We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Nearby Hotels
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$194
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$164
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
$1,504
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$220
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
154
8
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
8
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrum punchdickenson bayhome away from homeexcellent hospitalitylovely boutiqueshort walk to the beachbeautiful poolcar rentalholiday experiencewatch tvbedroom and bathroomjet skiingrooms are largejerk chickengreat beachjacqui
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you want a nice, quiet place with no children (under 16) this is for you. Owner/Chef Jackie is wonderful. Jackie was in contact with us months before our trip. She let us know of tours available and gave us costs. We arranged everything through her. She is very personable and gives one on one attention to everyone. The rooms are fresh and clean and has new flowers everyday. We arrived at 10:30 p.m. and Jackie had a meal ready for us - we were so happy after 13 hrs of traveling. The beach is only 5-10 minutes walking distance and they have a very nice pool right there at the villa. Jackie serves meals whenever YOU want and finds out your dislikes ahead of time. Her food is delicious. Ryan will drive you wherever you want to go and has a wealth of information. Be sure to ask him to take you to the grocery store - you will be in for a shock! Jackie has done a wonderful job keeping attention to detail and loves to get ideas from you. Unless you like noisy places, you will truly love this place. Consider it for a business retreat too. Call Jackie directly at Sunset Villas.

Room Tip: The back side has an ocean view, but I don't think there is a "bad" room!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at the Villas at Sunset Lane with my boyfriend for 5 nights at the end of March. We had an amazing experience! The accommodations were perfect for us...a private boutique hotel, set up on a cliff with the most breathtaking view and still just quick 7 minute walk to the beach. The owner, Jackie, is so sweet and such a fantastic cook, I really enjoyed getting a taste of the islands and Jackie's rich history with each meal.
The island is bigger than it appears so you can be travelling for up to an hour at times, depending on what part of the island you are trying to get to, but we didn't have to worry about this at all! Instead of having to deal with cabs or buses, we had Ryan. Ryan works around the property and doubles as driver for her guests. It was soooooooo convenient and allowed my boyfriend and I to truly relax and take it all in.
Living in NY, it is sometimes a challenge to let the city go and enjoy your time off, but with Jackie and Ryan and the rest of the staff's help we were able to decompress immediately. Exactly what we needed. I want to go back now!!!

Room Tip: We chose one of the standard rooms so our room didn't have a view of the water, but we didn't miss it, the views from the balcony, where we dined each day were enough to keep us happy, but next time, I may pay a little extra to experience that view at all hours. Gorgeous.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. We booked on the basis of other tripadvisor reviews, and Jackie Thomas, the owner and chef, and her fine team (hello Ryan and Doreen) gave us one of the great hotel experiences of our lives - not just fulfilling our high expectations but exceeding our hopes. Not only is the hotel remarkable value for money, beautifully appointed (great beds!), boutique but unpretentious, exceptionally clean and well-managed, offering sensational home-cooked food while you enjoy the pleasure of the lovely vista; it does what the bigger, more commercialized places can never do: it gives you the human touch, and the feel of home from home. And so from the moment we arrived, we knew we were in the hands of someone who cares deeply about her guests' welfare and enjoyment.
Immediately upgraded to room 4 (recommended) and plied with home-made food and drink (much appreciated after an Atlantic flight), we were looked after, day after day, in the most generous, thoughtful and accomplished ways. Jackie also took time and pains to organize excellent day trips (Barbuda is a must), car hire, trips into town... and I also enjoyed the best massage of my life from Barbra, the massage therapist.
In short, I recommend this hotel to all who have ears to hear. If you value attention to detail, value for money and a calm, beautiful, relaxing ambience, you cannot go wrong here. The Villas at Sunset is an absolute gem of the Caribbean.

Room Tip: We loved room 4 - spacious, well-appointed, with an exceptionally comfortable, large bed.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We spent a few days in April at the Villas with Jacquie and had the most amazing time. The Villas are wonderful, her staff is friendly and can't do enough for guests, and the food .... exceptional! As a trained chef Jacquie will make anything you would like using seasonal ingredients and fusion cuisine. This was the most relaxing vacation we have had, just like visiting with dear family and friends and wined and dined, at all times. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Bring sunscreen and a hat, prepared to relax
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My family and I checked into The Villas At Sunset Lane after a poor experience at another hotel on the island. After consulting TripAdvisor (thanks, guys!) we were encouraged to check availability at The Villas...and were thrilled when we were told that we would be able to get a room.

The Villas lived up to its glowing reviews, and far exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jackie, the owner/chef. To call Jackie warm and hospitable would be an understatement. She showed us to our room, turned on some music, and asked if she could prepare a local lunch for us. For all of the foodies out there - this is definitely the place for you because Jackie went to culinary school! I greatly miss her cheese sandwiches (a spread made with pepper seasoning), carrot cake, tea, and lemonade made with fresh ingredients from her garden. Another thing to keep in mind is that Jackie customizes her meals based on your preference and dietary needs...so if you are a raw vegan, she will whip up something to keep you in check.

In addition to the fantastic food (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and beverages), the actual building is pristine. Immaculate! The Villas at Sunset Lane boasts a number of private suites (I believe 10), 2 cottages that resemble small bungalows, a pool, a gym, and massage rooms. It's location is very private, overlooking the turquoise ocean. While it is not on the beach, it is only about an 8 minute walk... or a 2 minute shuttle ride away. Jackie also has some friends on the beach that will get you situated with beach chairs and umbrellas.

While The Villas is only a few years old, it runs like a well established boutique hotel. It is a place that I would expect to be featured in a magazine citing where stars travel to due to its privacy and its personal level of service. Oh, and the staff is top notch. In addition to Jackie, Ryan and Ms. Thomas keep The Villas looking beautiful and its guests happy. The knowledge that each of them has can help make your stay in Antigua truly special - whether you choose to leave the hotel and explore the island, or remain at The Villas and just relax. This is a great place for families with adult children, couples, or a girls' weekend. It has mass appeal.

If you are looking for a "home away from home" in Antigua, and an unforgettable, one-of-a-kind hotel, look no further than The Villas at Sunset Lane! I can't wait to return...Jackie, we miss you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews