We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dickenson Bay Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This little complex is heaven, lovely 2 storey houses with all mod cons. From arriving to departing the staff are wonder full. walk down the hill to the lovely beach. these apartments are self catering and come complete with fitted kitchen, if you want to barbeque they have gas ones for you to use. Please visit this little place in paradise Janice one of the cleaning staff is one of the friendliest lady's I have ever met. Cassias the security man is so friendly he will make sure that you are all ok

Room Tip: all the cottages are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 100 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked because it looked like good value for money. We wanted to be close to a beach but intended to do a lot of exploring (for which a car is essential). We deliberately chose to avoid a resort. The cottages far exceeded our expectations. Lovely setting, warm welcome. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and well equipped. We cooked a few meals in which can make for a more relaxed and economical holiday. The balconies were charming. The air con was nice at night. The reception was always open and helpful. The Rex resort is 50 yards down the hill on the way to the beach (we hired our car from there, Clarissa, as laid back as it comes). Supermarket 5 mins drive away. If, like us, you want a friendly and comfortable base to explore the island then we thoroughly recommend Dickenson Bay Cottages. We are going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jcp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a really lovely 10 days in the cottage and wanted to extend our stay. The cottage is comfortable and adequately, but not really luxuriously, furnished as they put in their advertising brochure. We liked the mezzanine bedroom and the bed was very comfortable. There was air conditioning if required. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and whenever we needed anything done, it was done straight away and very willingly. Karimah always seemed to be there when needed 7 days a week!

We had the odd mosquito when we sat outside but bought some coils which seemed to keep them away but were never bitten inside. The water was always hot too. The cleaning staff were very jolly and efficient and we had towels changed every day.

Although it was high season and supposedly busy, it did not seem it and was quiet at all times. I only ever saw one other lady in the swimming pool and had it to myself when I went in. I have to say it was quite cold in the mornings so perhaps that was why there were no others swimming!

Some items are a little sparse such as there were only two wine glasses so when we wanted to invite our neighbour in for a glass of wine we didn't have a glass for him. There were only two mugs and some huge saucepans but no smaller pans or casserole dishes for just two people. They really could do with a larger fridge. In the one bedroomed cottages they just provide a larder type fridge and our was a bit rusty round the edges but it worked. However it wasn't really big enough. They could do with upgrading them to larger fridge/freezers.

However these are only minor considerations and we had a fabulous stay and have already booked our return trip for next January. Would thoroughly recommend if you are not keen on 'all inclusive' hotels and like peace and quiet.

Room Tip: I would recommend villas numbered 1 - 6 as they get the sun first thing in the morning but are shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollsTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days with my girlfriend recently. Initially the placed looked shabby as we approached but upon entering the compound we found a warm, welcoming place with all amenities and friendly staff. Our cottage was outfitted with all that we needed and we were even provided with an ironing board when we requested. We stayed at peak season yet we were allowed an early check in and late checkout and the receptionist at all times was very helpful finding a taxi to take us to the grocery, who in turn found us a rental when everywhere seemed book and checked on our flight at our request. The room were perfect to entertain our friends who were staying in one of the other cottages and were very comfortable affording a great night's sleep. We had no issues of insect or cold water as I have seen other visitor's review previously and overall the stay was totally enjoyable. The parking was good with a lot to hold about 6 cars to the back and the pool was nice. There is also a bbq pit which is available for use once you notify the receptionist in advance so avoid any double booking. Overall in terms of price, service and location I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice comfortable place to stay while on the island

Room Tip: the rooms closer to the reception area offer a much better view as they overlook the compound and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelVialva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I ve stayed 3 times in these cottages over the last few years with a few friends, and our stay could not have been nicer. The staff is very welcoming and the cottages are very charming... There is a nice pool in the middle. Dickenson Bay Beach is about a 15 minute walk down the road from the cottages. You would need a car to get around the island, or otherwise take a cab to the grocerystore to stock up on groceries for your meals since it is self catering. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Initial appearance is shabby. I would definitely chose a better hotel or location. Receptionist hours vary and there very little assistance. Though its not far from beach, it's miles from everything else. We had to take a taxi everywhere, and with gas being $6.50 a gallon, taxis are not cheap here. House cleaning/towel and sheet exchange only when requested. No ice machine available. We were told to bring insect repellant...we weren't bitten once outdoors. Room was infested with these tiny flying bugs that left us with more than 20 bug bites each...my girlfriend got six bites on her face alone...ouch!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Firstly, we stayed in room 8 - which may have been recently refurbished. I was travelling with my adult son, so we needed separate bedrooms. The nice clean apartment had 2 floors, and we each had a bathroom, bedroom, kitchen, balcony, sea view, TV - so the facilities in the apartment were excellent as far as I am concerned. The pool is smallish - more for families/children, but very clean. the beach is a 5 minute walk downhill. Beautiful, clean beach, (dominated by Sandals for Couples.) We found 1 bar, 2 restaurants (one a little pricy)
We personally enjoyed the walk to and from the bars - pretty street, little traffic, but some people may find it too much. Taxis are easy to find on the walk, so can get about from here too.
Manager at the hotel could not have been more helpful - thanks!

Room Tip: Room 8 was brilliant - could easily fit 2 couples/families, plenty of space and privacy also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
1.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. John's
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 22 in St. John's
359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickenson Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickenson Bay Cottages

Address: Anchorage Road | Trade Winds, P.O.Box1379, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $114 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dickenson Bay Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dickenson Bay Cottages is an exclusive development offering elegance and intimacy. The Suites are set in tranquil tropical gardens around an inviting and very private swimming pool. Fully equipped with every modern amenity and catering for couples and families alike the accommodation is practical and extremely flexible. Just a short walk from one of the islands premier beaches with its water sports, restaurants and bars. "Arguably the best self catering accommodation in Antigua" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Dickenson Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickenson Bay Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Dickenson Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing