the day. Not many concierges could arrange that! Gabi steered us to a nice eco-tour of the North Sound and helped us narrow our choice of restaurants. Douglas oriented us with a map of the island and let us in on a lesser-known beach that was the best either of us has ever seen in travels around the world. Somehow they did all of this without being obtrusive. They anticipated what we needed, listened to us, gave suggestions or made arrangements, and then seemed to disappear. They are a true delight and a rarity in the hospitality industry.

A few things about the cottage and property. The king bed was high quality, as were the linens. There is enough breathing room between the cottages that you don't feel too close to your neighbors. There are only four cottages, and although they were all occupied, we didn't see much of the other guests. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking, and Gabi offered that if there was anything (e.g. spices) that we needed and didn't want to buy in quantity at the store, we should ask her. There is high-speed internet access in each cottage, which worked very well with our laptop. If you bring an iPod, Gabi gives you a cable to hook it up to the stereo.

There is a cooler for taking drinks and picnics to the beach, a cell phone which can receive international calls for free and can be used for local calling on the island, beach chairs, towels and a sun umbrella. Although weather reports tend to say "cloudy" every day this time of year, the clouds are spotty with plenty of sunshine in between. During our week, there was only one day that had significant rain. On most days there was a single downpour that lasted a few minutes, often at night. Otherwise, there was plenty of sun and consistent temperatures in the low 80s.

It's advisable to rent a car. Gabi recommended a good local company which worked well for us. We got a four-wheel-drive Daihatsu Terios. It was rugged enough to handle the massive potholes and gave us a higher vantage point while searching for street signs and landmarks in unfamiliar territory.

Another tip: purchase the dinner and breakfast "starter kits" Gabi offers. We got the steaks for dinner which were the best food we had the whole week, and it saved us the hassle of shopping or finding a restaurant the first night. Epicurean is the grocery store where you'll find a wide selection of American and international brands, but go to the local markets for produce. On Wednesday and Friday nights there is a van (Chippy Antigua) that serves fish & chips rivaling the best we've ever had. Gabi can tell you where it is. Actually, it's near the Sandals resort but there was nary a Sandals guest there. Again, back to the theme. If you really want to experience Antigua, Yepton is your answer. You get immediate "insider" knowledge of the best things to do and what to avoid. We hope to come back to Antigua one day, and we can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — cleanliness, bright modern design, full kitchen
  • Disliked — faint music could be heard in the distance on Fri/Sat nights, however weeknights were serene
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank balt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We arrived in St. John early evening on March 1st 2008 and with the directions that Gabby emailed we drove straight to Yepton Cottages with no problem. When we arrived Douglas scooped up our luggage and delivered them to the cottage while Gabby poured my husband and me a glass of wine as we made our introductions.

The next morning Gabby took us grocery shopping and when we returned Douglas sat down with us on our lovely front porch and went over the entire island map.

The cottage was very well equipped with every kitchen tool you could imagine. The cottage was spotless; it was truly a home away from home. My only regret is that we didn’t book it for two weeks!!!

Both Gabby and Douglas have so much knowledge to share about Antigua and they know every inch from one gorgeous beach to another. Every restaurant that they suggested was perfect. You must try Papa Zukes you won’t be served fillers but I will guarantee the best fish dishes ever!!

Many thanks to Gabby and Douglas for taking such good care of us, they were always their when you needed them but always respected our privacy. We hope to return someday soon.

Robbi and Greg Maycock
Orient, Ohio

  • Liked — Very clean and well equiped. Four cottages so no people traffic!!!
  • Disliked — I can't think of a think I would change
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO AREA
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2008

My husband and I just got back from our stay at Antigua’s Yepton Estate cottages. We were there for 12 nights and had a wonderful time. “Cottage” is not a grand enough word for the accommodations. While they are small, perfect for two, the quality of the amenities surpassed our expectations and we had read the past, glowing reports closely. These are not rustic cabins but new, clean, high-quality structures filled with nicer appliances than you may have at home.

We really appreciated the high speed internet access and the large quantity of cable TV stations. After dark, we liked to relax after a long day at the beach, make a light dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen and veg out.

The owners, Gabriela and Douglas treat you like family and are the most helpful owners we have met in the 15+ years that we have been traveling around the various islands. They are warm, extremely helpful and want to make sure that you have a good time. If we make it back to Antigua, we will definitely stay at Yepton Estate cottages.

  • Liked — the cleanliness and the great bird watching
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LEONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

We have recently returned from a 16 day stay at Yepton, and can not praise it highly enough. I booked on the internet and was nervous as to whether it would live up to our expectations, I need not have worried as it surpassed these. The cottages are beautifully situated, extrtemely well equipped and comfortable in every way. Gabby and Douglas were extremely helpful and gracious hosts, and helped us whenever we needed it, they could not have done more. We hired a car which you really need, again arranged by Gabby. We particulary loved the outlook from the cottages, the sound of the sea and the constant fascination of the wildlife on the lake. We have always stayed in hotel before on Antigua but would never do that again, this holiday gave us peace and solitude and the freedom to eat when and where we liked, in addition to getting out and about and meeting many islanders, who are great. We highly recommend Yepton for a peaceful and unforgettable holiday

  • Liked — peaceful and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank metson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2008

All the reviews I read were right on target! Gabby and Douglas are wonderful, helpful, thoughtful, considerate...I could go on and on. We got out of the taxi and our luggage was wisked away to our cottages. The cottages are precious. Everything you could ever need are in them. We were so well taken care of. The flowers smelled wonderfully at night, the ocean could be heard, the birds..just wonderful.

I suggest renting a car if you are staying a while, you must get a taxi otherwise. Get in contact with Gabby and Douglas for a trip of a lifetime.

  • Liked — Cozy cottages
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TaraOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2008

From the moment of arrival it becomes obvious that this is a very
professional operation.
Gabby and Douglas were waiting at Yepton's gate for us at 9pm; (I had e-mailed from London to say our flight was delayed and we would be arriving later than expected and they thanked me for the e-mail).
Before I had paid the taxi, our luggage had quietly disappeared to our cottage with Douglas on his little cart. Within two minutes of arriving we had a cold beer and a glass of wine in our hands.
Our check-in at Yepton was quick, efficient, and painless.
Gabby is a better concierge than I have dealt with in some five star hotels; if you need help - she is there in a non-intrusive way.
We had asked for dinner and breakfast starter packs; these were in the fridge with a welcome bottle of wine. It is difficult to find anything to say about Yepton that hasn't been said
in other reviews. We thought the bed was very good and the cottages where of an excellent standard, double hammock on the porch, huge citronella candle on the table outside to discourage the insects. Bring some insect repellent with you if you want to eat outside as we did most nights.

We rented a jeep for the two weeks we were there, (Gabby will do this for you) which we think is probably the best way to see the island as the roads are not that great and a lot of the quieter beaches are down dirt tracks (also there are very few road signs) - if you like a bit of adventure you'll love it.
Douglas highlighted on the map how to negotiate St John's and find the supermarkets.
You drive past the cruise ships as you go into St Johns; we saw P & O's Oriana, Oceana, and the QE2 on the same day.

If you need entertaining, if you want all inclusive drinks and food,
if you want to pal up with Donny and Debbie from Doncaster --- go to Sandals,
If you want some quiet time with your partner in quality detached
cottage accommodation, surrounded by bird life, write to Gabby.

Us? --- We'll stick with Yepton.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Dancingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#9 of 15 in St. John's
1,168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 21 in St. John's
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Property: Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
Address: Yepton Estates | Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yepton Estate Cottages is an award-winning private property on a bird sanctuary that hosts the rare West Indian Whistling Duck and other birds from many continents. Yepton Beach is within a 6-minute walk. All cottages have king beds, fully equipped kitchenettes, Cable TV, DVD player with free movies, electronic safe, FREE WIFI and much more. The cottages are ideal for the all-inclusive-weary and nature lovers who like to explore the island and all her wonderful beaches and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua`s Yepton Estate Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing