We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not like Last Year !!”

Catamaran Sailing Antigua
Ranked #3 of 44 Tours in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catamaran Sailing Antigua offers you an unforgettable day on our beautiful luxury sailing yacht. We offer very "Private & Exclusive" luxury sailing charters for you & your loved one or for the whole family! Wayne & Lara are your crew aboard "Cool Cat" She is a gorgeous 48 foot catamaran. There is PLENTY deck space for you to enjoy your private yacht for the day. We offer you the most delicious lunch cooked on a BBQ at the back of the boat. Our service is discreet and of high quality. We strive to make this a very special day out for you. Our yacht will anchor for lunch where you can swim, snorkel the beautiful reefs or just sit back and relax. If you like to avoid the crowds and enjoy some "style", this is the one for you!!
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not like Last Year !!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Last year we had a amazing day on Cool Cat ,and decided to book again this year to go somewhere different. We had a very average day. We had to ask for Rum punch and got One , and then had to request wine for lunch. The food was exactly the same as last year but we had no desert nor extrac (fruit , cake etc) during the trip , The couple seemed disinterested this time and the whole trip was pretty flat.

We came away with the impression that their heart wasn't in it that day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    25
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Sail”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently took a trip with a group of seven (two families) on the "Cool Cat" with Wayne and Lara. Rather than re-cap our experience, which (like most bespoke tours) will never be exactly the same as another, I'll give some advice to those looking to book:

(1) Taking the "Shuttle Service": For a fee, Wayne will come and pick you up in his van; we didn't price compare a taxi to the service, but our group was on a cruise and the drive from the Port of Antigua to Jolly Harbour was kind of convoluted. For our group, we wanted "turn-key" and this made it easy. Constructive comment: Wayne had his signboard with our name turned around when we arrived in port, and we consequently didn't spot him right away.

(2) On the Sail: Wayne and Lara made us feel very comfortable on their boat (the largest private cat for charter, I believe). We abided by two rules: no shoes (those came off up-front), and no spray-on lotion + sunbathing without a towel (we don't use spray-on). We felt these were reasonable requests, and we felt very comfortable exploring the boat and relaxing on our sail. The food received high marks all-around, and we enjoyed wine with our meal. All drinks were provided and included in the price. We snorkeled before lunch, and it was very relaxing - the spot was not crowded, and all equipment needed was provided.

(3) Final Impressions: Wayne and Lara are somewhat reserved and very relaxed. For me, personally, this was fine -- it was as if we had chartered a yacht and they took care of everything without us needing to ask. However, if you are looking for the type of tour where someone is continuously narrating the experience with history and local attractions, this really isn't it -- all questions were answered happily, but it was really not a *guided tour,* if that's what you are looking for. This worked for us, but I wanted to share so that others don't get the wrong impression.

I would recommend to friends and family, and would certainly return to sail with Wayne and Lara again in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Excursion”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had an amazing excursion with Wayne and Lara on the Cool Cat! We were 20 people (10 kids and 10 adults) and every one of us loved it - even the little boy that got seasick.

Booking with Wayne and Lara was very easy. They responded very quickly and answered all of my questions. I think it was a little pricey, especially when you add in the transportation costs, but well worth it!

We had a private catamaran for 6 hours. When our cruise ship docked, Wayne met us outside and had another cab with him ready to go. The ride to the boat was about 20 minutes and showed us a lot of the island. When we boarded, we were given a huge greeting followed by a safety briefing.

The kids all jumped up front to the net to watch all of the sea animals we were floating over. There were plenty of waters, sodas, beers and rum punches to go around. We sailed to Turners Beach - which took about 1 1/2 hours. Once there, everyone was given snorkel gear and life jackets. We were later told that we were the second largest group so that answers the question as to why they didn't have enough life jackets for everyone. They had noodles that we could use and most of us were able to use one floatation device or another. We snorkeled for about 45 minutes to an hour and were then called in for lunch. We were also able to swim to the beach and play in the water for those that were uncomfortable snorkeling.

Lunch was amazing! They made hot dogs for the kids and a gourmet lunch for the adults. My husband still talks about the delicious chicken that was grilled with rice and veggies. To top that off, Lara made 2 homemade cakes - chocolate and carrot - which were phenomenal. Between that and the drinks, we were all set. We were promised that Lara would email us the recipe for the chicken.

The sail back took about 45 minutes and by then we were all exhausted. The ride was incredibly smooth and relaxing. As soon as we docked, our shoes were all lined up and Wayne took us back to the port.

I highly recommend that people don't take the excursions from the cruise ships as I find them to be more of a rip off. This was an amazing find, thanks to Tripadvisor, and I would call them back the next time we are on the island of Antigua.

Tons of fun for everyone thanks to Wayne and Lara!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME & BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thank you Wayne and Lara for a spectacular trip!! Most definitely the highlight of our 7 day trip to Antigua. The stories, memories and beautiful views from the cool cat will remain with our family forever. I highly recommend a day trip with lovely couple!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing trip!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I wanted to get away from being a beach baby for a day so took this incredible trip on a catamaran!! A truly unique experience for me to see the whole of Antigua from the water. The day was very well put together and included lunch on an uninhabited island, swimming and snorkelling, bird watching, walking and sightseeing!
The catamaran was spacious and very comfortable and the crew could not have been more attentive and friendly. I highly recommend this trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catamaran Sailing Antigua also viewed

 

Been to Catamaran Sailing Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing