We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas at Sunset Lane - Island Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
GreenLeadersGold level
Union, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villas at Sunset Lane - Island Paradise”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just returned from a perfect 5 day getaway at the Villas at Sunset Lane run impecably by Jackie Thomas. A spotless boutique hotel with all of the grace and privacy afforded to a smaller independently run venue. In my opin - just what a vacation should be - low-key, relaxing, friendly, secure and utterly fabulous. Jackie is there for you but never intrudes - Ryan - her major domo could not have been more helpful, friendly, informative, patient or gracious. Both of them offered helpful information and catered to our whims and desires. All of the pampering and attention without the stress. They REALLY aim to please and surely suceeded. Accomodations were spotless and attractive and Jackie's flair was evident all over the property. Her eclectic art choices compliment the island colors and vibe. Loved the pool - the terraces - and will not forget the view from my bed each morining of the majectic cruise ships quietly making their way into the harbor. Just an all-round perfect way to spend quality time away. Great for couples - girlfriends - and anyone seeking a quality time away. Brava Jackie - and you'll see us agin for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watchung, New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Villas at Sunset Lane is the loveliest of all boutique hotels. It is so tranquil and restful to sit on the upper balcony overlooking the pool and enjoying the ocean view. Jackie and her staff are welcoming and approachable. Chef Jackie’s menu is a varied delight of gourmet offerings. From breakfast to lunch and dinner, each meal is Chef’s original creation using the island’s freshest fruits, vegetables, fish, etc. Jackie also prepared delicious meals for special diets with ease and grace. Her wine selections were pleasing and paired beautifully with each meal. Jackie had an entertaining and informative wine tasting on the night we arrived. My friends and I enjoyed the many pleasurable outings that Jackie arranged for us. Through these excursions, we learned how friendly and responsive the people of Antigua are. Our stay could not have been better. I would like to mention that all areas of the hotel are spotless, fresh, beautifully decorated and enhanced with interesting original artwork. Each of its ten rooms is exquisitely furnished, has a comfortable sitting area and a nice spacious bathroom. Every convenience you can imagine is provided, from hairdryers to quality soaps, shampoos, lotions, etc. and even ironing boards and irons. Some suites have kitchens, living rooms and washers and dryers. It was really nice to be able to use my electric rollers without the complication of adapters. I was thrilled to see the building with an exercise area and massage room. Each day I used the treadmill and weights and my friend had daily massages on site. I could not be more pleased that we selected this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

An absolutely outstanding and intimate place! Our hostess and the owner, Jackie could not have done more for us. She prepared a gourmet menu of 3 home cooked meals each day with unlimited wine and soft drinks. We were even invited to raid the refrigerator in her kitchen at night if we wanted a snack. The villa is a small and intimate place (10 rooms) with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and nearby islands. The rooms are spotless, with beautiful full tile bathrooms. The bedroom was nicely appointed and spacious. Although the air-conditioning worked quite well, we opened the windows and turned on the ceiling fan each night. The pool and the multi-level decks allowed for plenty of relaxation and sun or shade locations all day long.

Jackie can arrange for any excursions you might desire and offers transportation to and from downtown St. John's and the airport. Although not directly on the beach, you are only a five minute walk to a beach which provides free chairs and umbrellas for Villa guests and is right next to several beachfront bars and restaurants. If you want a secluded, clean and comfortable place that offers personalized attention, great food and warm hospitality The Villas at Sunset Lane is for you. We will certainly be back. Jackie, save some brownies for us please.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view of the Caribbean but all rooms are clean and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYYankeefan2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The property is in great location with views of the ocean and the sunset and you call walk to the beach in 10-15 minutes. You can also get to the main road within a few minutes to pick up a bus or taxi to go further afield. However, there are two things that make this an outstanding hotel: the service and the food.
Nothing is too much trouble for Jackie and her team (especially Ryan). Jackie arranged a boat trip around the island for us and also a taxi tour. Ryan took us to Shirley Heights for the traditional Sunday evening event and brought us home again (but at his insistence only when we were ready to leave - not at a fixed time).
The food is some of the best that I have tasted: a varied cuisine, beautifully prepared and presented with the kitchen door open if you want to see how it is done. It really is like dining at a different high quality restaurant each evening, but with a tremendous warmth and friendliness.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe standard room (#3 specifically) which has the advantage of opening onto the the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were very impressed with the reviews on Trip Advisor for the Villas at Sunset Lane, and decided to book a trip for our anniversary and my birthday in February. From the moment we arrived, it was apparent that we couldn't have made a better choice. The views are absolutely spectacular, and the layout of the property takes full advantage of that. Our room was beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. To say that Jackie spoiled us is an understatement. Her cooking really is that fantastic. She accommodates your preferences while introducing you to delicious local cuisine. Having flexibility with dining times, we were never on a schedule. There were so many touches that made our visit very special. Jackie went out of her way to make sure that our stay was incredible. We made her curry chicken the other day and were reminded of our romantic dinners on the patio!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I showed up on Jackie's doorstep after having made a huge mistake on our choice of accommodation.... we literally ran out of that establishment and made our way just a few minutes up the road to Villas at Sunset Lane. The ocean provides a beautiful backdrop for the Villa, when you walk into the foyer all that blue ocean just pulls you out to the patio. Jackie, owner and chef is truly amazing and she's got great people to support her... Ms. Thomas and Ryan. On that first day she offered us lunch.... to relax and forget our initial bad start to our vacation and well.... her fishcakes did just that! We spent four nights in the standard room by the pool. Great pieces of furniture, fantastic bathroom, lovely crisp sheets, huge soft beach towels, robes ..... everything you need to be comfortable and not to mention....the entire place is absolutely spotless. Her breakfast was fantastic, when I asked for oatmeal instead of my boyfriend's eggs and bacon ... I got the best oatmeal I've ever had.... with hints of bayleaf, nutmeg and cinnamon ... unforgettable. On our last day she treated us to Guyanese "floats" and saltfish ... you've got to sample!The location of the Villa lends itself to easy access from the airport and to the rest of the island ... But a car rental is a must. We got a peak into some of the more luxurious rooms... wow! Lovely paintings, tastefully decorated and spacious. If you make it to Antigua you've got to go to Harmony Hall, the food at the Italian Restaurant is just a treat to your tastebuds! with a killer view to accompany your meal and if in Town... CC's winebar is a great place to visit...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Having been let down by Liat, we found ourselves needing to find overnight accomodation at short notice. Never having been to Antigua before we relied on a fellow travellers recommendation. We were welcomed late at night with offers of hot food and drink, the owner of the property (Jacqui) cooking up a fish meal for my husband which he highly praised. The bedroom was very well equipped and was delightful. We snatched a few hours good sleep, getting up to meet the taxi for 0330. To our amazement the owner got up especially and made us coffee and toast, wonderful lady! Sheree & Pete

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,831 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,265 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,295 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Property: The Villas at Sunset Lane
Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing