We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day on beautiful boat!”

Catamaran Sailing Antigua
Ranked #3 of 43 Tours in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catamaran Sailing Antigua offers you an unforgettable day on our beautiful luxury sailing yacht. We offer very "Private & Exclusive" luxury sailing charters for you & your loved one or for the whole family! Wayne & Lara are your crew aboard "Cool Cat" She is a gorgeous 48 foot catamaran. There is PLENTY deck space for you to enjoy your private yacht for the day. We offer you the most delicious lunch cooked on a BBQ at the back of the boat. Our service is discreet and of high quality. We strive to make this a very special day out for you. Our yacht will anchor for lunch where you can swim, snorkel the beautiful reefs or just sit back and relax. If you like to avoid the crowds and enjoy some "style", this is the one for you!!
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great day on beautiful boat!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had the pleasure of taking the 4-hour lunch sail. Brisk winds made for an exciting sail. This is a really nice catamaran with lots of room and places to sit. Lunch was delicious - chicken cooked on the barbie with great sides. This is a family run business, so you will experience the South African charm of owner Wayne and a member of his family (we had daughter Sim). A very nice day all around!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrownRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    25
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing day on the water”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to book the Cool Cat for a 6 hour trip and what an amazing time we had. Wayne and his daughter Sim really looked after us and made us feel really welcome. The boat is great, with lots of space to lounge and soak up the sun at the front of the boat. Wayne took us to a deserted beach where we also snorkled, and we managed to see some sting rays. He then cooked us some lobster on his bbq at the back of the boat and it was outstanding! The Cool Cat is a great way to see the beauty of Antigua from the water. Highly recommended for a relaxed day at sea!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbaumann83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best day of vacation!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was definitely the highlight of our trip! Our family loved the time that we spent on The Cool Cat. Wayne and his daughter Sim could not have been any more accommodating and easy to get along with. We went on the 6 1/2 tour with two children (6 & 8), and wish we had booked it for longer. The pictures online don't do the cat justice....it is amazing. Everything is meticulously taken care of and it shows. There is plenty of room and it is easy to get around the boat. The front trampoline area is large enough to comfortably fit 6-8 adults. There is a large shaded area in the back if desired. Our 6 year old made numerous trips back and forth between the two without any trouble. You could definitely tell the difference between The Cool Cat and the monohull sailboats that were out there from a staiblity (relaxation) standpoint.
Wayne picked us up for our resort across the island that morning (for about the same cost as a taxi) and prevailed in the game of 20 questions from each of our kids. He gave us a quick tour of the harbor and then drove up right to the cat. They had a fully stocked cooler, including juice for the kids, snacks, wine and rum punch. Lunch was fantasitic (both the lobster and chicken). The entire day was a true first class experience and was the epitome of an owner / operator small business you would hope for. Thanks Again. Happy Birthday Sim. Get well soon, Lara.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best part of the trip”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Group of 4 ages 25-45. We had a wonderful time with our hosts Wayne and his daughter Sim. We chose a private 6 hour charter and we loved every second of it. He is very knowledgeable about the area and shared some stories while you cruise out of the dock area. Both were very friendly and fun to talk to. We sat at the front of the boat for the majority of our trip to the beach (I forgot which one) and Sim was happy to make rum punches and pour wine for us.

The view was unbelievable. You definitely can't get this kind of experience anywhere else. Being a private charter made it comfortable to hang around in bathing suits and talk candidly. We could just relax and enjoy the scenery and gorgeous waters.

When we arrived at the beach area, Wayne and Sim were helpful in getting us non swimmers to shore. He pointed out Fort Barrington and explained that it was a very small hike away so 2 out of our group of 4 took the trek up. WORTH IT. You can do it in flip flops! The view was incredible.

They cooked us a delicious meal and were sensitive to one group member with a gluten allergy. It was the best chicken I've ever had.

Even though the waters were not great for snorkeling in terms of visuals, Wayne took us to an area that had a sunken boat that we could check out and he guided us on snorkeling.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank appaj00ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Day on the Water”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Being our first trip to Antigua, we checked out TripAdvisor for tips on interesting activities. Cool Cat Catamaran Sailing was highly recommended by all, and, after our day with Wayne and his daughter Sim, we see why. Genuinely nice people who want you to relax and enjoy the beauty of Antigua's waters and coast. We headed down to Cade's Reef, but the stronger-than-expected wind convinced us to turn around and go north of Jolly Harbor to Deep Bay where we had lunch, snorkeled above a sunken tar tanker and went ashore on one of the prettiest beaches we saw the entire week. Wayne gave us some great information on the island and suggestions on what to do. He is a true believer in Antigua's beauty and people, and, after spending the day with him and his daughter, we are too! Don't pass up the opportunity to spend the day on Cool Cat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Way2Many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catamaran Sailing Antigua also viewed

 

Been to Catamaran Sailing Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing