We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but decent eatery”
Review of C&C Wine Bar

C&C Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great but decent eatery”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Decided to try the popular lasagna night. The lasagna was good but very overrated. I have had better lasagna from the supermarket deli and of course homemade from friends and relatives. I may return to the restaurant but it would not be for the lasagna. The accompanying bread was a bit burnt but it was useful as the lasagna is of the runny variety.

I ordered olives as a starter; I had two but could not manage anymore as they were exceptionally salty. I informed the waitress and asked her to remove it from the table as I would not be having any more. She apologised politely and was shocked as she said it came straight out of the packet--that shocked me as I had assumed some level of freshness and kitchen prepared flavouring,not just store bought to be thrust onto the plate. I am a fan of olives but I could not eat these. We were still charged for it.

Partner and I shared the chicken wings which came with a spicy honey sauce. The wings were divine and I really enjoyed them: the best part of the meal. Wine was pretty good also.

The service for the night was excellent I must say though. It was a full house but we didn't have to wait too long at any point to get attention.

Pro tips: a) book well in advance if you wish to try the lasagna night but don't get your expectations too high on the taste. b) choose a table that does not have metal fold out chairs. My bum started to hurt by the time I was halfway through my lasagna.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N_Alexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    159
    23
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wine”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice place to have a bottle of wine with friends and chat. Have yet to try the food but will review it when I have. The wine is all South African and of good quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lasagne, locals and love!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stumbled across C&C by accident during a trip into town from the AI place were we were staying. Lovely lunch, nicest wine we had on the island and Claudie and Cutie so very warm and friendly. Felt like we belonged there, rather than visitors. We liked it so much we came back for Lasagne night. Raised eyebrows at our hotel where "why pay when Its all inclusive" attitude prevailed. Such a shame for those people and they missed out on a great experience. We had a great time, great food, terrific mix of fellow diners, lots of locals, expats and tourists, but mostly locals and a cool, eclectic crowd they were. You can buy wine there to bring back to your hotel and it won't leave you thinking ..."what did I drink last night, and why do I feel like ***** ! We love the whole vibe of this place. They hooked us up with some local diners who drove us back to our hotel, because they cared and didn't want us to spend money on a cab. We have told all our friends about this place. Will definitely be back and look forward to seeing the girls walking their dogs on the beach. Nice job ladies! Simple, no frills, good food and wine and great atmosphere/setting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HobokenReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelbugbarry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best lasagna I have ever had!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I have visited c and c 's on numerous occasions over the last few years during vacations in Antigua and they never disappoint. The lasagna night is just superb, the service is fantastic and the wine excellent. I have also tried out their coconut shrimp and they were also delicious. I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An absolute must! Fabulous.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic restaurant in Saint Johns, here is my review......

Food,
Absolutely fantastic, especially lasagne night on a Thursday where the food is very reasonably priced and delicious.

Price,
Very reasonable including drinks.

Service,
The service at C and C's is fantastic.

Final thought,
Well worth a visit if you are in Antigua.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFriend26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C&C Wine Bar also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 

Been to C&C Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing