We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent a wonderful 8 nights here & ate here every evening so delicious, healthy & varied was the food. We were even asked some nights what we might want to eat as Jackie rattled off a list of goodies. We stayed in villa 10 - we think- which was vast. The bed was enormous & comfortable & everything was impeccably clean. There is a lovely view of the ocean from the bedroom & the shower. The views from the dining terrace are absolutely wonderful - the perfect place for sundowners. The beach is a 5-10 minute stroll away. Most days we had the pool to ourselves with the staff popping down to check if we needed a drink. All of the staff & Jackie are charming & can't do enough for you including things well outside their remit - a drive to the pharmacy, the bank, to drop you off/collect you for any excursions you book. The location is also lovely & quiet. Jackie & her team offer you a warm & homely welcome. I would echo a previous review - the only downside to staying here is that the holiday ends & you have to go home.

Room Tip: Villa 10 has it's own terrace, a sitting room, dining room, kitchen, laundry, huge bedroom &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Staying at The Villas at Sunset Lane is like staying at a good friend's place, albeit, a very charming & elegant friend. A true renaissance woman, the owner, Jackie, is both a native Antiguan & has a long history with the USA as well, so she knows how to blend cultures, making visitor's stay relaxing & totally delicious. This place is just beautiful, from the rooms to the common area. Quiet, peaceful, away from the world, yet a 5 -10 minute walk to the local beach. (I never knew Antigua has 365 beaches....365!!!!!). The staff is helpful to the extreme. Thank you Ryan for all your help! The only problem? We didn't stay long enough...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, right off the common area/dining area, with an incredible view of the Antigua a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeliciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just a quick report. Everybody has said it before Awesome: the place, rooms ,staff, views, food, wines, rum punches, Jackie, Ryan, the weather, Antigua, the beaches, Runaway Beach, Dickenson Bay, St Johns, Sir Vivian Richards Stadium(Yes England won), the buses, the pot-holes, Antiguan people, Jackie's food and Jackie's food. AWESOME
AWESOME. And I mean it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool HOT, Use AIR CON at all times
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

A League of its Own: Me Lub You Bad Bad (Antiguan for I love you very much)

Villas at Sunset Lane is a "high-touch" boutique hotel that has a unique style and the most charming owner, Jackie, who prides herself on her Caribbean-fusion gourmet cuisine. This is our second visit to Antigua and we fared much better in Jackie's hands - we knew Antigua has something wonderful to offer as the Island is so beautiful and the Villas Hotel will not disappoint you.

Location:
Great spot in the North by Dickenson Bay and on the Atlantic Sea. Hill-side location with fantastic views out to Nevis and St Kitts on a clear day and with a sunset vista that is unrivelled - Actually it is on a par with Shirley Heights! We did not tire of the sunset view, it is like a magnet that draws you back each day to enjoy with a rum punch of course.

Beach:
Dickenson Bay Beach is a stone's throw - just a stroll out at the back entrance of the hotel and Jackie has arranged with a beach bar provider for residents to also use the beach facilities which is a real plus! Tony's watersports/cafe is the main attraction on the beach and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were offered trips/watersports activities although we chose to book these ourselves and via Jackie.

The sand is golden and the sea inviting - there is a swimming section away from the watersports and close to Sandals. There were no sandflies and no algae so it was great for swimming.

Accommodation:
We stayed in a 1-bedroom villa (no. 12) which was very private and secluded. There are wonderful sea views from the bathroom and the bedroom (which is upstairs) and there's a lounge/kitchen area on the ground floor with a spacious terrace. We also viewed the rooms in the main hotel area which are all spacious and very tastefully decorated.

The hotel is built like a large colonial villa with travertine marble floors and with open spacious balconies to enjoy the views from every angle.

The accommodation is spotless and there is a very strict standard honoured by the housekeeping staff - Miss Jackie has very high standards and the staff have a great work ethic that champions high quality.

There are 10 rooms with 2 villas and a small pool area surrounded by beautiful trees/gardens - it has an intimate and secluded charm which contrasts with the huge sprawling hotel resorts with hundreds of guests.

A great retreat for couples, especially to recalibrate stress levels.

Food/Beverages:
The standard service is "all-inclusive rate" which is what we had and we found this to be excellent value. The quality of the food is fantastic: locally-sourced/organic, home-cooking, fresh meals freshly made every day (lunch and dinner).

Being vegetarian I am often served the standard 'omelette' with few options and what a wonderful surprise to have a different home-cooked special meal lovingly prepared every day - it felt like my Mum was looking after me. Nothing was too much trouble and my husband enjoyed wonderful seafood, fish and a wonderful carnivorous diet. Being French and quite fussy, he said that he'd never had such a gourmet experience at an all-inclusive hotel.

Jackie likes to bake so this is a warning:
- bring elasticated trousers as you will not be able to resist the carrot cake, velvet cup cakes, brownies (I suggested Jackie offers these to guests as a complimentary service)
- don't leave your partner alone in the kitchen (you will never see them again)

Joking aside - on our return to the UK we sat on the sofa on our first evening back and the reality set in that we would have to cook for ourselves and it would never taste as good as Miss Jackie's.

Cocktails: Antigua sunset and Rum Punch (of course - what else ?)

Excursions:
- Rent a car (driving is not as difficult as you think)
- Ask Ryan (Jackie's right-hand man) to give you a driving lesson (lots of tooting and shouting)
- Eli Fuller's Classic Antigua Yacht Tour (we spent a day at sea with 2 snorkelling spots at the reef)
- South Horizon's kayak and snorkel tour
- Ffryes Beach

We avoided the "booze cruises" this time and saw many visitors enjoying themselves - there's a lot on offer so take your pick.

We had a wonderful time and were truly looked after in true Caribbean style and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - we will be back: Dis Sweet Me Bad! I love it!

Room Tip: If you have any questions email Jackie or call her - this is what we did and she was very helpful V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HeatherMegaMauriFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The first time we visited The Villas at Sunset Lane we were so impressed with the service, the menu and the quality of the guest rooms that we knew we would return one day. My girlfriend and I did return on President's Day weekend. This time the experience was even better. We were warmly greeted by Jackie and her entire staff and immediately felt right at home. The Villas offer beautifully appointed, large bedrooms with spacious bathrooms. From your window you can see one of the harbors just down the hill from you. Or you can enjoy a drink on the deck and watch the sunset over the harbor. There is a built in pool or you can take your towel and stroll down the hill to a perfect white sand beach.

But the best feature at the Villas is the food. It is almost as though Jackie and the staff are cooking your meals to order. The quality matches or exceeds any of the Caribbean all inclusive resorts we have been to. Here, everything is a bit more personal as if you are the only guests in the house. We will be coming back, and soon.

Room Tip: The room just off the dining room has the best view, a great bathroom and close to the kitchen for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYYankeefan2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place is truly an AMAZING experience. Jackie, the proprietor, is warm, generous, and genuine. She greets you and sends you off with a hug. Her staff are simply the best and cater to your every need. Ryan will greet you, assist with errands, suggest things to do and always be on time! Josephina is the five-star chef who will amaze you with every meal. The rest of the staff, Doreen, Lisa, etc., will make your stay so pleasurable from rum punch to a nice conversation.

This boutique hotel is small, peaceful, serene, SPOTLESS, and more comfortable than any place I've stayed. They really enjoy what they do and it shows.

There is a beautiful view from the terrace where you eat or the lower terrace overlooking the pool. The pool is very relaxing, no kids allowed or diving boards at this place! You will hear and see tropical birds and hummingbirds all over.

Look no more if you want a quiet vacation in Antigua. Your plane opens up to the warm air and after Customs, it's 15 minutes from the airport to paradise, honestly. You will never feel rushed and just completely relax.

Room Tip: ask for suite #1, the best in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joefrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Visited this establishment on a business trip to Antigua in Feb 2014.

Pros
- This hotel is owner managed
- Jackie (the owner) would go to lengths to make you feel welcomed
- Wifi is included in the rooms as well as the dining area (the speed was very good as well)
- The dining area is outfitted with enough power ports to accommodate meetings and working sessions
- Jackie uses local, fresh foods in preparing her meals
- Rooms and surroundings were very clean and tidy

Cons
- The ironing board was almost useless
- You need a vehicle if you want to get around. I didn't get the sense that public transportation was accessible
- The refrigerator made an annoying noise that kept waking me during night

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
7.1 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Property: The Villas at Sunset Lane
Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing