We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so”
Review of Barbuda Express

Barbuda Express
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“so-so”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The ferry boat takes an hour an a half to get to Barbuda. The waters were very choppy when we went and we actually got wet. Seats aren't comfortable...drinks are not included in the price of the trip. If you do want to go to Barbuda, I would reecommend going in one of the bigger boats.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PriSach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    20
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A visit is a must”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A visit to Barbuda is a must it is an amazing place with the most amazing white sand, and travel a short distance (by boat) and there you have the wonderful pink sand

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bougival, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some paradise on the earth (nature, beaches & lagoons and lobsters !)”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

One day on Barbuda : shipping from St John's Antigua was rude by I would have some regrets to miss this small tong of sand & rocks surrendered by blue water. "Taxi" guide MUST have : I do strongly recommand my new friend Claude (Quality Taxi & Tours , mail: burton.kidz.claude@gmail.com - +268 771 4345). He will gently bring you to the most famous places and THE one were you can eat lobsters ! If you are around, if you love real travel and spend some times out of everything, you HAVE to visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kailua78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great day rough ride”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We were warned that the ride would be rough but decided to go anyway since we both don't get sea sick, but be forewarned - it was a long (2 hr) rough ride. They should rename it the vomit express - several people got sick and I almost lost it.
That said....
We had a wonderful day on the island. We took a tour of the frigate bird sanctuary and saw males showing off their big red pouches to the females. We also went to the north side of the island and hiked in the caves and ended our day on the 17 mile pink sand beach and ate fresh fish and local lobster.
I highly suggest you get a guide to drive you around the rough and unmarked roads.
The ferry ride home wasn't as rough and we learned our lesson- we took Dramamine and stared at the horizon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not enough beach time”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this tour from a beach side tour operator and paid for it at the port. The catamaran ride takes 2 hours, not the 90 minutes as advertised. Take medicine an hour in advance and stare at the horizon for your ride to prevent motion sickness. Several people got sick on our trip. The staff are hospitable and the captain is very professional. Drinks are not included in your price and there are no snacks (they were even out of some drinks from the start!)
When we arrived at the port, the island basically looks deserted. Not much is there, but our guides were waiting to pick us up (and yay, drinks!) There were 11 of us in 2 vans. Our guide John was great!! He shared many facts and history about the island. First he took us to some caves, then the frigate bird sanctuary, then the beach for snorkeling and lunch, with each portion taking about an hour. To get to the birds, you are taken to a lagoon and transported by boat to see the birds. There are unsanitary bathroom facilities there, and no food for purchase. It was mating season and fascinating to see the male birds bringing attention to themselves, but skipping this and watching a video might be good too. By the time we arrived to the beach for lunch, it was 2:30 and the kids were starved, with just one hour to play on the beach before heading back to the boat. Food was island-style grilled fish/chicken/lobster salad, cole slaw and cookie, rum punch, beer and sodas. The food was really good! The sand is NOT pink. The beach is covered with tiny beautiful pink shells, but the sand is, well, sand color. Don't bother bringing your snorkel gear-there's nothing to see. Just use your time to relax on the beach. We paid over $400 for this excursion for a family of 3, not sure if it was worth the cost.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorelea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbuda Express also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
Barbuda, Antigua and Barbuda
 
Barbuda, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Barbuda Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing