We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest and have a cold drink.”
Review of Cheers Antigua

Cheers Antigua
Ranked #78 of 103 Restaurants in St. John's
Restaurant details
Washington, Ga
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to rest and have a cold drink.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant was a nice place to rest after a day of shopping/sight seeing on a cruise stop. Staff were friendly and prices were about what you would expect to pay at any bar. The free Wi-Fi was a little iffy. They gave us the code, but we never could get connected. We saw a few people connected, but most of us were walking around trying to get a better signal strength. Still a good resting spot and watch the hair braiders next door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    13
    6
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little stop when shopping the Duty Free Zone”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The beer and cold beverages were excellent on a hot day of shopping the Duty Free Zone. It was nice to site and watch the by passers and see the water as well.

Stop in for a drink, they have free Wifi as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We thought the bill was in EC$.....”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had four luminous pink rum punches. The bill came to $32. We thought this was $32 East Caribbean dollars.... But no! They wanted US! Shocking!
There's a round yellow bar across the street where we had lunch and beer for two for US$12. The staff were lovely and the customers mainly locals. Much better!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarysiaRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“price rip off.dont go here, go accross the road.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

we were in the cruise ship port having a last drink before going back on board ship, we went in the cheers bar which was very busy, we ordered 2 beers, 1 rum punch, 1 ginger beer and it was an unbelievable 22 dollars, what a rip off.
we went across the road to another bar called the red stripe, it was next to the Columbian emerald shop, we ordered exactly the same round and we were charged 9 dollars and the staff were very helpful and pleasant unlike the staff in cheers- beware.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,199 reviews
543 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,486 helpful votes
“Close to cruise ship docks”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This bar is very close to the cruise terminal so only 5 minutes walk maximum on flat ground.

As the bar offers free WIFI the seating area can be very congested with tourist and cruise ship/s crew members. Beer a bit expensive (they said no local beer available but not sure this was a sell up tactic).

Service very impersonal but location prevents you from running the taxi that's!!!

Better bar around the harbour front!

Keith

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheers Antigua also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Cheers Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing