We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reservoir Range

Reservoir Range
Ranked #1 of 4 Fun & Games in St. John's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most activities on the island of Antigua in one place! Enjoy, PAINTBALL, CLAYS PIGEON, HAND GUNS SHOOTING(SOON),AIR GUNS, ARCHERY, MOUNTAIN BIKING RENTAL. Enjoy the beautiful clubhouse set in 44 acres of stunning countryside. Free activities include Ping Pong, Air Hockey, Table Football and Darts. Potworks Dam , the best and unique outdoor activity centre.
England
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recently spent a week in Antigua and can honestly say that the trip to reservoir range was one of the highlights. I had never shot before and the instructor, a guy called Will was really helpful and the whole experience was awesome. Afterwards we stayed for a few drinks and he was really friendly. If you're thinking about it then definitely go for it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlewis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bike to Half Moon Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Half Moon Bay is a great uncrowded beach well off the beaten path. Getting their via mountain bike is some exercise and a lot of fun! My wife and I exited our cruise ship and negotiated to get a taxi ride to Reservoir Range (by Potsworks dam). To our surprise, no taxi driver wanted to take us to the Range since it wasn't a place where they could fill their van with other tourists. We finally got a driver to agree to take both of us for $60 round trip after they tried to talk us into just about every other spot on Antigua. It is about a 20 minute taxi ride. The Reservoir Range facility is very nice and well maintained. We were greeted by William, the same person I exchanged emails with to reserve the bikes. They have about 15 mountain bikes. We paid $50 each for the bikes for the day. They provide a helmet and a bottle of water per person. The 1/4 mile ride back to the main road is very rough, but after that it is paved road all the way to Half Moon Bay. Luckily, though narrow, the main road doesn't have a lot of traffic so the ride is actually very enjoyable. The 5 mile ride to the beach goes through a couple of small towns and a lot of rural area providing a good feel for the Antigua countryside away from the primary tourist areas and took us a little less than an hour each way. We heard some dogs barking during the ride but fortunately didn't encounter any dogs with us on the roadway. (Which was good given that we were basically riding alone). The bikes were in good, but not perfect shape, and we did experience some minor jumpiness with the gear shifting on the bikes and both of us had our chains pop off a couple of times. However, the bikes were the best I have ever rented while on a cruise. My wife has a bad knee and there are definitely a couple of steep hills on the route so the round trip 10 mile ride turned out to be a good distance. The view coming into Half Moon Bay is unbelievable! Then you come down a pretty steep hill (you will want to use your brakes) which takes you right to Smilin' Harry's just outside the gate of the beach. You can leave the bikes with Harry and then walk the short distance to the beach itself. The beach is beautiful with a lagoon feel to it and there were about 20 people on it over its half mile or so of sand. It is surrounded by hills and rocks making it very scenic. Currently, the beach is isolated with no open hotels or restaurants etc. on it. If you want food or drink Smilin' Harry's has you covered. We stayed at the beach for over an hour before dark clouds started to form so we headed back to the Range. We swung by Harry's to use the restroom and reload with fresh water bottles, thanked Harry for watching our bikes and headed out. We did have to walk up the steep hill just outside of the bay, but even with my wife's bad knee the bikes had sufficient gearing for the rest of the route. I recommend you pay attention to how you get to the beach since there are only red route arrows to get you to the beach, not back. It isn't hard because the route basically just follows the main road, but since the roads aren't well marked it is theoretically possible to get lost. Once back at the Range, William called our taxi driver to come get us. During the 45 minutes it took for the taxi to make its way back to the Range, we got a chance to talk with William and just enjoy the Range's outdoor patio. I did pick up a couple of mosquito bites on the patio so spray would have been useful. As we were driving back to the port, it started to rain very hard so we were glad we left since bike riding on a narrow, hilly road in a driving downpour wouldn't have been fun (or safe). All and all a great day and welcome chance to enjoy some peaceful quality time together and to take a respite from being with a couple thousand other cruisers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Myself, my husband and another couple we are friends with decided before leaving to go to Antigua that we wanted to visit Reservoir Range! I read the reviews ahead of time and everyone who went was extremely happy with their experience, plus it's something that none of us had ever done before!

I contacted William several weeks before our vacation and he was SO wonderful in helping us decide what activities we should do! We ultimately opted for the 3 activity package which consisted of air pistol shooting, clay pigeon shooting and archery! You also have to arrange your own transportation which was very easy b/c William gives you the name of a guy who will gladly pick you up and take you back when you are ready! His name is Sean and his info is on the website.

Let me tell you...we had THE BEST TIME EVER!!!! The place is beautiful, laid out wonderfully and all of the equipment is very well taken care of! William was with us the whole time and he couldn't have been nicer or more patient! As I said above, none of us had ever done these activities before and he made us feel so comfortable! He is just such a nice person to spend a few hours with! The bonus was that he is such a good teacher that we all did really well at all 3 activities and will now be looking for places at home to do them more often!

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE book an excursion to Reservoir Range! I promise you will not be disappointed! We travel a lot and have done hundreds of excursions and this one is 100% in my top 3 of all time!

Thanks again William! You are a great guy and you made our trip extra special :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank haubner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain bike to Half Moon Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived via cruise ship and took a taxi at 9am to Reservoir Range, arriving at 9:30. Taxi cost $30 cash one-way so do ask if any RR staff are able to pick you up (they did provide a ride back to the ship after our day, which we greatly appreciated). We chose the Half Moon Bay trail (red trail). Bring 2 liters of water per person (we brought one liter each and RR provided an additional liter for each of us). Check your bike before leaving - one of ours had a banged up gear shifter. The red trail is on the paved road but traffic was light. There are hills and I confess we walked the bikes up a few of them. Incredible views of the island and ocean. This beach was one of our favorites from our trip. Hardly anyone there. Be sure to walk over to the rocks to watch the waves crashing in. Had lunch at Smiling Harry's, which also has a bathroom. I was nervous about the ride back due to the heat but actually we found that the ride back was easier (it took 1.5 hours for us to reach the beach and just 1 hour for us to get back to RR). It was a great day and recommended, especially if you are in good shape to bike hills and are prepared for the heat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorgues, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Action packed package!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

When you have a couple of pre-teen kids in tow, sometimes you need a little excitement away from the beach. Resevoir Range seemed to offer the perfect solution. When we got there, we enjoyed the very personal and excellent service of the owner. The kids really enjoyed themselves on the pistol range, and with the personal coaching of the owner learned to overcome their initial frustration and really learn to shoot the way they needed. Dad still rubbed their noses in it, though (Bully)! The kids then got a complimentary go on the archery range. Again, with valuable tuition, they loved it!
This venture is a reall value-add to any family itinerary. It's not macho. It's good plain fun! MY daughter loved it just as much as my son (though maybe not more than their Dad). Do it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reservoir Range also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Reservoir Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing