We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice luncheon in St. John's.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemingways Caribbean Cafe

Hemingways Caribbean Cafe
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a nice luncheon in St. John's.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

we picked a day to go to St. John's where there were no cruise ships in the Harbour.. wise decision.. visited many stores, the Australian Ice cream store near the Water front.. and our friends wanted to go to Hemingways... ( we had preferred C and C but it was our friends first visit to the Island..... lol.. was Hemingway ever here?) very nice casual seating on the 2nd floor.. I believe there is no handicap access.. meal was good.. found it a little pricey... 6 garlic shrimp for EC 58 ( had the previous day 10 at Cloggys).. service was good.. wife did not enjoy her battered shrimp.. too much batter.. also $ EC 58.. yes it was good.. would I go again.. probably not.. back to CC.. but I must say I liked the seating on the 2nd floor even if it was a little tight...you could watch the hustle and bustle on the street.. .. highly recommend stay away from St. John's when the cruise ships are in town.!!! nearly forgot .. a great Italian Icecream store next to Hemingways.. mmmmmmm

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 217wolf1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    230
    61
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Repeat visit but beware”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went to this restaurant last year on a cruise and loved the fish sandwiches so went back again this year. The food was excellent and the service very good. The one issue was my friend paid the bill via credit card and when we went next to use the card we were told it had been compromised. We really don't know for certain if it happened here but would advise you to keep your credit card within site if paying for you bill in that manner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denver-KCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great spot for refreshments and people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Seating is upstairs and a balcony overlooking the street is the best spot to sit! Food and drinks were fine! Conch fritters were tasty! A great place to rest and refresh during your time in St Johns.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KSGreenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hemingway's Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After half a day's walk in Antigua, Hemingways Carribean Cafe is a suitable place for a lobster & wi-fi lunch. It lies very close to the cruise ship harbour, in a safe neighbourhood, on the first floor. Explore the Carribean cuisine as you wish, although we recommend the Carribean Lobster. Fresh, buttered and grilled, with a touch of lemon or garlic sauce. Add a ginger ale or a glass of wine and you'll feel like a king. Not to mention that, for a cruise ship traveller, you would find the free wi-fi to be extremelly valuable. Just share the lobster picture, for example :)). Prices are acceptable, but might go a bit high since lobster price is based on fish market price. Friendly personnel. As in all cafes bearing his name, Hemingway might have actually eaten here

Helpful?
Thank CosminCostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty Meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good venue for a casual lunch if shopping in St Johns. Sit outside on the Balcony if possible it's a great spot to hear and see local life. We enjoyed garlic shrimp and a chicken Caesar salad washed down with a non alcoholic Fruit Punch. Good friendly service with reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jangus55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingways Caribbean Cafe also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint George, Saint George Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Hemingways Caribbean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing