We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no good”
Review of Havana Kafe

Havana Kafe
Ranked #65 of 103 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“no good”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

disappointed about the quality and cleanliness, but the staff friendly , food however very poor and dirty

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxbazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A small outdoor restaurant that makes great cuban food. The mojitos are even better than the food. It took a while for our drinks to come out, but then I realized the bartender was hand crushing the mint. Unbelievably good. The prices are reasonable too. The food also took a while but there was only on cook. It was worth the wait. I highly suggest this restaurant as a great laid back spot to eat and enjoy a mojito.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our mojito spot”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The bartender is friendly and always greets you with a smile and warm approach, he even remembers faces and orders. The atmosphere is relaxed and really great

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cuban food”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It is run by a husband and wife team from Cuba (rumoured she was the former Chef for Castro. True or not I don't know), she cooks there in the open Kitchen, all fresh. I was originally taken there by an American friend of mine who's family are originally from Cuba. He told me I must try the Mojito's which he said were the best I would try, and they were. I let him order with him knowing the Cuban food. He insisted I have the Black beans as a side dish which she makes herself, not being a fan of them i originally refused but he insisted, thank God I tried them because they were to die for and have had them every time since. I have since took family and friends there and everyone finds it exceptional at a very reasonable cost. Unfortunately it is open for Lunch every day and open for evening meals ONLY on a Friday. Never have I taken photos of my food, but there once with my wife I felt it was too good to let it pass, so please have a look. One downside is the chairs hurt your bum!!!!! but I reckon it's worth it for the food, atmosphere and the company of the owners.
Please try this place and spread the word. I cannot believe this place has been open for over a year and there are no reviews on here. Just down the road from the Larder, different style but equally as good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Kafe also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Havana Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing