We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful way to experience Antegua and food of the Carribean disapora” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas at Sunset Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful way to experience Antegua and food of the Carribean disapora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Everything about this all inclusive hotel experience was exceptional. The host made ever moment very enjoyable. The rest of the staff was warm, attentive, very accomodating, and actually great to be arround. My room was inviting and relaxing. The food was absolutely delectable. You could experience the local cuisine or select traditional Americana (I fully recommend the cuisine of the area, especially the breads and the juices). The hotel's location provides for a spectacular view and is a short (~ 5 min) walk to a beautiful beach, which wasn't too crowded. You could travel a little further along the beach to areas that were more populated and featured other hotels, local vendors, and some water sports. It was also very close to a casino (I think Sandals) which provided an enjoyable outing. Unfortunately, my work schedule only allowed me to sample each of these.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickynupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Came in november and stayed in a suite with friends and a few cousins. The rooms were great, it was a 3 minute walk to the beach, and we enjoyed a free round of gold on the local golf course. The facilities were great and the included drinks at the pool weren't bad either... ;). Also, the food was prepare custom every night and was absolutely recommend it. It was a nice, quite relaxing vacation. I even had a chance to run on the treadmill and do a bit of light weightlifting some mornings. Although, i did not stay in the honeymoon suite, it was stunning.
All in all i would definitely recommend this to friends and couples. It's a great place to relax and enjoy LIFE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Vibrant colors, great food, warm and helpful staff, short trip to the beach--This tucked away gem had all of the components I expect when I think of a Caribbean getaway. Because of its size, I felt catered to from the time I arrived to the moment of my departure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPaul23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

PRO...It was an exquisite experience combining romance and charm with excellent food and drink. The local foods prepared daily with natural and fresh ingredients were especially appreciated. The vacation was relaxing and memorable due in large part to the hospitable nature of the owner, chef and general manager, Jackie, who is working hard to make this an exclusive boutique destination hotel.

CON....The location, although beautiful, could be a concern for some, For those who are young and/or in good shape, this would pose no problem, but the five to ten minute walk to the beach in the extreme heat might be taxing for certain individuals. On the other hand, its elevated height does offer fantastic views and unforgettable sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyagers1and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swing84
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

What a great few weeks spent on the lovely island of Antigua.

I was over with a couple of colleagues on a pre season cricket and fitness training tour for the lead up to our 2010 season. We were fortunate enough to spend our three weeks at The Villas of Sunset Lane, being well looked after by Jacqueline Court Thomas. We were undertaking tough training schedules and beach runs at 6.30am, and throughout this time Jacqueline made sure that the we stuck to our strict diets, with fantastic breakfasts and gourmet lunches and dinner; a personal favourite being the conch chowder and chicken roti's, washed down with thirst quenching home made ginger beer.

The restaurant and balcony has lovely views overlooking the pool and Dickenson Bay, with beautiful sunrise and sunsets, which i found rather relaxing. Rooms were very clean, comfy and spacious and the location was a short walk to many of Antiguas stunning beaches.

I would basically recommend the Villas at Sunset Lane to anyone whether it be couples, familys, groups of friends or touring parties, as the hospitality you receive is out of this world. Be warned however, you will not want to leave.

All in all I hope i get the chance to return in the very near future, as i had a memorble stay, and i wish Jackie all the best.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swing84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

This botique hotel is truly a home away from home. The owner/manager Jackie Thomas and her staff caters to your every wish. Meals are prepared like you are home and it's a home away from home except you are catered to. Sit on the patio at dinner time and enjoy the spectacular view and if you are luck you will experience the amazing sunset. There is a short work to the beach, but you can take a dip in the pool when you return from the beach or after your moring work out. A massage therapist is on call for you if you wish...although we did not experience a massage....Next time. Jackie's fish is to die for so be sure to have your dinner there. If you are into fine wines that could be a problem. If you have a wellness diet that can be accomodated.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sqkingsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

On arrival from the airport, with only the remainder of a scant airline meal in my stomach, I was greeted with a meal of roti and conch curry. This was the best conch curry I have tasted, and it hit the spot. The cooking was always excellent, as were the views of the Caribbean Sea, especially that from the hotel restaurant. The room had a firm queen-sized bed, so that my sleep was very restful. The service also was professional and helpful. This hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewart_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Property: The Villas at Sunset Lane
Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing