We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bargain in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best Bargain in Antigua”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Oceanpoint-$100 per night including a nice continental breakfast. Because most of the residents are students at the medical school the resort feels like your private estate.. Day one I spotted three other people. Sunday there were all of 11 others. There is a nice pool, private beaches and piers with an abundance of palupas and umbrellas. Next to the pool is a large open air cabana with luxurious large chairs and sofas-I lazed there the entire time.
The entire resort is spotless. Got a beach side hour massage for $33! Not the best I've ever had but $33!!!!
True, room is a little small, beds are hard, kitchen has no pots or pans, shower is about 3ft square.None of these are dealbreakers! Nice flat screen offset this. But your own private resort for 100(or less) per night is best bargain I've found in Carribean. Wanna stay for a month? About $850-what one night at some of the others cost.
I was lucky enough to have my son as a host, guide and driver but you would need a car to get around(which is a story to itself as you drive on the right, the roads are not well marked and there is virtually no law enforcement on the poor roads)
Unless you really need luxury this is a VERY nice resort, run by a nice family at a very reasonable price. The ultimate chill spot!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlaydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your "private estate" :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    182
    47
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
234
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wow. An affordable, clean, air conditioned room, directly on the water. Also has a bar/restaurant/pool. I live here full time, and it took me almost five years to find somewhere like this for guests. Very quiet. I paid just 360 for three nights (US), and the other places on island are more than DOUBLE, and not near as nice. I hope they are able to keep this affordable; because it is a BARGAIN. Centrally located, near the airport but not too close, and they even have parking. I would stay here OVER Sandals, if they were equally priced. Free internet, and very, very clean all around. Was nice to have a quiet beach away from crowds. Could not recommend this any higher. 5 mins to town, 3 mins to airport....10 seconds out door to beach and pool. Also has a rear porch with ocean views, pool views, etc.. Great owners, as attentive as needed.

Room Tip: Can't believe there is a "bad" room. I was on the bottom floor, recommend same as I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingJobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for your super positive review :)

we are pleased to read how much you liked the location and the facilities of Ocean Point.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have just returned from Antigua (27/3/2014). We had the most amazing time at Ocean Point and can't thank the staff enough for their helpfulness and friendliness. It is very peaceful, the two beaches are fantastic, good snorkelling, and the swimming pool is great. We had the pool and beach to ourselves most of the time. Roseanna was extremely helpful and we had a very warm welcome on arrival. It is a small resort but has everything going for it. The restaurant was beautiful and the food was very good and the views were fantastic. we would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing and comfortable holiday. Roseanna organised taxis and trips for us, such as the Xtreme Adventure speed boat day cruise around the Island, which was absolutely amazing. Unfortunately, all good things came to an end, and we had to come home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Milton Family,

thank you so very much for taking the time to share an "Absolutely Amazing" review of your recent stay at Ocean Point.

Grazie 1000 from the whole staff of Ocean Point. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon...

Arrivederci!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Great beach front, with a small private beach and another slightly larger beach off to the side. Small enough to feel charm, but not too small. Would like to thank Rosanna who helps organise things like car hire and excursions. She does an amazing job and makes things easy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RLJWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are thrilled to hear that you throughly enjoyed your stay here at Ocean Point!

I thank you also personally....it was a pleasure meeting you and I hope to see you back again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 750 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We recently stayed here for our honeymoon. It was really nice. As some of the reviews have mentioned this is not the all-inclusive, over the top resorts many people are familiar with. There is some fixing up going on which is only going to improve this place, but it has a lot of charm, character and quiet.

This is a lovely hotel/residence with comfortable rooms, beautiful property on the north side of the island. We rented a car and it is a short-10 minute drive from ANU. We had a lovely room with ocean view as most, if not all, rooms are. Lovely check in with open-air lobby overlooking the pool and onto the ocean.

PROS: Great location, nice-comfortable rooms (flower petals upon walking in the room was extra nice touch), fridge in the room (and tea kettle), balcony, amazing property, two beaches, huge pool, nice air conditioning, great staff and nicely priced room rates.

CONS: bed was not very comfortable, bar on property was so-so. We had a couple mixed drinks that were not good at all (Bloody Mary and Pina Colada). Kind of hard to screw those up, but we switched to beer! Restaurant, as other reviews have mentioned, is pricey. Not able to get a quick sandwich or lite meal here.

We ended up going to Le Bistro twice during out stay. It's a nearby (5 min drive) French restaurant that is amazing and similar prices to the hotel restaurant. Highly recommended.

We also went on Xtreme Adventure day cruise which was simply worth every penny. It's not a booze cruise so it was very fun, insightful and exciting.

Lastly, we did have a rental car and each day went to a different beach. Half Moon Bay Beach was, by far, our favorite beach.

Loved Ocean Point. It fulfilled our needs in a caring and courteous manner. We loved Antigua. If we come back I would definitely check out Ocean Point again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay here at Ocean Point Residence. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the location and the facilities.
We are of course very sorry that you did not have a good night sleep and that the drinks at the bar were not to your taste....next time we make sure that you will have the BEST pinacolada on the island! :)
Thank you again for making your comments known and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I returned from our stay in Antigua last week. We loved Ocean Point. The two private beaches are beautiful. There were times when we were the only people at the beach and the pool. It could not have been any more relaxing.
Rossana was extremely helpful. She arranged a snorkeling trip for us and called taxis for us every day.
I would definitely recommend Ocean Point for anyone who is looking for a quiet and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elewis5446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to share a review of your Ocean Point experience. We are thrilled to hear that you throughly enjoyed your stay :)
I thank you personally also, it was a pleasure meeting you. (Rossana)

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a lovely "low key" hotel with accommodating staff and welcoming and helpful management. While not a property for those who prefer (and are willing to pay for) the amenities of a chain or high end hotel, it is beautifully located and represents excellent value for money. While there are some works in progress the property is clean and generally well maintained. The two beaches were also kept clean and well manicured. I would strongly suggest renting a car as, although close to the airport, the location is a little out of the way.

Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The attached outdoor area covered by thatched palm leaves and surrounded by bougainvillea provided a pleasant spot for evening drinks. I would recommend insect repellant if sitting in this area but the constant ocean breeze across the rest of the property not only makes for a pleasant climate but also seems to keep away any bugs.

The Italian restaurant at the hotel is located right between the beaches directly on the ocean and has a wonderful ambiance. While a little pricey, the quality of the food is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for posting your "excellent"review and we were very pleased to read how much you liked the location and facilities at Ocean POint Residence and that on the whole you found all staff very welcoming and accomodating. Chef Antonio and his team at Sottovento thank you very much too.

we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
8.9 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 15 in St. John's
342 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
612 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Address: Hodges Bay Main Road, St. John's 12034, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Point Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Point Resort & Spa ALL INCLUSIVE, Mediterranean style, ocean front, is located at Hogde's Bay, within 10 minutes drive from the capital St John's, where you will find lots of shops and duty free area. It has a large outdoor swimming pool, a massage centre right on the beach overlooking the sea and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the property and free parking. The air conditioned rooms are decorated in Mediterranean style, very bright and equipped with a cable TV flat screen 32-inch, private balcony or verandah from which you can enjoy great views and a fridge, kettle and coffee/tea facilities. Our multi-lingual staff will be happy to help you to rent car/scooter or to organize excursions. Laundry service available on site. Ocean Point Resort & Spa is only 3 km from Cedar Valley Golf Course and 7 minutes drive from the international airport V.C. Bird. Room Type: Ocean Front Room with a beautiful ocean view, is equipped with a kettle for tea and coffee, fridge, flat screen TV 32", free wi-fi and free wired internet access, air conditioning, safe, mosquito net and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. It includes either a double bed or 2 single beds. Room Type: Ocean View room with a partial sea view is equipped with a kettle for tea and coffee, fridge, flat screen TV 32", free wi-fi and free wired internet access, air conditioning, safe, mosquito net and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. It includes either a double bed or 2 single beds. From the property you can organize different activities and tours to discover the beautiful island of Antigua and its 365 beaches. Also worth a visit, through the rain forest, the historic place where Admiral Horatio Nelson lived with his fleet in 1784 just called Nelson's Dockyard. Within the same National Park, you cannot beat the view from the top of the hill of Shirley Heights. For shopping lovers, duty free shops and markets in the capital St John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing