We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovered this restaurant too late!”

The Blu Pineapple Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blu Pineapple Restaurant Is Closed. Please Refer To Nigels Restaurant And Bar For Details On The Restaurant Now Located In This Space
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went the last night of our trip and we were very surprised that finally this restaurant serves great meals. A real salad with avocados! The fries were amazing. My mexican hamburger was delicious. My two girls ordered the chocolate dessert that was sublime. Too bad that we could not go back since we were leaving the next day. I recommend this restaurant.

Thank mandesjardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunaJanzen, Owner at The Blu Pineapple Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello mandesjardins,
Thank you for your review! I am pleased your entirely family enjoyed your experience with us. Although I am sad you discovered us on the last evening here, I am happy you managed to experience a dinner with us, and it made your last evening a good one. :) I do hope the next time you choose to visit Antigua you stop in and check us out again. Again, thank you for your review. All the best, Shauna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We came here with high hopes based on a recommendation from a local person on the island. The owner visited tables and talked with those dining. The Prince Edward Island mussel selection was excellent. However, that is where it ended. Our calzone came out with completely uncooked chicken hanging out of the crust, which means that both the chef and the server could see it. Conch Fritters had no flavor. They were out of lobster bisque, key lime pie and crepes. The banana flambe was disappointing and the cookie with chocolate sauce was so hard that it couldn't be eaten. I asked for coffee and received half a cup. When the owner came to our table I showed her the coffee and she didn't even offer to have it filled up.This cost me about $4.00 US for half a cup. A giant cockroach roamed the dining room floor while we waited for 30 minutes to receive our check after asking for it twice. Our check was incorrectly calculated and the waitress did not want to correct it. Most restaurants would have "comped" drinks, desserts or the whole meal after all of these issues....not here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Naginalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunaJanzen, Owner at The Blu Pineapple Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello Naginalf, First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am horribly sorry to hear of your experience with us! This, as you can see from other reviews, is NOT how we operate. I am not entirely sure who you complained to about the coffee, because had it been brought to my attention I am sure I would have “comped” a $4US coffee, or at least provided you with a refill...maybe I was unaware you were unsatisfied? I do tend to check on each table frequently and would have appreciated you advising me directly of your unsatisfaction. I can't say for sure, but believe me, had I known, we would have made things right, or at least addressed your concerns in a satisfactory manner. I will speak to my staff about these issues as I was unfortunately not aware of them, and frankly am saddened that your experience was not the one we strive to provide each of our guests. About the cockroach, we are in the Caribbean, and as an outsider it is often hard to imagine that they exist, however they are everywhere and are a part of daily life in Antigua. We do however spray and receive monthly maintenance to avoid these pest from showing their ugly little heads, you just happened to see one who survived. Again, thank you again for your review, it is equally important for us to hear the good and the bad. I do hope the next time you visit, you choose to give us another try. All the best, Shauna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had dinner here last night-really enjoyed our visit. The menu has a good variety, includes local dishes like fishwater (this is so good, like a boulabaise but more flavorful-- you should try it here). We had perfectly grilled mahi and the best deserts made in house: we enjoyed the key lime pie and black pineapple crepe. We felt like the staff cared about their customers here, especially when the chef came out to see us. One of our best dining experiences in Antigua was at Blu Pineapple :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunaJanzen, Owner at The Blu Pineapple Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Hi raleighpeanut , Thank you for taking time to write us a review! So happy to hear you enjoyed the "Fish Water", we have been told by any ours is the best on the island. We strive to provide the best food and service in our area at reasonable price, and am happy you enjoyed your meal as well as your experience with us. All the best for a prosperous 2014 and we hope to see you the next time you visit the island. Cheers, Shauna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant a few times while staying at Antigua Village, pleasant workers, great garlic and cheese pizza. They have other great items on the menu. A must visit

Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunaJanzen, Owner at The Blu Pineapple Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Hi Audrey W,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is always nice to hear our staff are appreciated as well as our food. For us it is about the entire experience and I am glad you enjoyed yourselves enough to spend a few of your evenings dining with us. We hope to see you both again sometime soon. Cheers, Shauna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week in Antigua, ate at some great restaurants and met some great people. One of the best dinners we had on the island was at the Blu Pineapple. Wonderful menu selections including a great seafood curry which was fabulous, local fish and some of the best pizza on the island. Incredible as it sounds the chef actually came out and sat down with my wife and I to discuss any special needs my wife had regarding her dinner. The atmosphere was lovely and the restaurant was easy to find just a few minutes from local hotels including Sandles and Antigua Beach Club. We also had an opportunity to meet the owner Shauna who came over to our table to introduce herself. She had recently purchased the restaurant and moved from Canada to pursue her dream of being a restaurant owner. This is one of the upcoming restaurants in Antigua. Great job Shauna hope to see you again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesc19662002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunaJanzen, Owner at The Blu Pineapple Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hello, it is so nice to hear from you! I am pleased your experience with us was one you thoroughly enjoyed. I remember you and your wife well, and am pleased the chef was able to provide you with a dish that met your wife's dietary requirements. I appreciate the review and do hope to see you both again when you visit Antigua in the future. All the best to you both with your fitness businesses as well. Cheers, and wishing you much success for 2014! Best, Shauna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blu Pineapple Restaurant and Bar also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing