We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Antigua - Stay There!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas at Sunset Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn
1 review
“When in Antigua - Stay There!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My Lady and I stayed there for her birthday celebration for 5 days August of 2012. Upon arrival we were pick up ON TIME from the airport by Ryan (Driver/Porter) and at the property, welcomed by the warm/charismatic Jackie (owner). Jackie is the heart and soul of VASL. She is extremely organized and provides a personal touch unavailable at larger properties (Galley Bay/Sandals). The room (I recommend upgrading to the balcony suite) was super spacious, clean and well appointed with an updated bathroom and heated jacuzzi tub. One of the special things about this place is the cuisine. Jackie is a trained chef and will prepare pretty much anything you ask for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When we went to the beach (8 minute walk from property), she packed sandwiches for our lunch. Although the property is tucked away in a quiet residential area, Ryan, will drive you wherever you want to go...whenever you want to go. I once asked him "what time do you get off". He replied "Whenever our guests go to bed". Overall a lovely experience. When in Antigua - Stay There!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Balcony Rooms. Well worth the additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBMD723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Jackie for 4 nights in April, and I cannot recommend this place enough. First, Antigua is a gorgeous island and it's probably the best beach & water we've ever experienced. The Villa is situated in the hills overlooking Dickenson Bay and is just above Sandals Resort to help give you an idea of where you'll be on the island. It is important to note that you are not on the beach, but the views of the tropical vegetaion and Caribbean are stunning. I will also point out that you can absolutely walk to the beach within 7-10 minutes, however, to get to the place where you'll get your chairs is at least another 5 minutes.

I'm not even sure where to start because there are so many good things to pass along. As in all of my reviews, I try to cover what I want to know when I use TA to plan all of our vacations. The Villa itself is immaculately clean and very spacious. We were there at the end of April and there was one other couple (honeymooners from Canada) and a local woman visiting family. Each afternoon we would come back from the beach and enjoy a refreshing swim in the pool and we always had it all to ourselves. We have never experienced anything like it in the Caribbean. We always stay at a beachfront resort where we've had to fight for chairs at 7:00am, eat cold buffet food, and listen to loud music at any given hour of the day. Here, it was unbelievably peaceful. There was nothing but relaxation. If that doesn't sound good to you, don't stay here. If you need exciting nightlife with a bar, dancing, loud music and lots of people then this is not the place for you. If you want time to reconnect with your loved one or just chill out, then you will find no better place. And the food. Oh my, what to say about the food.

It was the food that sold me in the reviews, and I was so afraid that it had been overhyped. It wasn't. Believe it. The woman can cook. I ate things I NEVER would have eaten at home. I ate a whole fresh fish (I looked it in the eye), and Jackie taught me how to debone it. My husband and I fought over the last scraps as we picked them clean. I ate salted fish in fried dough buns for breakfast. It was unreal. Not only do you get to pretend that you have a private villa, but you get the luxury of a true chef catering to your every need. It is very clear that Jackie takes great pride in what she does and she passes that along to her guests. Do not even pretend to be on a diet here. Eat the carrot cake. We did...every night. The house white wine is fantastic and we consumed at least 2 bottles a day (sorry Jackie!). One night, we sat on the terrace with the other couple and Jackie came out and joined us. We sat and talked together for 2 1/2 hours like old friends. Again, if you need the anonymity of being at a large resort where you never engage with anyone else, don't come here. If you want truly warm hospitality & genuine interest in your comfort, this is the place to find it.

We stayed in one of the end rooms which was a Premium Suite. It was terrific and so private. Our door opened onto the patio but there was never any noise to disturb us. The room was very spacious, the bed was super comfortable, the AC was good & there was a ceiling fan, cable tv with lots of US programming, the bathroom was huge (and nicer than ours at home), and there was a basket with water, soda, mini rum bottles, and granola bars. I recall seeing at least one review that commented about watching your bill for additional food or drink charges. This is an all-inclusive resort. There were no additional charges at any time. Between us & the other couple, we drank the place dry of cold wine & beer every single day and we consumed everything in our basket in our room during our stay. If you need tropical frozen drinks with umbrellas, there is no bartender here. We were content with the Caribbean beer & wine so it didn't matter to us. If you need mixed drinks, I would recommend grabbing a bottle of liquor at a duty free shop and bring it with you.

I cannot offer any suggestions or recommendations for any tours or things to do. We got up, ate breakfast, walked to the beach, came back, swam in the pool, drank, took a nap, watched the sunset, ate dinner, talked, then went to bed. Press repeat for 4 days. Four glorious days. Had we wanted to do anything, Jackie could have arranged it for us. Her driver Ryan picked us up from the airport and took us back to the airport, and on our first day he drove us down to the beach and showed us where we could find chairs. Once the gentleman at the beach bar knew that we were with Miss Jackie, there was no charge for the chairs. We did buy beer from him each day, though. The beach itself is just gorgeous with the softest white sand and beautiful water. It was so uncrowded, too. If you are trying to decide on a time of year to go, the end of April was spectacular. The weather was postcard perfect and there were days when we were the only two people actually in the water at the Bay.

I take vacationing very seriously. I plot & plan and use this site for all of my decisions. I was very torn between the Villa and Galley Bay because with Galley Bay, I knew what to expect from a big beachfront resort. I took a leap of faith with choosing the Villas at Sunset Lane and put my trust into my other TA advisors. I now pass that on to you. Stay here. It will be the most memorable Caribbean vacation you ever have. And all of your friends will be very, very jealous.

Room Tip: Our premium room was very private & large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AmyandChuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent five glorious days at this property in July with my wife.
Jacqueline and her team were excellent hosts. They all go the extra mile to ensure your enjoyment. The food was varied and outstanding with a wide menu featuring local as well as international dishes prepared on request.
The room was first class and the bathroom exquisite general atmosphere is extremely welcoming. Only moment of sadness was when I had to leave. I highly recommend this place. It is an experience I want to repeat very soon.

Room Tip: i had a suite looking onto well kept gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winfield G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Villas at Sunset Lane for a few nights in April 2012 and we both absolutely loved it. Our room was spacious, meticulously clean and well appointed. The property was located about a ten minute walk from a very quiet beach and the hotel's pool was clean and never over run with other guests. Finally, the food was amazing and the dining area offered great views of the ocean.

The real draw to this property though is Jackie who makes every aspect of being a guest in a hotel amazing. She and her team went to great lengths to make our trip wonderful. She and her team helped with renting a car, giving us the lay of the land and introducing us to the bartender who ran the beach-side bar near the hotel.

Jackie's cooking is absolutely wonderful and we looked forward to every meal we had. She keeps an open kitchen policy so we could help ourselves to drinks whenever we wanted. She also encouraged us to visit her in the kitchen while she prepared our meals so we can learn how some of our meals were cooked.

Everything about our stay was fantastic and my girlfriend and I regularly talk about coming back to stay at the Villas at Sunset Lane the next time we take a beach vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briancnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you want a nice, quiet place with no children (under 16) this is for you. Owner/Chef Jackie is wonderful. Jackie was in contact with us months before our trip. She let us know of tours available and gave us costs. We arranged everything through her. She is very personable and gives one on one attention to everyone. The rooms are fresh and clean and has new flowers everyday. We arrived at 10:30 p.m. and Jackie had a meal ready for us - we were so happy after 13 hrs of traveling. The beach is only 5-10 minutes walking distance and they have a very nice pool right there at the villa. Jackie serves meals whenever YOU want and finds out your dislikes ahead of time. Her food is delicious. Ryan will drive you wherever you want to go and has a wealth of information. Be sure to ask him to take you to the grocery store - you will be in for a shock! Jackie has done a wonderful job keeping attention to detail and loves to get ideas from you. Unless you like noisy places, you will truly love this place. Consider it for a business retreat too. Call Jackie directly at Sunset Villas.

Room Tip: The back side has an ocean view, but I don't think there is a "bad" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at the Villas at Sunset Lane with my boyfriend for 5 nights at the end of March. We had an amazing experience! The accommodations were perfect for us...a private boutique hotel, set up on a cliff with the most breathtaking view and still just quick 7 minute walk to the beach. The owner, Jackie, is so sweet and such a fantastic cook, I really enjoyed getting a taste of the islands and Jackie's rich history with each meal.
The island is bigger than it appears so you can be travelling for up to an hour at times, depending on what part of the island you are trying to get to, but we didn't have to worry about this at all! Instead of having to deal with cabs or buses, we had Ryan. Ryan works around the property and doubles as driver for her guests. It was soooooooo convenient and allowed my boyfriend and I to truly relax and take it all in.
Living in NY, it is sometimes a challenge to let the city go and enjoy your time off, but with Jackie and Ryan and the rest of the staff's help we were able to decompress immediately. Exactly what we needed. I want to go back now!!!

Room Tip: We chose one of the standard rooms so our room didn't have a view of the water, but we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. We booked on the basis of other tripadvisor reviews, and Jackie Thomas, the owner and chef, and her fine team (hello Ryan and Doreen) gave us one of the great hotel experiences of our lives - not just fulfilling our high expectations but exceeding our hopes. Not only is the hotel remarkable value for money, beautifully appointed (great beds!), boutique but unpretentious, exceptionally clean and well-managed, offering sensational home-cooked food while you enjoy the pleasure of the lovely vista; it does what the bigger, more commercialized places can never do: it gives you the human touch, and the feel of home from home. And so from the moment we arrived, we knew we were in the hands of someone who cares deeply about her guests' welfare and enjoyment.
Immediately upgraded to room 4 (recommended) and plied with home-made food and drink (much appreciated after an Atlantic flight), we were looked after, day after day, in the most generous, thoughtful and accomplished ways. Jackie also took time and pains to organize excellent day trips (Barbuda is a must), car hire, trips into town... and I also enjoyed the best massage of my life from Barbra, the massage therapist.
In short, I recommend this hotel to all who have ears to hear. If you value attention to detail, value for money and a calm, beautiful, relaxing ambience, you cannot go wrong here. The Villas at Sunset is an absolute gem of the Caribbean.

Room Tip: We loved room 4 - spacious, well-appointed, with an exceptionally comfortable, large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Property: The Villas at Sunset Lane
Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing