We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On Point for £60!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On Point for £60!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

View is fantastic... ok the price of the food and the food itself isn't all that... but besides the food... pool, didn't get the chance to get into... the view area is quite... very close to the airport.. (15 min drive) hotel is bang on! Will be visiting this hotel in the near future...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinnysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Manager at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Point.

We look forward to welcoming you back again....and we hope that next time you will have the chance to jump in the swimmingpool. :)

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    165
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
24
214
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The facility is a little dated but cute. Great view of the ocean. Lovely beaches. A little out of the way but only a $15.00 cab ride to St John. The staff were very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. I give this facility two thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunlover3189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much from the hotel and restaurant staff for your "Two Thumbs Up" review :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you want a throbbing nightlife this hotel may not be for you.
If however you would like quiet, well run, reasonably priced accommodation then this is definitely for you.
We liked the quiet, the lovely big clean swimming pool and also the restaurant . We especially liked the service. When i fused the lights in my room ( my fault no one else's) the lady in reception walked with me to find a maintenance guy to fix it immediately. I have waited hours in large hotels to get similar issues sorted.
It took us a day or so to spot them , but we also loved the turtles which sit quietly in a lawn just by the swimming pool.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to read how much you liked the location and facilities at Ocean Point. A big Thank you from the restaurant staff too :)

The turtles are very good...a bit wet after these 2 days of rain...but ok.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel. Only minutes from the airport, St John's, and roads to other popular areas. The staff really went out of the way to make me comfortable and orient me on the island. All their recommendations were appreciated and on the mark. My bed was too hard for my old back so the hotels put a pad on the mattress. When I responded it was 'a little better' they installed a SECOND pad and I slept very well for the remainder of the trip. The continental breakfast was more than adequate to start the day - coffee, tea, juices, yogurt, cereal, jams, fresh baked cakes and pastries, toast, fruit. 2 small beaches and a very nice large fresh water pool. Plenty of sunbeds and some very comfortable patio furniture. The Italian food at the restaurant is excellent - make sure you eat there for dinner during you stay.

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean front superior room. Rent a car from Matthews [Thrifty] car rental at the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheMagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Treasure Hunter,

thank you so much for your "excellent" review. A big thank you also from the restaurant staff!

It was a pleasure meeting you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

ciao ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were delighted to return to the former Sunsail resort now lovingly restored with superb attention to detail.We were greeted at the reception by the ever smiling and helpful Rosanna and the rest of the week was truly super.A beautiful pool ,cabana seating area with huge spotless armchairsvand sofas and 3 clean safe beache areas.A wonderful restaurant on the seashore with fantastic menu. Very friendly staff from the gardeners greeting you at 7am while you did your early morning swim,to the restaurant staff,the lovely masseuse,again the spa was also by the waters edge.We travel a lot and can definitely say this place has style and relaxation and an ambience all of its own.Well done to everyone including the lovely Italian owner who worked as tirelessly as her team,even waitressing on busier evenings. We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: All rooms have super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lyndaf559279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Lynda,

thank you so much for your "excellent" review.

All the staff at Ocean Point and Sottovento thank you very much and send you a big kiss!!!

Hope to see you soon...

ciao ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I took my dad to Antigua for his birthday and was looking for just the right spot that was hospitable without being too commercial. Ocean Point was the perfect spot! The two private beaches are far more tranquil than the other more famous beaches crowded with kids and families. The restaurant is open and breezy and the chef and staff are amazingly accommodating. I have several food allergies and they just continued to adjust the menu and make suggestions that worked for me without once batting an eyelash. They even worked with me to make a special gluten-free, vegan pineapple coconut rum cake for my dad's birthday so that I could eat it with him and they did it with great pleasure. He loved it so much not just because it was tasty but because it was made with such a personal touch. The verandas off each room have a lovely view of the ocean. The decor is rustic and elegant reflecting the Italian style of the owners. The main lobby area was built around a converted sugar cane factory with the original structures still in place so the first feeling you get is of a very historic property. The location is in a quiet part of town very close to the airport and only 20 minutes from Dickenson Bay and St. John's. Throughout out time, we saw several of the other properties we considered before picking Ocean Point and in each comparison we were very happy that we made the decision we did. We will definitely return and discussed bringing our whole family next time. Definitely a great trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Andrea,

it was a pleasure having you and your father here at Ocean Point Residence and all the staff thank you very much for this "incredibly special" review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon....for your birthday this time... :)

ciao ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Oceanpoint-$100 per night including a nice continental breakfast. Because most of the residents are students at the medical school the resort feels like your private estate.. Day one I spotted three other people. Sunday there were all of 11 others. There is a nice pool, private beaches and piers with an abundance of palupas and umbrellas. Next to the pool is a large open air cabana with luxurious large chairs and sofas-I lazed there the entire time.
The entire resort is spotless. Got a beach side hour massage for $33! Not the best I've ever had but $33!!!!
True, room is a little small, beds are hard, kitchen has no pots or pans, shower is about 3ft square.None of these are dealbreakers! Nice flat screen offset this. But your own private resort for 100(or less) per night is best bargain I've found in Carribean. Wanna stay for a month? About $850-what one night at some of the others cost.
I was lucky enough to have my son as a host, guide and driver but you would need a car to get around(which is a story to itself as you drive on the right, the roads are not well marked and there is virtually no law enforcement on the poor roads)
Unless you really need luxury this is a VERY nice resort, run by a nice family at a very reasonable price. The ultimate chill spot!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlaydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your "private estate" :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,794 reviews
8.9 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,215 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Address: Hodges Bay Main Road, St. John's 12034, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Point Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Point Resort & Spa ALL INCLUSIVE, Mediterranean style, ocean front, is located at Hogde's Bay, within 10 minutes drive from the capital St John's, where you will find lots of shops and duty free area. It has a large outdoor swimming pool, a massage centre right on the beach overlooking the sea and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the property and free parking. The air conditioned rooms are decorated in Mediterranean style, very bright and equipped with a cable TV flat screen 32-inch, private balcony or verandah from which you can enjoy great views and a fridge, kettle and coffee/tea facilities. Our multi-lingual staff will be happy to help you to rent car/scooter or to organize excursions. Laundry service available on site. Ocean Point Resort & Spa is only 3 km from Cedar Valley Golf Course and 7 minutes drive from the international airport V.C. Bird. Room Type: Ocean Front Room with a beautiful ocean view, is equipped with a kettle for tea and coffee, fridge, flat screen TV 32", free wi-fi and free wired internet access, air conditioning, safe, mosquito net and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. It includes either a double bed or 2 single beds. Room Type: Ocean View room with a partial sea view is equipped with a kettle for tea and coffee, fridge, flat screen TV 32", free wi-fi and free wired internet access, air conditioning, safe, mosquito net and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. It includes either a double bed or 2 single beds. From the property you can organize different activities and tours to discover the beautiful island of Antigua and its 365 beaches. Also worth a visit, through the rain forest, the historic place where Admiral Horatio Nelson lived with his fleet in 1784 just called Nelson's Dockyard. Within the same National Park, you cannot beat the view from the top of the hill of Shirley Heights. For shopping lovers, duty free shops and markets in the capital St John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing