We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Stars! Just go.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 19, 2013

There are few places one visits and comes away 100% completely happy with everything - but this is one of those. We stayed on the recommendation of some very good friends and so glad we did. Jackie is so lovely, we felt like we were at Auntie Jackie's fabulous house in the tropics. Everyone was so accommodating, nothing was a problem, everything just relaxed and wonderful. Jackie has an impressive kitchen and she knows how to use it! I wandered up one morning and poked my head in the kitchen. We ended up chatting while she cooked, it was such a nice way to start the day. All the meals we're delicious, casual, fresh, creative and homemade. The beach is nearby and more busy if you need a change from the tranquillity of the pool. We found a number of things to be included that other resorts would charge for so value for money was very good. That adds to feeling good when your wallet isn't constantly under attack. It was my x0th birthday and there was not only flowers arranged but the most amazing cake! Oh, when we arrived, were greeted by Jackie and a nice hug. It was so sweet :-). When we moved on to a big resort for the second week, I was standing in the large open air, modern, polished reception, all the staff stayed behind the long wooden desk. I felt like I wanted hug to say welcome, but they were all too busy. :-) Jackie, you really won us over and we won't forget our blissful week in your resort(home). Thank you!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Lnd_UK_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in September with Jackie at the Villas. We have been to B&Bs etc before but have never had an experience as gracious as this. Coming home to the Villas after a days excursion was like visiting a favorite Auntie who just happens to be a gourmet chief. We were greeted like family from the time we stepped onto the beautiful grounds of the Villas. My husband likes to cook and even joined the kitchen staff to teach them how to make his favorite Cajun Gumbo. I have dietary restrictions and Jackie and her staff were very accommodating to my needs. Any day trips you care to take, talk to Jackie she can arrange it all. Ryan is her right hand man and we really learned a lot about the island and local customs just from talking to him.
The beach views from the dining area are amazing. We especially enjoyed watching the humming birds and other colorful birds in the lush gardens surrounding the property. If you are a bird lover bring your binoculars. We even enjoyed the walk to the beach as it gave us time to stop and examine tropical foliage, lizards and birds we had never seen before.
I had one of the best massages ever in the spa, with the open air and birds chirping in the trees who needs music.
One day we took a taxi tour with Barry. It was a very enjoyable and informative day indeed. We are farmers and at our request he did some research and brought us to a Talapia fish farm along with all of the usual spots of interest.
Just go to the Villas you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well , what a lovely place to stay . We recently spent our honeymoon with Jackie , Ryan and the team .
Firstly the people , Jackie leads a team who can't do enough for you and you are made to feel special from the moment you arrive
The rooms are lovely and we had room 3 on the first terrace overlooking the pool , after a week we had an air con problem and rather than wait for an engineer Jackie moved us immediately into the premier honey moon suite . She really knows how to spoil you , champagne on arrival and on my wife's birthday all complimentary .
Ryan is a star and will do any ting ya want !!
Antigua highlights for us apart from staying at the Villas were , Shirley Heights on Sundays , round the island boat trip ( beware the rum punch) and a day trip to Barbuda
However the very special star was Antigua , Sun , Rum and the people are so friendly . Do hire a car and get around I'm sure you will meet everybody on the island
Can't wait to return

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GolferLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the first moment we were picked up at the airport we knew we had made the right decision in choosing to spend our honeymoon at The Villas at Sunset Lane. Ryan was the first person we had the privilege of meeting, he was extremely polite and made us feel comfortable immediately. As soon as we arrived at the beautiful boutique hotel, Jackie was ready to greet us and settle us into our suite- a light lunch was quickly provided which was so delicious! We had only been there for a short few hours and already we felt at home. Jackie, Ryan and the whole team stopped at nothing to make our stay special. On our 2nd or 3rd day there we were given a complimentary boat tour... that took us around the whole island of Antigua, stopping at a beach for snorkeling and lunch. We were so grateful for that gift! Another surprise was when we came back to our room after a day at the beach (5-10 minute walk to get there) to find rose petals all over and our hot tub filled to the top with bubbles and complimentary champagne! It was so thoughtful.

The islands beauty stands on it's own but Jackie and the whole team made it so much more remarkable. The food, the accommodations, the view and the staff was beyond our expectations. If you're looking to stay at an intimate, relaxing and beautiful place look no further, you will not regret staying at The Villas on Sunset Lane!

David & Cristy

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Villas at Sunset Lane was a wonderful retreat and provided us with comfort and relaxation in a lovely tropical setting. Jackie, the proprietor, was the ultimate hostess, and her team, especially Ryan, helped make our trip to Antigua an unforgettable one. Ryan was our personal guide for an island tour one day and a trip to a remote beach on another! The meals were as varied as they were delicious; the food was definitely a highlight of our stay. All in all Jackie and her team were welcoming without being intrusive. Without a doubt, we highly recommend the Villas for anyone in need of a relaxing, laid back vacation in Antigua.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Two_NYC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Jackie were phenomenal and the experience was unforgettable. The accommodations were immaculate. Jackie made every moment an enjoyable experience and left no detail to chance. From the moment you walk through the door, to the moment you have to regrettably say good bye, you won't be disappointed by the atmosphere that Jackie creates for her guests. The highlight is he food, that Jackie is so passionate about. You dream it, she can make it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PappaSUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed with Jackie in Feb this year prior to sailing for a couple of weeks. We wanted a touch of comfort before going and were not disappointed in any way. The hotel was perfect for us from the very comfortable rooms to the delicious cuisine. Most of all though was the discreet but attentive service from Jackie and her fabulous staff. Nothing was too much trouble, for instance we came back from the beach early one afternoon and before we knew it a buffet lunch and drinks appeared. I normally avoid recommending hotels/restaurants to friends but in this case I would not hesitate. Ken & Pat Bishop

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 16KenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
633 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
357 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Address: Sunset Lane | Paradise View, McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $369 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 room boutique hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing