We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable place to crash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dickenson Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dickenson Bay Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to crash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Pros:

• A really polite, helpful and responsive staff (thanks Karimah, Chris, Forbes and Thor!).
• Clean, quaint and quiet, away from the touristy crowds down the hill.
• Beautifully landscaped grounds.
• Great access to the beach (5-10 minute downhill walk).
• Guest very mindful and respectful of the privacy of others.
• Kitchenette available for preparing meals, great for those travelling with kids or on a budget.
• My cottage had a nice private, garden-level patio.
• Clean swimming pool with a nice view of the sea.
• Rental of a safe for valuables available upon request.
• Outdoor gas-fired grill available upon request.
• Taxis readily available down the hill at the Halcyon Cove.

Cons:

• Unless you are driving (UK-style), it is somewhat difficult to access other sites and conveniences such as groceries from the Dickenson Bay area.
• I found the interior furnishings somewhat outdated.
• Although there are lots of cable stations to choose from, the television was only about 13 inches – very difficult to see from across the room.
• Spotty Internet access.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
38
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

we really enjoyed our week here. we had just come from a hotel stay in St. kitts and decided to cook for ourselves 6of the 7 nights. It had a great kitchen and also a gas grill out by the pool. they do have a slight charge for the grill but that was ok as the staff would clean and prepare it for your use. Go to Epicurean grocery store and stock up as it's a $12 dollar cab ride there. but the store is huge and has everything. There is also another large grocery store that you can hike to. The cottages are clean and comfy. the staff very friendly. Kremilita (?) is in the office and she is amazing. If you want something or want to tour or fish, whatever, she is the go to woman. I enjoyed just lounging around the pool and enjoying the quiet.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are available and what the configuration of it is. Different floor plans available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islasusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at Dickenson bay cottages for 10 nights this february and found them to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The cottages our 15mins walk from dickenson beach and a good choice of restaurants the best for breakfast and dinner we found to be was coconut grove nice fresh food reasonably priced it has a french chef and it shows.The is a great store and veg/fruit seller near beach but it is worth going to the big supermarket to stock up walkable if fit or 10 mins by taxi.First time in antigua found to be much nicer than barbados (less hassle and friendly people) met an Italian couple who were very nice and they also said they would return again. Staff great, manager does need to remember to smile very nice though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here two nights on a business trip. Cottages are sizeable (mine was a duplex) and well maintained, good-size swimming pool and ample car parking space. A daily charge is made for wi-fi (why?) but not excessive. Watch out for the very tame bananquits which can get into your room given half a chance.

Not cheap, but I was travelling in high season, and Antigua has very little in the way of cheap, decent accommodation. I was allowed a couple of extra hours to check out for the late-afternoon Virgin flight. Reception staff could try to smile more often.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at DBC and what a fab place to stay if you like peace and quiet using a venue as a base to explore the island. The cottages were very clean, well equipped and had both air conditioning and ceiling fans. It is not mentioned on their website but beach / pool towels are provided and can be changed whenever you want. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was about a ten minute walk away with bars / restaurants so you could stay all day. The restaurant, Opus, opposite the cottages served very good food but was not that busy so lacked a bit of atmosphere.

This is a place that we will definitely stay at again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredcarn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just returned from our 2 week stay hadn't been to antigua since 1994 and was really pleased to find it still unspoilt and empty beaches are still to be found. Cottage was fab and had everything we needed, very spacious and well equipped. My husband was on crutches and being a small place we could totally relax and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at the Dickenson Bay Cottages for one night over the xmas break. I actually have family in Antigua hence why it was only one night. As many times as visiting Antigua, I never really ventured out into the hotel scene and was used to seeing the usual Sandals hotel around the island, however, this place is very cozy and the price is great. The rooms are villa style which make your stay more comforting which include a full kitchen. All cottages are self-catering. Our room was right outside of the pool which at night you could just sit on your veranda and enjoy the quiet, airy feeling of dickenson bay. The closest beach is only a 5 minute walk down the hill which is a rather active beach with watersports, a local beach bar and locals selling antiguan items. Dickenson Bay Beach is one of my favorite beaches in Antigua. If you like to vacation where hotel staff don't bother you and like alone time, the cottages is the place to stay. The only thing I would not recommend is if you have small children. The cottages is very quiet and the noise of screaming children takes away the surreal soothing feel of the area. The only thing I would recommend is the rental of a car. To purchase groceries, the drive is a good 10 minutes and town is a 20 minute drive. And if you want to visit the other 364 beaches of antigua then driving is the way to go. Overall, I would stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam_cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 19 in St. John's
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antigua Village
Antigua Village
#12 of 16 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.4 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickenson Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickenson Bay Cottages

Property: Dickenson Bay Cottages
Address: Anchorage Road | Trade Winds, P.O.Box1379, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dickenson Bay Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dickenson Bay Cottages is an exclusive development offering elegance and intimacy. The Suites are set in tranquil tropical gardens around an inviting and very private swimming pool. Fully equipped with every modern amenity and catering for couples and families alike the accommodation is practical and extremely flexible. Just a short walk from one of the islands premier beaches with its water sports, restaurants and bars. "Arguably the best self catering accommodation in Antigua" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dickenson Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickenson Bay Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Dickenson Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing